We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Goring- one of the best hotels in the UK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #11 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Goring- one of the best hotels in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you're used to high quality hotels and think you've stayed at the best in London then you may have to think again when you experience The Goring. This is a hotel where the owners - the same family for over 100 years - are aiming to provide the most impeccable service for it's well heeled guests. The staff are experts in their various crafts; from those in reception to the restaurant personnel. From the moment you arrive your name is remembered by all staff - they all seem to have good memories. Every request was met with grace and efficiency. My suite, after having paid for a discounted reserve upgrade was medium size, comfortable and well equipped. A bottle of Champagne was placed in the suite on arrival, but curiously this was removed by housekeeping, unopened and before there was a chance to drink it. I wonder why? But the box of good chocolates, two large strawberries and a meringue, did not disappear however, and were appreciated. On each day of my stay, during the last of the twice daily room services a complimentary tray of semi-prepared cocktail ingredients, complete with garnish, was delivered. The cocktail was different each evening. This was accompanied by an ice bucket, cocktail shaker, a cocktail glass and an instruction card on how to 'assemble' the cocktail. I recommend a Cosmopolitan!
In the restaurant, a super efficient and ultra attentive operation takes place. The hotel’s employees have to be congratulated on their abilities. The food is Michelin standard and well prepared and cooked. The same goes for breakfast. The Head Sommelier, Damien appears knowledgeable for someone quite young, with his wine recommendations matching well with the food. It is clear that The Goring hotel's desire for the guest to "feel like you are at home," is taken literally by some quests. As a relatively senior lady guest said to me after I asked if she had enjoyed her breakfast: "yes it's always good, this my home-from-home."
Room Tip: After booking the room, there followed an invitation to 'apply' for a ½ price (reserve) upgrade.

Room Tip: 4th floor room 86 view of Buckingham Palace from this suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Evegate,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of your recent stay at The Goring.

The team and I were thrilled to read your comments and are delighted that you had such a wonderful time in one of our Junior Suites. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that all of our guests feel at home and well cared for and it is always a joy to see this being recognised.

We are very proud of our wine list at The Goring. Damien’s knowledge and recommendations are not only inspiring to his team but also to all of our guests. He is definitely the person to go to if you are unsure of what will match you mean perfectly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one your favourite hotels in the UK for another Cosmopolitan in Room 86.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    70
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
114
258
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed this hotel many times over the years and it is incomparable. The family have perfected everything over a century and if the formula did not work, then it would not have survived. Great bedrooms, superb public areas which are lively yet relaxing.

Room Tip: If class matters, this hotel out classes all the others. The hotel as no spa or pool but it seems im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear JHMH1959,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and the team and I were thrilled to welcome you back to The Goring and for you to call us the best hotel in London.

I am delighted that following your recent stay you feel that we have perfected our formula and that is a success. It is always a joy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us whether while they are in our bedrooms or in the public areas.

We all hope that you will return to The Goring before too long and it is always a joy to welcome back our old friends.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a delightful hotel! From the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the departure two days later the service at the Goring was top notch. We had a nice suite with a small, but adequate, sitting room. The bathroom was of modest size but well appointed. We had lunch in the bar, afternoon tea in the conservatory, dinner in the dining room, and a late night snack in the lounge by the fire and the 'Goring sheep'. Every meal was excellent and service beyond excellent. Room service was so fast that the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the room does not matter. I actually prefer to have room service rather than having to make my own coffee in the morning, but efficient room service has become a disappearing service at most hotels. All of the public rooms are very comfortable and well staffed. This is probably the most well-managed hotel we have stayed at in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Nick M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay in one of our junior suites. To be referred to as the most well managed hotel in London is an enormous accolade and one we are very proud of.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us from the moment you arrived and that you couldn’t fault the service you received throughout your two day stay.It is always wonderful to hear that guests have sampled everything on offer at The Goring and that every part of it was excellent.

We all hope that you will be back to see us and the Goring Sheep in the not too distant future and once again thank you for such a glowing review of the hotel.

With warmest wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From entering beautiful reception and foyer x lounge so relaxed for champagne and canapés x lunch for 6 adults amazing x oysters whitebait lobster special and scallops great entrees x mains were recommended beef with Yorkshires x fantastic plus sole and lamb x sweets amazing but "early Christmas pudding " a wow thanks to the "butcher" x cheeses sweet wine port champagne liqueurs x all just fantastic and unrivalled x bottle of champagne from chef a lovely touch x all in all just the best. Top food top drinks -wines amazing x top service and location xwhats not to like x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear maxie_and_mrs,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent luncheon in our Dining Room

I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves from the minute you walked into the hotel. Chef, Jeremy and David spend a lot of time sourcing the best ingredients possible for our menu and so it is always lovely to read that a guest has savoured every moment of their meal.

We do hope that you will return to The Goring for another gourmet delight and of course not forgetting to sample some more of our Sommelier’s top tipples.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment the taxi arrived we were impressed with the service nothing was to much trouble. We dined in the restraunt both nights and the food was very good with a set choice menu £49 p.p.not to bad for a 5 star London hotel although breakfast was £30 p.p. If good service and fine food are your main criteria then this could be the hotel for you. However if you are looking for a hotel with all modern modcons then you may be dissapionted. The Goring has been a hotel for over a hundred years and could benefit from a few upgrades certainly when spending over £800 per night room only I do expect a fridge and tea and coffee facilities in the room. The plumbing leaves a little to be desired and the warm air heating takes time to work, as for the lighting well i still didnt know which button to press to put a light on iether the curtains opened or the TV burst in to life?. If I forgive these few things then I have to say it is a fine Hotel [just revel in its history].

Room Tip: We stayed in a spendid suite with balcony. At least then you can let in some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear stevev0,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were delighted that you chose to spend your anniversary at The Goring and that you were impressed by the service of the team. Our team pride themselves in ensuring that all of our guests feel at home the moment they step into the hotel. We refrain from having mini bars and tea and coffee facilities in the room as we prefer that our guests are served a freshly brewed cup of tea or coffee at whatever time day or night.

From the team and myself we hope to welcome you back to The Goring before too soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

you can't beat the location and you can't beat the bar service ... from the Scotch selection to the quality of the tea (this from a coffee drinker).

I recently stayed 3 nights there for work and I'll be back ... on the plus side: the rooms are bigger than other rooms I have stayed in (London scale), 9/10 of the staff are well trained and very friendly, the hotel 'feels' comfortable & the bathroom was a classy modern and a good size.

But; TV was old, not enough power points, expensive internet, the food is overpriced for the quality but there are plenty of options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Usul_Dune,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially your time in our Lounge Bar while sampling our Scotch or tea selections.

Unfortunately the TV in room 104 is one of the few older models remaining in the hotel. However these last remaining few are to be upgraded shortly so that they match those to be found in our other rooms.

I am thrilled that you will be returning to The Goring and we all hope that it will be before too long.
With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We came for dinner in May and as a result of the fantastic service and quality all round, we decided that it was a good venue for my 50th birthday celebration. So I invited 6 people to dinner and we stayed the night and so enjoyed breakfast too.
Everything was as good , if not even better that in May. No resting on their laurels for the Goring. Full marks. I'd recommend it thoroughly as would all other guests.

Room Tip: It's worth going for an upgrade if you possibly can. Well worth it . The rooms are far superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ShrewsburySal,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory stay with us.

We were delighted to welcome you back to The Goring especially for such a special occasion. I am thrilled that that you had a fantastic birthday and even more so that we were even better than during your previous visit in May.

I hope that it won’t be too long until we welcome you back to The Goring.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Escapio, Despegar.com, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.