We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location & not cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Westminster)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Family Stays at 50% OIff
Ranked #11 of 1,053 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, location & not cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

you can't beat the location and you can't beat the bar service ... from the Scotch selection to the quality of the tea (this from a coffee drinker).

I recently stayed 3 nights there for work and I'll be back ... on the plus side: the rooms are bigger than other rooms I have stayed in (London scale), 9/10 of the staff are well trained and very friendly, the hotel 'feels' comfortable & the bathroom was a classy modern and a good size.

But; TV was old, not enough power points, expensive internet, the food is overpriced for the quality but there are plenty of options nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Usul_Dune,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially your time in our Lounge Bar while sampling our Scotch or tea selections.

Unfortunately the TV in room 104 is one of the few older models remaining in the hotel. However these last remaining few are to be upgraded shortly so that they match those to be found in our other rooms.

I am thrilled that you will be returning to The Goring and we all hope that it will be before too long.
With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    80
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
155
327
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We came for dinner in May and as a result of the fantastic service and quality all round, we decided that it was a good venue for my 50th birthday celebration. So I invited 6 people to dinner and we stayed the night and so enjoyed breakfast too.
Everything was as good , if not even better that in May. No resting on their laurels for the Goring. Full marks. I'd recommend it thoroughly as would all other guests.

Room Tip: It's worth going for an upgrade if you possibly can. Well worth it . The rooms are far superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear ShrewsburySal,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent celebratory stay with us.

We were delighted to welcome you back to The Goring especially for such a special occasion. I am thrilled that that you had a fantastic birthday and even more so that we were even better than during your previous visit in May.

I hope that it won’t be too long until we welcome you back to The Goring.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rooms are rather small and the carpet looks like the horseguards had recently passed through. Beds are an overdose of feathers, not a good night’s sleep.
Bar you have to be taken to a table even if the place is empty. Numerous staff are constantly “patrolling”, a little intrusive, and start hovering when you are two thirds down your glass.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Yegodsandlittlefish,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at The Goring.

I am sorry that you didn’t like the carpet in your room. That particular carpet has a very high silk content which means the crush of the pile leaves shadowing. These however are shortly to be replaced to avoid this type of misconception.

As a hotel we pride ourselves on having a high staff to guest ratio and many of our guests love the relaxed service we offer, feel well cared for and most importantly at home the moment they step through the door. We love our guests to relax and feel that all their needs are met.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I treated ourselves to a night at the Goring in early October, as we had tickets for 'War Horse' and the following day, we were going to visit Buckingham Palace, and the hotel was conveniently sited to be able to stroll there easily. We decided to have afternoon tea, a very substantial spread that we knew would keep us going until after the show. A good tea, although not as special as 'afternoon tea' as we had enjoyed at Reid's in Madeira. Tea was served in a very yellow conservatory, with extraordinarily ornate drapes, overlooking an attractive garden, an oasis of calm in central London. Our room was elegantly decorated and furnished with David Linley furniture, beautifully made with light woods although rather massive for my taste. Heavy satin drapes, and silk lined walls completed the picture. However the whole was let down by finger marks on the drapes, and black mould marks where the mastic joined the bath and the marble surround---very evident whilst sitting on the loo!!!
Our main comment was the stifling feeling off being 'over-flunkied'!! Too many people milling around the reception area, one was tripping over them all!! Best thing was the very good coffee that we enjoyed, with a sandwich, on our return from the theatre, and again when we returned from our visit to Buckingham Palace, prior to collecting our cases and returning home. If you love 'over the top' then this is the place for you-you will love it. If you prefer perfect, but understated service, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front door, was very pleasant, a/c worked well and there was no intrusive tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear littleacorn101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Goring.
I am delighted that you loved and our bright and sunny terrace where you enjoyed your afternoon tea overlooking The Goring gardens. We are so lucky with our garden and as you mentioned it is an oasis in the heart of London.

Your room is one of our newly refurbished rooms by Russell Sage and I have to agree it is very elegant. The furniture is all bespoke for room 51 and I am thrilled that you thought it was beautifully made and in lovely light woods.

As a hotel we pride ourselves on having a high staff to guest ratio and the feedback we receive shows that this is one of the many reasons guests enjoy their time with us so much. Many of our guests love the relaxed service we offer, feel well cared for and most importantly at home the moment they step through the door.

We do hope that you will return to The Goring to indulge in another cup of London’s best coffee!

With kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It hs been some months since I last stayed at this hotel and the wlecome was as warm as ever.
This hotel is of the very best hotels in England offering excellent service food and ambienc in a totally unique British style and if you have not stayed here before I can only suggest that on your next trip to London you book a night or two here.
Rooms are well appointed may be not as big as other five star hotels but comfortable and I always have a good noghts sleep
Location is great near Buckingham Palace and close to many London landmarks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MalcolmR52,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring and it was lovely to welcome you back after a few months away from us. I am delighted that you immediately felt at home again and as if you had never left.

We all hope that you will be back to see us again soon especially when you are looking for another good night’s sleep.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have known the Goring for years. I wanted to take friends for a "special" meal. The Goring ticks all the boxes for service, cuisine and ambience. We had a wonderful evening. Not all my guests had been there before and they were really impressed with the overall excellence.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear David S,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent dinner at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you had a wonderful evening with us and that we ticked all of your boxes. It is always lovely to hear that guests keep returning to us and that they are also introducing new guests to us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to The Goring in the near future.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this fantastic hotel for 4 nights. Staff are all very helpful, Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is superb, Fresh and very good quality.
Bar area tends to get busy around 5 0'clock on week days with "City Types".
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Peter E,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring.

I am thrilled that you had a fantastic four nights with us and that the team were on hand whenever you needed them. Graham our Breakfast Chef certainly knows how to provide the perfect meal to start the day.

We do hope that you will be back to see us again soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#10 of 1,053 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#30 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.