We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to an old friend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Goring to your Saves list
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #7 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A visit to an old friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It hs been some months since I last stayed at this hotel and the wlecome was as warm as ever.
This hotel is of the very best hotels in England offering excellent service food and ambienc in a totally unique British style and if you have not stayed here before I can only suggest that on your next trip to London you book a night or two here.
Rooms are well appointed may be not as big as other five star hotels but comfortable and I always have a good noghts sleep
Location is great near Buckingham Palace and close to many London landmarks

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MalcolmR52,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring and it was lovely to welcome you back after a few months away from us. I am delighted that you immediately felt at home again and as if you had never left.

We all hope that you will be back to see us again soon especially when you are looking for another good night’s sleep.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    71
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
118
267
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have known the Goring for years. I wanted to take friends for a "special" meal. The Goring ticks all the boxes for service, cuisine and ambience. We had a wonderful evening. Not all my guests had been there before and they were really impressed with the overall excellence.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear David S,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent dinner at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you had a wonderful evening with us and that we ticked all of your boxes. It is always lovely to hear that guests keep returning to us and that they are also introducing new guests to us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to The Goring in the near future.

With best wishes,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at this fantastic hotel for 4 nights. Staff are all very helpful, Nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is superb, Fresh and very good quality.
Bar area tends to get busy around 5 0'clock on week days with "City Types".
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Peter E,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring.

I am thrilled that you had a fantastic four nights with us and that the team were on hand whenever you needed them. Graham our Breakfast Chef certainly knows how to provide the perfect meal to start the day.

We do hope that you will be back to see us again soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

To really appreciate the Goring you should bring three things with you:
1) An insensitivity to price,
2) A preference for being served, rather than doing it yourself, and
3) An appreciation of Upper Crust traditions and cachet.
If you do, you should have a marvelous time at the Goring. But we did not quite meet those standards. Trying to be somewhat economical, we booked a standard queen bedded room at the lowest rate, and chose the nonrefundable advance payment option to further reduce the cost. As a result when we checked in on a fully booked Saturday night we were put in room 24, which, instead of looking out over a lovely croquet court in the center of the hotel, sits at the bottom of an interior air shaft. Fair enough; we paid the minimum and got the minimum room. Lesson learned. Also at our rate, neither internet nor breakfast was included, and internet costs 5 pounds an hour, which has to be used all at once, or 15 pounds a day. Fortunately, there is a nice little room off the stairs between the second and third floors with an adequate Dell computer, and a free internet connection. It was always available whenever we needed it.

That said, the room was immaculately clean, as is the whole hotel, nicely decorated, with wonderful linens and sumptuous towels on a heated rack in the marble and wood paneled bathroom. The ventilation was individually controlled, quiet, and responsive. And the room and hotel itself was very quiet and restful. Being an older building, there are relatively few plugs available for charging your electronics, no outlet in the bathroom suitable for a hairdryer, limited drawer and closet space, and no in-room refrigerator, mini-bar, or coffee maker. We were there for five nights and did ask for an in-room coffee maker, having read that this was available. We got a tray with an electric kettle, tea and instant coffee, and milk, which worked out well. The TV is an older console model, not a current flat screen, and takes forever to warm up, but it works.
The lifts between the lobby and guest rooms are very small, but seem readily available and work well. The single room key came on a very large brass tag, and we were asked to leave it at the concierge desk whenever we left the hotel. That worked out fine, as there was never any wait to retrieve it.

The ground floor has an attractive large lounge where both tea and cocktails can be enjoyed, a more intimate bar area, and a formal dining room. Our first night we had a very nice lamb sandwich with “chips” – steak fries in the states – and a Caesar salad, with cocktails in the bar. Very nice. Another night we had a club sandwich and the Caesar salad in the room, which came promptly and was also fine. Unfortunately the night we did the pre-theater dinner in the dining room was not so good. The dining room itself, the service, and the wine were all excellent. But the choices for pre-theater were limited, and both the chicken and vegetables and the salmon that we ordered were exceedingly bland. The former consisted of some pieces of chicken that looked as though they had been boiled in broth, along with half a carrot and half a stalk of celery, all swimming in the broth We would have been disappointed in either meal at one-third the price. We did not try the beef wellington or the caviar on the menu, and it may be that another evening or a different choice of items would be better. The good news is that it is a five minute walk to Victoria Station, so there are good options in the area.

The service from everyone was excellent, and the place is impeccably furnished, immaculately clean, quiet, and well located. If you don’t care about the price, and love being served, go for it. But if you are looking for value or prefer self service, you might want to look for other options.

Room Tip: avoid 24, 34, 44 etc. look out on an air shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear rodneyplimpton,

Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at The Goring.

I am thrilled that you felt so well looked after by the team and that all your needs were cared for during you are time with us. As a luxury five red star hotel our levels of service are very important to us and we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests feel at home and well looked after during their stay.

Unfortunately the TV in room 24 is one of the few older models remaining in the hotel. However these last remaining few are to be upgraded shortly so that they match those to be found in our other rooms

We are delighted that you were able to make the most of everything The Goring has to offer whether it be for cocktails and dinner in our Bar or taking advantage of our 24 hour room service. It is very important to us that whatever time of day or night our guests are able to have their own freshly brewed tea or coffee served by us rather than them having to turn on a kettle.

We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Goring for another stay of being totally cared for.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, RI, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two nights at the Goring Hotel in London in June, before taking a Cunard cruise to Norway. The staff could not have been more helpful, the location was central, and the food at the included breakfast was wonderful. This hotel is expensive but in my opinion worth the price.
Barbara H. Roberts, MD

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear bhrdoc,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring.

I am thrilled that you chose to spend your time in London with us before your cruise to Norway. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at The Goring and we do hope that you will be back to see us soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I chose to NOT do a structured tour this time for our vacation. Instead we wanted to do our "own thing" so we could be in charge of our own time. We spent our first 4 days in Paris ( see Hotel Lancaster review) and eight days in London, at this most wonderful establishment! I take choosing a hotel very seriously, especially when we are going to be on our own and out of the country! I did use, this sight, actually, Trip Advisor to help me and they did not lead me astray.

The Goring was the perfect location. When I was in London I learned there are many hotels with "perfect" locations, however, The Goring had so many other things to offer. Big John and his concierge team were outstanding and extremely accomodating. They helped us with any questions and personal needs! I even contacted via email before our trip to enlist his help and he always got back to me and gave his assistance. Having them there and knowing they were so friendly and willing to help made the trip so stress-free, we didn't feel being on "our own" (and not on a tour) was a disadvantage at all.

The breakfast they included with our room was not only very good, they also offered many, many choices. The staff in the breakfast dining room were pleasant, timely, and my husband looked forward to that basket of rolls and pastries every morning!
Our room was beautiful and always cleaned in a timely manner. We looked so forward coming back after a long day of sight-seeing to a warm and comfy bed and hot (beautiful) shower.
The front desk staff were always polite and again willing to be of help if needed. The same with the door-men. Everyone was so pleasant and friendly, it truly felt like we were in our "own back yard". They made us feel so comfortable and at home. I would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear J H,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Goring; it was such a pleasure to read.

I am thrilled that you loved the location of the hotel but more importantly that the team within were what made your stay. Big John and his team certainly know everything there is to about London as well as plenty of unusual gems. Before you know it they have made so many brilliant suggestions it is hard to know where to start.

The team and I are delighted that you felt at home and always looked forward to returning at the end of the day. We are all looking to welcoming you back to The Goring and hope that it won’t be before long.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just come back from a wonderful stay at the Goring. Was a surprise 40th for myself that was organised by my wife. Our 3 year old daughter loved her sheep waiting for her on her huge bed, and our 17 month son loved running around the good sized room. We had a brilliant private room and this made the evening more relaxed. Marco helped serve us and was courteous and friendly. The food was brilliant!

Wish we could have stayed longer, but will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Goring, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guy M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at The Goring.

We were delighted to play a small part in your birthday celebrations and are all thrilled that it proved to be the perfect way in which to celebrate. I hope that your daughter remembered to take her sheep home with her to have on her own bed!

I hope that the birthday celebrations are still on going and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Goring.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#18 Family Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.