We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round first class experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goring

Save Saved
You added The Goring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Goring
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Experience Offer
Ranked #10 of 1,073 hotels in London
St Andrews
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All-round first class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed mid-January with my wife in one of the newly refurbished 'Most Spendid Silk Rooms'.

This was our 4th visit to the Goring, and they continue to provide the most excellent product and service - without fault. It may not be the cheapest of hotels, but the extra cost is well worth it.

Can't wait to be able to return again.

Room Tip: Most Splendid Silk Room worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Mr Owen,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at The Goring. It sounds like you had a lovely time. As you so rightly point out, our Splendid and Most Splendid Silk rooms really are beautifully appointed and command fabulous views of our gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed them and hope to welcome you back to your London home in the near future.

My warmest regards,
Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    66
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
237
30
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Everything about our stay was beyond my expectations. Many thanks to the staff who made my daughters 16h birthday special. The silk rooms, concierge staff ( highly utilized and recommended ) , bar staff ( especially during tea service ) , doormen and house staff were literally above all expectations. Anyone looking for English legendary service need look no further. I will be back to London and will not be considering any other location.


Thanks for everything

Mike Dilick

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear Mr Dilick,

Thank you, I was really delighted to read your magnificent review of The Goring. It is wonderful you celebrated your daughter’s milestone with us and the trip was so special. The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you home.

My kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Goring for me, sadly, was a disappointment, perhaps because I stayed on the back of much hype. It isn't a bad hotel by any stretch of the imagination, in fact it really is rather good but it just doesn't quite reach the heights to which it so clearly aspires.

In terms of value for money, it comes up a little short. A Splendid Room, which we opted for, comes in more expensive than a junior suite at the Connaught and in terms of quality the Connaught's rooms are in a different league. The room was disappointingly small and the level of noise from the floor above was simply unacceptable.

All this said, the service is excellent (if a tiny bit odd - more than once I had a nigh on Fawlty Towers type exchange with staff) and afternoon tea a delight. The Goring makes much of its independence and this is, in many respects, a fine asset. However, perhaps in part due to this it doesn't quite have the polish one would anticipate at this price point.

As an experience, the Goring is well worth a visit and I would recommend it with the few reservations I've mentioned in this review. It's truly a very good hotel, the problem is there are far better options.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear BuryFoodLover,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you found the service throughout your stay as well as afternoon tea such a delight. That said, I was saddened to hear of your disappointment with the bedroom. A quick glance at The Connaught website confirms that a Junior Suite is over £300 per night more expensive than a Splendid Room at The Goring. Furthermore, our Splendid Rooms have stunning features such as beautiful bespoke furniture, luxury Gainsborough Silks, as well as lovely views over our secluded gardens. If you wish to discuss any points of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Goring and it would be my pleasure if I can ever be of assistance.

My warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

The Goring is the most welcoming beautiful Hotel that I have ever stayed in. Thank you for making our anniversary such a special one.
Lamb curry in the bar was fantastic... A very warm, special place. Highly recommended oasis of British excellence. Lance Palmer, Sussex

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Mr Palmer,

Thank you very much for your kind words following your recent anniversary stay with us. There is no finer description of The Goring than a warm, special place. My colleagues and I feel the same way. We all look forward to warmly welcoming you back to your London home when you are next stopping by.

With my kindest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If the world did not know about The Goring a year ago, they all do now because it is where the Middleton family stayed prior to their daughter, Kate's, wedding to Prince William.
But I stay there prior to the big wedding and loved every bit of it. My room was splendid, big very comfortable bed, great bathroom with a lovely robe and amenities.
I arrived quite late and went down to the wonderful pub and restaurant and even though the kitchen had officially closed they were only to happy to find me some delicious food.
The location is wonderful, walking distance to many great spots or a short cab ride.
The staff is warm, welcoming and very professional. I definitely will stay there the next time I am in London.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear TinySeasideDancer,

I was absolutely delighted to learn that your visit to The Goring was so memorable. It gives me great pleasure to share your feedback with my brilliant team. We are all thrilled you found your room so splendid and indulgent and the location so wonderful. On behalf of us all at The Goring, I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We thought we would treat ourselves to a special stay in London for New Year's Eve and picked The Goring based on its location to things we wanted to do to celebrate and the reviews on here.

We really liked the overall atmosphere of the hotel. The staff seemed genuinely friendly and all were really helpful. I emailed the hotel on the morning of our arrival to check car parking arrangements and received a reply within an hour. If you are arriving at the hotel by car, they will park it over night for you. This worked out really well for us, we didn't want to worry about finding a car park and then walk with our luggage from the car park to the hotel.

We were given room 77. This room overlooks the gardens, which were lovely and were decorated with a big Christmas tree in the centre. No mini bar but 24 hr room service that was excellent. We ordered twice from room service - only drinks but they came within 20 minutes of the order. Overall the room was very pleasant - comfortable bed and little seating area. Computerized light settings and curtain opening/closing. The TV was a bit annoying - lots of different menus to go through.

We had lunch in the bar. My husband selected a sandwich and I had a salad both were very good.

We went out for dinner but had a few drinks in the bar on our return. The hotel had put on a jazz band and guests were dancing in the lounge as part of their New Year's celebrations. Although overall it seemed pretty quiet but that suited us.

The hotel is well placed for St James' park and we went their to watch the fireworks. You can get a good view of the London Eye and be out of the main crowds to see the fireworks.

Breakfast was good. Lots of choice and again really good service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear AngeS,

I am thrilled you joined us for New Year’s Eve and had such a splendid time. We have a wonderful team here at The Goring. To hear you found them genuinely friendly and helpful means so much to us all. As you have identified, The Goring is in the heart of London and just a stone’s throw from Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and many other attractions. It pleases me to hear of your lovely Lounge Bar lunch and Dining Room breakfast. On behalf of us all here at The Goring, all the very best for 2012 and please do return soon.

With warm regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

It's a crusty old english establishment. Everything that you would expect with that statement. Pleasant service, ok food, and very expensive. My room was quite small, so if you are getting a room at the lower end of the price range, you won't get much. Very cool experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
journeyride, General Manager at The Goring, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Spedlyman,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us last summer. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience. The Goring is a quintessentially British hotel where the very best service and food has been celebrated for over a century. I hope you get the chance to join us again soon and I look forward to meeting you.

With kind regards,

Graham Copeman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Goring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goring

Address: Beeston Place, Grosvenor Gardens, London SW1W 0JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Goring 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been lovingly refurbished, The Goring has entered a new era, yet retains its time-honoured style and exceptional service. The small, intimate hotel stands out from the crowd as London's last family-owned luxury hotel, as well as its unique Royal Warrant from Her Majesty The Queen and one of the largest private gardens in the capital - an urban oasis. Nestled in fashionable Belgravia, adjacent to Buckingham Palace, this fantastic London location offers guests easy access to Knightsbridge, Mayfair and more - perfect for shopping and theatre, work and play. The hotel's sumptuous bedrooms and suites offer supreme comfort and the finest furnishings, whilst The Dining Room and Bar & Lounge serve the best in British food, irresistible cocktails and an award-winning traditional afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Goring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goring Hotel London
Goring London
The Goring London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.