We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they make it look easy...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medlar

Medlar
438 Kings Road, London SW10 0LJ, England (Chelsea)
020 7349 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Medlar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $43 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“they make it look easy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

excellent,
brilliant,
GO!

☆*・゜゚・*\(^O^)/*・゜゚・*☆

nothing else needs to be said... they are doing good things and they are doing them REALLY well
we will be back soon

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    239
    73
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ate here recently with a friend visiting from Australia. Server was superb and could not be faulted in any way.

Food was acceptable, starters and desert out shown the main courses and the wine list was by far the best feature.

This is a very good restaurant for what it offers in a good location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The consumate London experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Kings road still lives on here even in this day and age for those of us who can remember it's heyday in the seventies. Sit floor on the ground floor as near to the front as possible and breathe (and hear) it in. The food's also fine without doubt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I liked Medlar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I received a very friendly welcome and was shown to my seat (already set for one person). The restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere although It was busy. I started with Foie Gras terrine with prune... I enjoyed this very much, smooth, good flavour with a slice of perfectly toasted brioche, Then I had roast grouse for the main course... it was cooked perfectly, tender, a little pink... served with game chips (needed a few more) warm bread sauce, damson jelly and steamed spinach. Actually, I couldn't believe how good this all was... very surprised. To finish, I had cherry clafoutis... often served as a cold lump of stodge, this came light, piping hot and crispy round the edges. Truly, the best clafoutis I've ever had. Home made chocolate truffles and passionfruit mashmallow came with the coffee. So to sum up; a very good evening, friendly, knowledgeable, staff serving accomplished cooking ... London needs more like this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Probably the Best in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Medlar must be the best quality restaurant in Fulham/Chelsea area. Food is outstanding- I have been twice now in the past 6 weeks and every single dish has been exceptional (the steak with snail sauce stands out as one of the best steaks my wife and I have ever had). Wine list has something for all occasions, service is very professional and price is acceptable for what you get.

The front is preferable to sitting in the back, in the open window or terrace during the summer is a treat.

Its not the most atmospheric restaurant in the area, but with great food, this is not always of primary importance.

I intend to return again very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medlar also viewed

 

Been to Medlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medlar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.