We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medlar

Medlar
438 Kings Road, London SW10 0LJ, England (Chelsea)
020 7349 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Medlar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $60
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you like good food then this is the restaurant for you in a perfect location every course was cooked to perfection we had a lovely table by the window and drank delicious wine which was recommend for our meal next time I am in London will defiantly eat here again

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    91
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Still a very good treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a rather belated review. We took friends to Medlar towards the end of May and they travelled 50 or so miles especially for this. None of us were disappointed. Good (but pricey) food in relaxed surroundings with friendly, unfussy service. Probably the best place to eat in this part of Fulham / Chelsea.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was better prior to Michelin star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have been to Medlar a number of times and the last two visits disappointed on the food front. The main course I had when last there was very under par (far too salty which is an amateurish mistake) for a restaurant of this standard and on that basis I will not be returning (admittedly, the pudding was very good). The plus sides of the restaurant are the excellent service, good sommelier and very good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here on recommendation of some real food folks I know in the States. It exceeded their praise, serving a couple dishes which are among the best I have ever eaten.
No time for lengthy review, but absolutely fantastic food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
“Fanbloodytastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just the two of us for Sunday lunch but it was perfect in almost every way. The service was crisp, non-intrusive, friendly but efficient. The food is excellent - beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and delicious.

We booked there because of the Michelin star but will go again just because it was so good. We had only one criticism, which was that the moderately expensive white wine we ordered was not quite cold enough but it was put on ice and it was fine.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medlar also viewed

 

Been to Medlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medlar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.