We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best London meal for years.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medlar

Medlar
438 Kings Road, London SW10 0LJ, England (Chelsea)
020 7349 1900
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Medlar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best London meal for years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Attentive, pleasant but unobstrusive staff.

12 different courses between four of us and every one was a delight. Crab Raviolli and mallard were superb. A great night.

Only (very slight) issue was that the red wine was below the optimum temperature.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    100
    21
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant in Chelsea - probably best eatery on Kings Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We now have been three times at this fabulous place. Every time the daily selection is brilliant with imaginative dishes and a truly impressive wine selection with a fresh approach.

Service is impeccable and the seating in the various rooms up to a high standard. Try to get one of the booths further back - they are cozy and you can enjoy a truly excellent and private dining experience.

Food is English/European with a twist - but straightforward and not to complicated.

Highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

dinner for 8, nice table at the back of the restaurant. We were required to have a special menu which was limited to 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts. Good value and well prepared food but a bit more choice woudl have added to the occasion. Nice wine list. Very friendly and attentive waiting staff

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having been to Medlar only for dinner previously, I was unsure of what to expect for a late lunch on a Saturday. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the lunchtime sitting was lacking in nothing. We went at 2pm and the restaurant was full. The ambiance was on par with dinnertime and the staff were attentive and invovled without being overbearing. What I like most about Medlar is the friendly feel. The staff were happy to recommend various dishes and spend time talking to us at the table...even in French for my boyfriend. We devoured the petit fours at the end of our meal which was clearly noted by the staff as they presented us with a small bag of them to take home with us. Good value for delicious food - £30 for three courses (£25 for 2). I had the scallop sashimi and brill for my mains whilst my partner opted for the crab raviolo and the mallard. Fantastic blend of flavours and wonderful presentation. Medlar don't miss a beat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“simply a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited Medlar for the second time and had a delicious meal. The service is probably the best you ll find in London and the food is delicious. It is true that the atmosphere is nothing exceptional but i would not know a better place to have a relaxing meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medlar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Medlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medlar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.