We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not that memorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rushmore

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rushmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rushmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #524 of 1,073 hotels in London
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Okay but not that memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The reception area was quite welcoming and the staff were efficient though, I thought, a little frosty.

Away from reception and they room I had clearly needed some refurbishment. However, it was of a decent size but the decor and furnishing were dated.

The bathroom has obviously been upgraded at some point and, although a bit cramped, it was okay and the shower was decent enough.

I stayed here for only one night and I thought it was a little overpriced and certainly didn't have a comfortable or welcoming feel to the place.

Three star is probably a little generous. I think 2.5 stars is more appropriate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    144
    61
    24
    20
See reviews for
55
65
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed from the 3rd to the 8th of March 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is in a central area just two minutes away from the metro station. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. Had a couple of issues with the electricity and the wi fi at points but they were promptly solved by the staff.
I'd come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here three nights. The location is excellent, just a few minutes' walk from Earl's Court underground station. We arrived late and hungry, so it was nice to find several restaurants just around the corner. The street itself is quiet though, and even though our room had windows to the street, there wasn't any noise at night.

Our room in the second floor was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom more spacious than I expected (for London and this price category). The breakfast is simple, but well enough to start the day. The service is very friendly and warm, nothing to complain about.

I would recommend this place to my friends and will probably choose it myself the next time I visit London. Only wouldn't recommend it for people to whom steep stairs are a problem, as there is no elevator.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Near to Earls Court tube station. Nearby are restaurants and convenience stores. Free wifi but a bit unstable. Breakfast is included but nothing much to eat. Recommend to eat outside better. Room is considered spacious for the price. And there is no elevator. Have to carry luggage all the way up to the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and found it to be extemely friendly and welcoming. Rooms lovely and spacious especially for London. Excellent location!! would not hesitate to stay there next time we have a mini break....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We returned from 6 days at the Rushmore with mixed feelings. On one hand, the location is great, the receptionists were perfectly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are as small as in any other London hotel in the same price category.

We were however deeply disappointed by the breakfast and especially the staff serving breakfast. We were aware that it would be a continental breakfast, but what we actually got was more than poor. It mainly consisted of cereals (apparently due to their long durability), dry toast, pre-packed butter, and two bowls of jam that were simply topped up when nearing the bottom. The only savoury items were a plate of pre-sliced Cheddar-ish cheese with a handful of tomatoes, salt crackers, and, strangly, a bowl of Greek salad with onions, olives and Balsamico vinaigrette. One some days there were also supermarket-cakes and dry, crumbly scones.
The breakfast staff gave the impression of being annoyed by the guests and were quite strict with the breakfast serving times, which were, quite inconveniently, from 8-10. Since we had to be out for business at 8, we would have liked to be able to have breakfast earlier. The information folder in the room said there would be breakfast from 7:30 on weekdays, so we didn’t worry at first. But when we got down at 7:30, nothing was ready, and before we had to leave for work we could merely manage to get a quick cup of coffee and a slice of cake. The service lady didn’t seem too happy when we asked whether we could have breakfast earlier the next day. Throughout the 6 days there, she always seemed to be in a particularly bad mood…

We were also quite disturbed by the paper-thin (and heavily stained) walls of our room; we could hear really everything going on in the surrounding rooms (including the neighbours’ intercourse). Sleeping without earplugs was impossible.
Even though we knew that bathrooms in London hotels can be tiny, we didn’t except a minuscule wet cell the size of 1,5 x 1,5 m. We wonder how a person with more than 60 kg can ever fit into the shower…

For 115 pounds we had really expected more, so we’ll probably not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only Hotel we could find that was clean and affordable when we needed a place on short notice to stay. Walked in and was helped in a friendly way. Had no booking just arrived and it was no problem The only down side is the lovely Victorian staircase,very narrow,So with a lot of suitcases we had to drag it to the 2nd floor.The breakfast was good and the Hotel is situated just so that you can walk to all the major sightseeing spots, even though the train stations was near us we preferred walking. I loved this hotel with its big rooms. Staff I found to be honest. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room nearest to the ground floor and that you have no large amount of suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rushmore

Address: 11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #524 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rushmore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1900 Victorian townhouse with individually themed and tastefully designed bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Hotel London
Hotel Rushmore London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.