We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad breakfast, overpriced and loud... but in a good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rushmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rushmore to your Saves list
Hotel Rushmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #580 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bad breakfast, overpriced and loud... but in a good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We returned from 6 days at the Rushmore with mixed feelings. On one hand, the location is great, the receptionists were perfectly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are as small as in any other London hotel in the same price category.

We were however deeply disappointed by the breakfast and especially the staff serving breakfast. We were aware that it would be a continental breakfast, but what we actually got was more than poor. It mainly consisted of cereals (apparently due to their long durability), dry toast, pre-packed butter, and two bowls of jam that were simply topped up when nearing the bottom. The only savoury items were a plate of pre-sliced Cheddar-ish cheese with a handful of tomatoes, salt crackers, and, strangly, a bowl of Greek salad with onions, olives and Balsamico vinaigrette. One some days there were also supermarket-cakes and dry, crumbly scones.
The breakfast staff gave the impression of being annoyed by the guests and were quite strict with the breakfast serving times, which were, quite inconveniently, from 8-10. Since we had to be out for business at 8, we would have liked to be able to have breakfast earlier. The information folder in the room said there would be breakfast from 7:30 on weekdays, so we didn’t worry at first. But when we got down at 7:30, nothing was ready, and before we had to leave for work we could merely manage to get a quick cup of coffee and a slice of cake. The service lady didn’t seem too happy when we asked whether we could have breakfast earlier the next day. Throughout the 6 days there, she always seemed to be in a particularly bad mood…

We were also quite disturbed by the paper-thin (and heavily stained) walls of our room; we could hear really everything going on in the surrounding rooms (including the neighbours’ intercourse). Sleeping without earplugs was impossible.
Even though we knew that bathrooms in London hotels can be tiny, we didn’t except a minuscule wet cell the size of 1,5 x 1,5 m. We wonder how a person with more than 60 kg can ever fit into the shower…

For 115 pounds we had really expected more, so we’ll probably not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    147
    67
    27
    26
See reviews for
74
80
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Cape South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only Hotel we could find that was clean and affordable when we needed a place on short notice to stay. Walked in and was helped in a friendly way. Had no booking just arrived and it was no problem The only down side is the lovely Victorian staircase,very narrow,So with a lot of suitcases we had to drag it to the 2nd floor.The breakfast was good and the Hotel is situated just so that you can walk to all the major sightseeing spots, even though the train stations was near us we preferred walking. I loved this hotel with its big rooms. Staff I found to be honest. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room nearest to the ground floor and that you have no large amount of suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night, but it was a pleasant experience. The location is excellent, just steps away from a tube station. Nice, quiet neighborhood with all convenience. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating with all our last minute request. Free WiFi was a good plus. The room we stayed had a tiny balcony which would have been great if it were summer. I'd definitely go back there for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Rushmore´s situation is just perfect: just a hundred meters from Earl´s Court tube station. That was the main reason we chose it.

We (I, my wife and our 18-year old son) got a room for three persons on ground floor. The room was really small. We have stayed in Kensington before, but this room was much smaller than what we had e.g. in "London Lodge Hotel". And there wasn´t storage place enough, just one coat rack, one shelf and one little drawer. That´s not enough for three people! But all the beds were "normal size beds" (the third bed wasn´t some kind of smaller extra bed) as they had promised.

The walls were like paper, sometimes we could hear what the receptionist talked... The room had seen better days, but now it really is time to update it! Fortunately the cleaner made her best and the room was so clean it could be! Because there was no double glassed windows, you could hear everything that happened on the street. Fortunately there wasn´t busy trafic!

Breakfast was included in the price which isn´t typical in bigger hotels and although it was quite poor, you could manage with it ´til lunch.

I would like to give Rushmore Hotel two and half points, because three points is too much and (thank for the cleaner!) two points is too few, but because there´s not that alternative, let´s say that it is three...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have actually been here three times but I am definitely not coming back - it got too expensive for what you're getting. The location is great but there are other hotels with a good location in that area and I'll look into that for my next trip. I like that they took the time to design their rooms differently and with a cute British flair. However, their service, by now, is practically nonexistent - we were 3 people sharing a room - we had to ask several times for a third bath towel, and we had to share the hand towel between the three of us. There definitely wasn't enough room or storage space in the room for 3 people. The rooms require updates desperately, the 'blankets' are old and disgusting. The bathroom was alright and clean, but the showers are very small. The rooms were very noisy, we could hear the TV from the next room so clearly it was almost creepy.

Their breakfast is a weak excuse - no eggs, no ham, one kind of fruit every day (if you don't like it you're simply out of luck because they sure don't welcome any requests), one kind of cheap cheese, then they ran out of bread (!) at 9:30AM. they took FOREVER to restock anything, like the 'fruit of the day', if there actually was more. If you don't LOVE cereal, this 'breakfast' is not for you.

On one day, the internet was down and all the lady at the front desk did was give us the password for the wifi of the hotel next door (which was too weak to connect to), making it very clear that she wasn't intending to look into the issue. You have to leave your key every time you leave the premises, which is something I personally don't enjoy. The staff are not interested in you or accomodating you definitely. On the day we checked out we wanted to leave our luggage in storage for a while. They suggested we leave it standing around in the very narrow entryway completely ungarded and in everybody's way, with receptionists who couldn't care less about who takes a bag with them. We opted to leave it in the "storage room" which was also the laundry room. If this place was cheaper, it might be acceptable, but for the current price, it simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in October.
Hotel location is very good: around the corner from the exit of Earls Court tube station.
Hotel room was basic (1 door of cupboard loose), and clean.
No lift, walk up steep stairs to the different floors.
Free wifi is handy.
Breakfast in cellar was ok.

Room Tip: Room 21 on 2nd floor has enough space, and 2 beds shoved together. Beds in that room do not have foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there to do some sightseeing in London and it was great for that. The rooms were clean but pretty small and the breakfast was average.
The staff were really nice but on our last night there was a leak in the room above us we couldn't be moved as they were full. We weren't offered a discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#516 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#646 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Earls Court
Grand Hotel London
Grand Hotel London
#732 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Earls Court
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Oliver Plaza Hotel
#481 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#430 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rushmore

Address: 11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rushmore 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1900 Victorian townhouse with individually themed and tastefully designed bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rushmore Hotel London
Hotel Rushmore London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.