We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushmore Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rushmore

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rushmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rushmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #539 of 1,071 hotels in London
Western Cape South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rushmore Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only Hotel we could find that was clean and affordable when we needed a place on short notice to stay. Walked in and was helped in a friendly way. Had no booking just arrived and it was no problem The only down side is the lovely Victorian staircase,very narrow,So with a lot of suitcases we had to drag it to the 2nd floor.The breakfast was good and the Hotel is situated just so that you can walk to all the major sightseeing spots, even though the train stations was near us we preferred walking. I loved this hotel with its big rooms. Staff I found to be honest. Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room nearest to the ground floor and that you have no large amount of suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    137
    60
    23
    19
See reviews for
52
64
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night, but it was a pleasant experience. The location is excellent, just steps away from a tube station. Nice, quiet neighborhood with all convenience. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating with all our last minute request. Free WiFi was a good plus. The room we stayed had a tiny balcony which would have been great if it were summer. I'd definitely go back there for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel Rushmore´s situation is just perfect: just a hundred meters from Earl´s Court tube station. That was the main reason we chose it.

We (I, my wife and our 18-year old son) got a room for three persons on ground floor. The room was really small. We have stayed in Kensington before, but this room was much smaller than what we had e.g. in "London Lodge Hotel". And there wasn´t storage place enough, just one coat rack, one shelf and one little drawer. That´s not enough for three people! But all the beds were "normal size beds" (the third bed wasn´t some kind of smaller extra bed) as they had promised.

The walls were like paper, sometimes we could hear what the receptionist talked... The room had seen better days, but now it really is time to update it! Fortunately the cleaner made her best and the room was so clean it could be! Because there was no double glassed windows, you could hear everything that happened on the street. Fortunately there wasn´t busy trafic!

Breakfast was included in the price which isn´t typical in bigger hotels and although it was quite poor, you could manage with it ´til lunch.

I would like to give Rushmore Hotel two and half points, because three points is too much and (thank for the cleaner!) two points is too few, but because there´s not that alternative, let´s say that it is three...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have actually been here three times but I am definitely not coming back - it got too expensive for what you're getting. The location is great but there are other hotels with a good location in that area and I'll look into that for my next trip. I like that they took the time to design their rooms differently and with a cute British flair. However, their service, by now, is practically nonexistent - we were 3 people sharing a room - we had to ask several times for a third bath towel, and we had to share the hand towel between the three of us. There definitely wasn't enough room or storage space in the room for 3 people. The rooms require updates desperately, the 'blankets' are old and disgusting. The bathroom was alright and clean, but the showers are very small. The rooms were very noisy, we could hear the TV from the next room so clearly it was almost creepy.

Their breakfast is a weak excuse - no eggs, no ham, one kind of fruit every day (if you don't like it you're simply out of luck because they sure don't welcome any requests), one kind of cheap cheese, then they ran out of bread (!) at 9:30AM. they took FOREVER to restock anything, like the 'fruit of the day', if there actually was more. If you don't LOVE cereal, this 'breakfast' is not for you.

On one day, the internet was down and all the lady at the front desk did was give us the password for the wifi of the hotel next door (which was too weak to connect to), making it very clear that she wasn't intending to look into the issue. You have to leave your key every time you leave the premises, which is something I personally don't enjoy. The staff are not interested in you or accomodating you definitely. On the day we checked out we wanted to leave our luggage in storage for a while. They suggested we leave it standing around in the very narrow entryway completely ungarded and in everybody's way, with receptionists who couldn't care less about who takes a bag with them. We opted to leave it in the "storage room" which was also the laundry room. If this place was cheaper, it might be acceptable, but for the current price, it simply isn't worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in October.
Hotel location is very good: around the corner from the exit of Earls Court tube station.
Hotel room was basic (1 door of cupboard loose), and clean.
No lift, walk up steep stairs to the different floors.
Free wifi is handy.
Breakfast in cellar was ok.

Room Tip: Room 21 on 2nd floor has enough space, and 2 beds shoved together. Beds in that room do not have foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there to do some sightseeing in London and it was great for that. The rooms were clean but pretty small and the breakfast was average.
The staff were really nice but on our last night there was a leak in the room above us we couldn't be moved as they were full. We weren't offered a discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Could not be closer to the earls court underground station. They happily stored luggage for me for a couple of days which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rushmore

Also Known As:
Rushmore Hotel London
Rushmore Hotel
Hotel Rushmore London, England
Address: 11 Trebovir Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,071 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rushmore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1900 Victorian townhouse with individually themed and tastefully designed bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.