We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis in London. Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Physic Garden

Chelsea Physic Garden
66 Royal Hospital Road, London SW3, England (Chelsea)
020 7352 5646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely oasis in London. Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The garden itself is small but quite interesting. Great intro to gardening course for kids.
The cafe is excellent - have had several delicious meals there. Amazing cakes. The menu is not super kid-friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    47
    12
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited on a Sunday morning in need of peace and quiet as one does on a Sunday morning. A wonderful place,informative and amusing guided tour..thanks Joy...and a great lunch.Ideal place to restore body and soul.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Both of us love gardens, and loved Chelsea. It is only about 3 acres totally surrounded by buildings, but it is packed tightly with gardens. I can't believe all that was in this small area, we spent 4 hours there. It is very well-marked, with signs on the history and uses of plants all over. The gift shop was also excellent. This is a must for a gardener.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome at reception and a good free handout with detailed history of the gardens but that was as good as it got for our visit. The café was our first stop. The portions of salad were meagre and £3.50 each portion - one of my portions was broad beans, garden peas and mint... Hardly £3.50 worth of food! The staff in the café were very slow, not friendly and I felt like I had my invisible coat on. You have to spend a ridiculous £12 before you can use a debit or credit card. They did have tap water in jugs on the side with fresh mint from the garden which was a nice touch for a hot summer's day. The garden itself was smaller than I imagined and therefore one would expect to find labels for every plant bed explaining the contents and medicinal uses. This was not the case and most of the plants we were interested in had no such explanation. Strange really, considering the entrance fee and the money they are making in the café you would think some would be spent on improving interpretation panels in the garden itself?! The gift shop was impressive but I didn't buy anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amman
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A treasure trove of medicinal plants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you like gardens you will love the Chelsea Physic Garden. It is a gem hidden in Chelsea and close to the Thames . Founded by the Society of Apothecaries centuries ago, when the area was a boat ride outside London, the garden is a treasure trove of medicinal plants.
A tour of the garden with highly a informative guide is included in the admission price. I loved the raised pond - made of all sorts of historic bits and pieces - the mature trees, and the amazing collection of plants. The garden is not very large but it is densely planted and there is something of interest at every step. There is a peaceful cafe, which stretches out onto the lawn. Above the cafe there is an exhibition area and when I visited this had a most impressive collection of botanical paintings. They were unbelievably detailed and beautiful. The whole experience was both restful and informative.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chelsea Physic Garden also viewed

 

Been to Chelsea Physic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Physic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.