We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the Cheese shop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leadenhall Market

Leadenhall Market
Gracechurch Street, London EC3V 1LR, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
0207 909 1073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 444 shopping in London
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Specialty Shops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Leadenhall is a thriving Victorian covered retail centre with a wide range of goods on sale. Its cobbled walkways and glass roof make it an attractive place to shop, eat and drink or simply to relax. Famous visitors include John Wayne, Clint Eastwood and Harry Potter.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go to the Cheese shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Because Leadenhall is in the city it has a very different atmosphere to anywhere in the west end - its never very busy in my experience and despite the name 'market' this is the name of the arcade which has shops and cafes - not market stalls! So don't be disappointed when there aren't any stalls - go to one of the numerous street markets in London for that.

We went for a cheese tasting at Leadenhall cheese shop - they are also a very small cafe and wine bar. The owner is very hospitable and an authority on cheese - she has hard to get and unusual cheeses. We did the cheese and wine tasting for £40/couple - on the whole very good value and a very enjoyable 2 hours spent. We will be going back and probably gving the tasting as a present to various people!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Like a set from Oliver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Remarkable little historical market, beautifully preserved wit pubs/cafes & restaurants. Surrounded by modern high-rises, it makes this cute cobbled indoor market look more like a film set than reality. but well worth a visit as it is really charming

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Leadenhall Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I personally love this place but thats cos I love my photography, its a charming place to visit. For me it was the perfect spot to start a charity sponsorsed walk. Maggies Centre started their charity walk at this location....I did a 10 mile starting here on a wet September evening. It was a amazing atmosphere and approx 2000 of us walked from here to Hammersmith. Leadenhall is well worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Although this was an attractive location there was little activity.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited the market on a mid-week day and there was little to see and no atmosphere. Maybe the place livens up at the weekend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very disappointed in what we had seen on tv. When we got to the markets, approx 5pm, everything was shut.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leadenhall Market also viewed

 

Been to Leadenhall Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leadenhall Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Leadenhall Market to your Saves list