We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do but over rated. Location is key.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Changing of the Guard

Changing of the Guard
Buckingham Palace, London, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$139*
and up
Buckingham Palace Tour Including Changing of the...
Ranked #374 of 1,022 Activities in London
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A must see in London, outside Buckingham Palace, but check out the schedule as it only happens daily from May to July, otherwise on alternate days
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must do but over rated. Location is key.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We got to the palace gates at 8.30 and took one great pictures, then went in the Buckingham palace tour. Couldn't finish by 11am so decided to skip the changing of the guard but by the time we got back to the front of the palace we realised we would have had to be there hours early to even be able to see anything. So we started walking back and, surprise as we got to the crossing, the police stopped us and told us to wait as the guard would be passing soon. Sure enough we got a front side view as they went past, no lining up. How lucky can you get. I would never have lined up or waited. Another tick off the bucket list. A must do but really much ado about nothing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    286
    220
    76
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Get there early !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

WE recommend not bothering with the crowds in front of Buckingham Palace. Rather go early and find a spot on the outer roads where the Guards will march from their Barracks. You will see the bands, the parade and not have to be squished by all the tourists. If however you must be at the front of the Palace gates get there at least two hours before hand and wear comfortable shoes as you will be standing for a long while!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Position, Position, Position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What amazed me first up was the number of people that were there to see the Changing of the Guard. I would estimate about 5000 people. The changing of the guard entails 3 different regiments entering the from of the palace. Unless you want to be waiting hours befor hand forget about a spot out from of the palace and instead head to the south end of the palace and cross the road. This is where the first two regiments enter from and you can get a very good view even two or three people deep from the fence. The queen Victoria Memorial on the middle of the round about was absolutely overflowing with people. Those climbing on the Lions to get a better view were ordered down by police so be careful where you try and what from. Glad I saw it, but wouldn't go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Skip the gate and watch the parade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you don't want to spend alot of time waiting at the gate, watch the parade and the changing of the guard at Wellington Barricks. We got to the corner of the Mall and the road that leads to St. James Palace at around 11:00. We had a front row seat along the curb. (Sit on the side of the mall closest to St. James park). By 11:10 the band comes marching down the mall. The band is only a few feet away from you. Follow the band down the mall and cut through St. James park right before Buckingham Palace. (follow the crowds). This will take you to Wellington Barricks where you can see one set of guards go through their ceremony before they head off to Buckingham Palace. There were crowds here, but nothing like at Buckinghman Palace. We were able to get a close-up view with only investing 30 minutes of our time. I have read you need to get to Buckingham Palace by 10:00 to get a good view.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weems, VA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Glad I went but not much ability to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I guess everyone who visits London should do this one time. Even though we were 40 minutes before the changing of the guard we could see little as people were already two deep at the fences. Folks climbed up on the way and hoisted kids on their shoulders allowing only glimpses of the changing. However, it was worth it be a part of the event and see what you could. If I had known what to expect, there is a monument in front of the gates and if you sat on that you would be further away but have a good view. However, you'd probably have to get there a couple hours ahead of time. So go early to get a good spot to view or expect only limited sightings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changing of the Guard also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Changing of the Guard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changing of the Guard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.