We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bushy Park

Bushy Park
Hampton Court Road | Hampton Hill, London TW12, England
020 8979 1586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I absolutely love Bushy Park, it is such a beautiful place to visit, an oasis of peace and tranquility with the beautiful deer wandering free around the park. We were soen fortunate to spot a white deer nestling in the grass.

In the middle of the park is the Pheasantry Cafe, which offers meals, snacks, icecream and delicious cakes, a very pleasant cafe to sit outside and relax. Parking is available too as well as toilets and a little centre that has various leaflets. Next to the Pheasantry Cafe are the Woodland Gardens which are very pretty with formal displays and we saw parakeets and a swan on the little river that runs through it. The Woodland Gardens are a lovely stroll, not taxing at all and when we were there the Rhododendrons were simply stunning with their beautiful colours

There is also another car parking area with a refreshment trailer by a little stream by the lake and it is one of my favourite places as one can sit in the car and see all the different sorts of ducks including Mandarins and when we were there we also watched parakeets flying in and out of a tree stump, 2 swans and their delightful cygnets who caused great amusement when they decided to take a ride on their Mums back and a moorhen who was very busy building her nest, fascinating to watch.

The only downside to our visit was that we noticed several adults approach the deer at extremely close range, not a wise thing to do and I also saw two children chasing the deer causing them to panic and run amok. Fellow vistors expressed their disgust and quite rightly so

As mentioned earlier I love Bushy Park and I look forward to our visits when we are in the area

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    28
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lots of different areas to see in one park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just beautiful.

In the main expanse of the park there are deer roaming freely, many ponds, and loads of paths for people to walk, scoot, run and cycle freely and safely for miles.

There's a large playground near the Hampton Court end - we haven't visited this since it was done up last year sometime but need to! You can park in a free car park a short walk away, that has a little coffee/snack kiosk.

Also the amazing Woodland Gardens (you go to a car park nearer the Teddington end for this). These are two huge and rambling fenced-in ornamental, landscaped gardens, which are completely different in character to the rest of the park. They are great at any time of year but particularly stunning when all the rhododendrons are in bloom.

Many families seem to stay only near the cafe in the Pheasantry Plantation, which is the one by the car park, but you can explore more and equally beautiful parts of these gardens by carrying on through the Pheasantry till the end gate, then crossing over a track and into the next garden, which is the Waterhouse Plantation. This too is full of many little streams, waterfalls, bridges and little paths.

For adults both gardens are a beautiful place for a walk, picnic and to watch the wildlife, and children love the wildlife, huge bushes in which to be in 'dens', and all the little enticing pathways leading here there and everywhere. There are also lots of huge logs throughout the gardens, which are fallen trees, or those which have been cut down, and they are designed to be appealing to children to climb around on. Watch out for the crocodile ones - and one like a horse (well we think so)!

Another area near the Hampton Hill end is the Upper Lodge Water Gardens, which I've only been to once about two years ago when they were first opened after being restored, but I must go again. Yet another area of completely different character to the rest of the park.

You would need several visits to see every area of the park. Thankfully it is near us and free! We love it!

It is good on many levels. Years ago as a student nearby I enjoyed the odd solitary walk in it (a good place to cure a hangover!), then my husband and I enjoyed many a leisurely stroll together before the children came along, and now we visit with our two primary school age children. As they grow older I like to think they will still enjoy coming, whether it's for the wildlife or some cycling with friends - it is really a place for everyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Roberto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Its a great place to walk and frelrrlaxed. Thr ambient is so quie and peacefull and the walks ate just a joy. I always try to get time to gl there when i can highliy recommend it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you like deers, if you have kids who love activities or looking for a nice playground, Bushy Park, connected to Rchmond Park, with easy car park, is deal for family walks. Not only for family acually, opposite to Hampton Court Palace, you can combined both visits.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a place to chill and enjoy your day, it is so peaceful , the wildlife is also fantastic and the views are superbe

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushy Park also viewed

 

Been to Bushy Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bushy Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bushy Park to your Saves list