We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houses of Parliament

Houses of Parliament
Westminster, London SW1A 0AA, England (Westminster)
+44 20 7219 4114
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Houses of Parliament like an insider
Special Offer
$40*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on...
Ranked #6 of 2,327 things to do in London
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Most of this iconic building was built in the mid-19th century following a devastating fire in 1834. Westminster Hall survived the fire and dates from 1097. Visitors can book tours through the House of Commons and the House of Lords, and are welcome to watch debates and committees when the Houses are sitting.
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

on of the most interesting sights in london,famous trials were held here. on of the finest hammer beam roofs in the nation,helpfull staff and great history,free to visit in the palace of westminster

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,735
    1,665
    242
    31
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Visited the dock last week was soo exciting hearing these people discuss the country's future. great for an experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Everyone should visit Parliament”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were escorted on our visit by our MP's assistant. She was very charming, interesting and amusing. She took us on the Queen's route when she opens parliament and through to the Lords and the commons, explaining the rules as we went. PMQ's will never be the same again. We saw one or two famous faces but just to be in such an historic place was amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birth place of modern democracy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

London is a city full of wonder and history. And the Houses of Parliament is definitely a place to visit when you are in town! It is the birth-place of modern democracy, and a witness of how history is shaped by the intelligence of human.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I pass them I still marvel at the beautiful architecture and grandness. A true part if London that everyone should see x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houses of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Houses of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houses of Parliament, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.