We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Royal Naval College

Old Royal Naval College
King William Walk, London SE10 9NN, England (Greenwich)
+44 (0) 20 8269 4799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Architectural Buildings, Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old Royal Naval College (ORNC) is Sir Christopher Wren's twin-domed riverside masterpiece and one of London's most popular attractions. The iconic buildings stand on the site of Greenwich Palace, Henry VIII's favourite royal residence, and were originally designed as a refuge for old and injured sailors. The buildings and grounds are open daily and include the Painted Hall, Chapel and Discover Greenwich Visitor Centre. Admission is free.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding - well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We made our pilgrimage to the Old Royal Naval College as part of Les Misérables was filmed here and we felt we had to see it. It was well worth the effort, not only for the outstanding college which was free (very helpful staff as well - met a lovely chap named Ray who gave us a lot of pointers) to visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    57
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Free to visit and well worth, there is a wonderful sense of history to see. Lord Nelson was laid in State here before being burried in St Pauls

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“History to be stared at.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was brought up in Lewisham, so Greenwich was exciting to me as a young boy. Last May I was able to take 5 of us, (3 generations of my own family) to show them All of the joys of Greenwich. As I had expected EVERYONE Was completely enthralled by the majesty and splendour of Naval College. My daughter and her husband did not even know of its existence. And were thoroughly surprised, and delighted, to see such splendour in a 'borough of London', that they always assumed was Just another London Borough. How wrong they were..!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stumbled over this place whilst walking through Greenwich on a weekend trip to London. Absolutely beautiful, and completely free to enter. I strongly recommend it. The chapel on the opposite side of the courtyard is even more impressive to my mind; definitely worth taking time out from the more well-known attractions to spend a few quiet minutes enjoying these!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well worth the visit. Look up when you enter to gaze at the ceiling as you walk in. So many people just bypassed the beauty. Walk outside across passage way to the Chapel. Not the most stunning chapel from arcitectual stand point but nice

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Royal Naval College also viewed

 

Been to Old Royal Naval College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Royal Naval College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.