We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halloween boat trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of London Canal Museum

London Canal Museum
12-13 New Wharf Road | Kings Cross, London N1 9RT, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)
44-20-7713-0836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #462 of 2,327 things to do in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A waterside museum of London's canals and the Victorian ice trade, set in a former ice warehouse of the 1860s. It tells the colourful story of the canals, their people, horses and trade. Peer down into a huge ice well, uniquely preserved, and learn about the ice trade. Go inside a narrowboat cabin, meet the horse, and watch archive film. Free MP3 audio tour for download from the museum website for your own player.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Halloween boat trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Shockingly bad - a barge decorated with a white sheet in side covering the widows ,so you could not see out , a small viewing platform for no more that six children to sit, ,CD player that would not work a guide who knew nothing just stood in the door in the way so no one in side could see out side. A waste of money no thought put into it , DO NOT DO THIS - go to NADOS .

The museum was ok , but dark as Halloween and could not see anything, storey teller ok, kids 9,10, 12 , said it was boring and rubbish ( go on the Necro Ghost bus ).The staff were friendly and helpful the old footage of the canals on show was good..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinLCM, General Manager at London Canal Museum, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enoy this event. The great majority do enjoy it and people come back again. It is so popular that we turn people away because we cannot offer more capacity. However, it looks as if some things could have been better for you and I am sorry for that. The boating part of the event is not run by the museum at all. This is a partnership with CCNA, the charity that runs the community boat Tarporley, and they run the boating part of the event, we run the booking system, the sales and everything inside the museum. It is a joint event, though, so we will discuss your experience with our partners. It was unfortunate that the music system went wrong and perhaps we might do more to brief the guides. The aim inside the museum is to create an appropriate atmosphere so in the evening the museum is darkened and you cannot see all the exhibitions as you would in the daytime. If we left all the lights on, it would not create the fun atmosphere for families that we are aiming for. I think there was a bit of bad luck here, the feedback from most people coming to this annual event is very positive and I'm sorry yours was not such a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    9
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here as it had been on our list of to do's for quite a long time as we are interested in the industrial heritage of Britain and the canals in particular.
It is easy to find just round the back of King's Cross, and is very reasonably priced for central London. As precious reviewers have said, it is not a large, but is very well laid out and informative not only about the canals but also the ice trade. The volunteer staff were friendly and helpful and we loved the old footage of the canals on show upstairs.
Really worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great little piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited here to view an art installation in the ice well beneath the building. The museum is run by friendly volunteers and tells the story of the canals of the UK and London in particular, as well as the history of the building itself. You can view an ice well from the ground floor - facinating. Small fee to enter is well worth it. Short walk from St Pancras and Kings Cross stations

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“lovely little museum in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wanted something to do in London and discovered this when looking to walk from St Pancras to Camden. THe museum is a fascinating insight in the social history of both the canals and also Ice Cream!
A small museum but well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a private event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We hired the venue for our 30th wedding anniversary celebration recently (60 guests) as we wanted something a bit more interesting. We wanted structured but informal, pleased to say that the event went very well with guests being delighted at being invited to a museum. Some guests came from abroad, many travelled from outside London, they found the exhibits interesting and it made a useful talking point for getting to know each other. With its ideal central location, most people stayed on in London. Martin Sach, the Manager, and his staff were supportive, helpful and efficient. A real find and a friendly welcome.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinLCM, General Manager at London Canal Museum, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Canal Museum also viewed

 

Been to London Canal Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Canal Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.