We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting and the free tour was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freemasons' Hall

Freemasons' Hall
60 Great Queen St. | Covent Garden, London WC2 5AZ, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
44-20-7831-9811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Really interesting and the free tour was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Freemason's hall was well worth our time. We took the free tour which took about an hour, it was really good and interesting since i did not know much about freemasonry earlier. The guide spoke at a good pace and was really nice. The building itself is really well kept and very nice, almost like an old castle. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    23
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great free tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you are or even if you are not a Freemason, the Freemason's Hall tour is well worth the time. It doesn't take that long, about an hour, but it is a good high level look into the history of freemasonry and the Grand Lodge itself. The inside of the building is amazing with so many parts of it having a special purpose. It was just mesmerising walking through it's corridors and taking in the history as told by our guide. He was great too, speaking at a good pace and happy for questions at any point.

The tour was certainly well worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit regardless of what you think about Freemasonry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I was recommend a free tour of Freemasons hall even if you are not a Freemason or perhaps are even against the organisation. Go take a look it may change your mind or at least dispel some myths and prejudices. The tours are free and leave on the hour from the Library and museum, you could spend the previous hour in here easily. The guide was excellent speaking openly to everyone regardless of their reasons for visiting. It is such an impressive building more so inside perhaps than out. The guide will give you so much information perhaps stuff you thought was secret is openly talked about the stained glass, marble and exotic hardwoods that go to make up the building are a sight to behold. I could say so much more but please go it is the best free attraction in London. The staff through tout the building are amazingly helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A little proud, but just a little. That's my impression of the guide at the Freemason's Hall. I am not going to say much to spoil anyone's interest, but this is a must if you are an incurable addict of modern British history. It may provide you with a different light. Very inspirational!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a delight to see this open and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were greatly impressed that they could look after us and we returned to the museum - fascinating place, helpful staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freemasons' Hall also viewed

 

Been to Freemasons' Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freemasons' Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.