We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand and interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chiswick House

Chiswick House
Burlington Ln. | Chiswick, London W4 2RP, England
44-20-8995-0508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #411 of 2,331 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“grand and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The House itself is beautiful and not too large. You'll probably get most out of it with an audio guide or guided tour as there are numerous points of interest that you might just walk past and miss. Worth visiting on a nice day as the grounds are spectacular with great walks in the gardens and around the lake. There's a very competent cafe with excellent and rapid service that offers everything from snacks to full roast lunches, though it can be noisy and child orientated. Nice little kiddies playground too. Beware-the official car park accessed from the M4 is small and crowded, sometimes a left turn after the car park into the residential streets surrounding is the only way to find a parking place.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Interesting park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not a bad place for a walk around in the sun.
Sadly while we where there the flower beds where being replanted.
Still some nice nature.
The house cost more then i was willing to pay.
I feel I've seen inside enough old english houses so i guess I'm not the best judge.
Still was a nice way to spend a sunny day.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Lord Burlington's Fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

A guided tour is recommended to understand the acute attention to detail that Lord Burlington gave to his creation, Chiswick House and its gardens which housed his collections from three Grand Tours. Be sure to check the opening times on the website only.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“One of the finest parks in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I am biased. I was brought up in Chiswick and this was my local park although both house and grounds were very shabby before they were saved by a local group of enthusiasts and a lot of money from a variety of sources including the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Chiswick House and grounds are a gem and are easily accessible from central London by car or by train to Chiswick Station. It is 25 minutes away from Waterloo and 30 minutes from Victoria with a change at Clapham Junction. It is less than 10 minutes walk from the station to Chiswick House grounds.
Chiswick House is a good example of neo-Palladian design. The third Earl of Burlington built the house in 1729 with help from the renowned architect, William Kent, as a tribute to the Italian architect Palladio.
It was not intended as a home but as a place to get away to and to have parties. It was also home to the Earl’s art collections.
The gardens at Chiswick are one of the birthplaces of the English Landscape Movement and have inspired countless gardens around the world. The Royal Horticultural Society was based in the grounds in the nineteenth centruy
The 90 metre long Grade I listed Camellia House was built for the 6th Duke of Devonshire, a dedicated plant collector, in 1813. It houses his personal collection of camellias, bought from plant hunters on their return from China and now regarded as one of the oldest and most important in the world.
The collection includes one of the world's rarest camellias, Camellia japonica 'Middlemist's Red' – one of just two known specimens and descended from the only one to arrive in the UK, collected from China in 1804 by plant hunter John Middlemist..
The Gardens are open every day from 7am until dusk, all year round and there is no charge. They are a lovely place to roam in all seasons.
The Conservatory is open from Mid-March - mid-October 10am-4pm with free entry but there is a charge when the plants are in bloom in February/March.

Further details about the house and grounds can be found on the Chiswick House web site

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiswick House also viewed

 

Been to Chiswick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiswick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.