We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kolam Restaurant

Kolam Restaurant
60 Upper Tooting Rd | Tooting, London SW17 7PB, England
+44 20 8672 8553
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: 'Kolam' is a rice flour decoration laid outside homes in Tamil Nadu, South India and has a specific purpose! - 'To welcome'...And we welcome our customers to share the taste experience of the chef's authentic Tanjore cuisine. Since being established in 1982, we at Kolam have been ambitious by bringing authentic and delicious South Indian cuisine to London. We pride ourselves on the fact that each dish served by us is prepared with the same spices and ingredients used in the kitchens of Tamil Nadu. The restaurant specialises in creating tantalising regional South Indian food, especially curry dishes from the Tanjore district of Tamil Nadu- a region prominent for its rich culture, history and cuisine. Our menu includes a selection of fiery curries to mild and mellow dishes including chicken, meat and seafood dishes. All our dishes are cooked fresh to order to the spiciness entirely your choice. Unlike other cuisines, South Indian food also offers a large variety and choice for vegetarian diners too! The restaurant is ideally located in the heart of Tooting Bec with good parking spaces around the area. The mellow and pleasant dining environment is coupled with a fully licensed bar providing a wide selection of fine wines and drinks to accompany the culinary experience. We also offer catering arrangements for private parties. So drop in to experience the essence of Tanjore and have a chat with our friendly staff as we look forward to the prospect of offering you a fantastic experience.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Big thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

A charming little restaurant that stands out from the crowd . Food delivered with a personal touch and a taste from South India with dishes to savour. A unique experience and first time sampling of Indian food that does not take you breath away but is delicate in its choice of spices and flavours leaving you comfortably full . Excellent

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolam R, Owner at Kolam Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Phillip

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I really happy that you enjoyed your meal with us. I would like to invite you again to visit our restaurant. We will try our very best to give you the best memorable experience.

Kindest Regards,

Kolam Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Curry House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It is a great shame that this restaurant is a little overlooked by the local community because in my book it is the best Indian restaurant in Tooting (and I've tried a few) and it would also give any high end Indian in town a run for its money based on food quality and authenticity. It is also one of the only licensed Indian restaurants in the area. We are fairly new to Tooting Bec but are so happy we stumbled upon this gem of a restaurant which is only around the corner from us. The owners/staff are lovely people and I hope the recent refurb works out for them in the long run, they deserve a busier place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolam R, Owner at Kolam Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear PapabendiClaret

Thank you for your valuable time and review. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Please let us know about your next visit and we will try our best to delight you like before.

Regards,

Kolam Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big Thank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Celebrated our mother's 90th birthday here with sixteen family members, and a great night was had by all. The quality of the food was superb and nothing was too much trouble for this friendly, family run establishment. We live in North Yorkshire, so not exactly around the corner, but as all the family live in the south London area and we visit often, it won't be too long before we'll return to try out more of the delicious options on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolam R, Owner at Kolam Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Trudy

Thank you for your recent review.. It was our great pleasure to serve you. We are highly delighted to see your review. We really appreciate your time and effort. We really hope your mother had a wonderful birthday at Kolam and it was a pleasure to meet her and the whole family.

Looking forward for your next visit and please let us know when would you like to dine with us.

Kindest Regards,

Kolam Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb South Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We've been coming here for a couple of years now and the food and service is excellent. This is some of the best Indian food I've tasted and is worth seeking out this little Tooting gem. Service is attentive and the owners always make you feel welcome. We're moving from the area soon, but will make an effort to come back here to get our aubergine curry hit!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolam R, Owner at Kolam Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Gjgranters,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really happy to read such a lovely review from you. It was our pleasure to look after you and your guests. I would like to thank you personally for choosing our restaurant as a dining option.

Wish you the best of luck with the move and we look forward to serving you our signature aubergine curry soon.

Best wishes

Kolam Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exceptional, authentic South Indian family run gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We live locally and come back to Kolam again and again. The food is exceptionally good- freshly cooked and delicious. The family are so friendly and rightly proud of the quality cuisine they serve. Not the flashiest of restaurants, but food, value and hospitality make it our absolute favourite.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolam R, Owner at Kolam Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear BetinaLondon,

Thank you so much for your amazing review in Trip advisor. We are really happy to read such a great review from you. It was our pleasure to look after you and your guests. I would like to thank you personally for choosing our restaurant as a dining option.

We have such a passion to deliver excellent food and service and we always try to exceed the customer expectations. We look forward to keep welcoming you and your guests back.

Kindest Regards,

Kolam Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolam Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kolam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kolam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.