We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not SO bad, but I won't come back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YHA London Thameside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added YHA London Thameside to your Saves list
YHA London Thameside
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Turin, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not SO bad, but I won't come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this YHA hostel just for 1 night and a half (we left early in the morning), and I'm quite glad it wasn't longer.

The location is nice and, as someone already pointed out, the canal is beautiful, but to get there from the previous hostel in Earl's Court we had to travel a bit.

The staff was ok, except the first receptionist who was quite rude, in fact - but that depends on the individual, I guess.

We arrived a bit earlier and our room wasn't ready, so we had to put our luggage in the lockers; no problem with that, except for the fact that we had to pay for it twice (tot 4£) as we wanted to take something from one of the bags and had to put coins again in order for the locker to close (the sign said that for 2£ you could leave stuff there for 24h).

When we arrived to our room, we were very disappointed: it was very small, the beds looked like small, white coffins and the carpet was stained... I can't say for sure that it was dirty, but surely looked like that. On a more positive note, we had a TV set (which we didn't use, as we didn't spend much time at the hostel), a boiler with cups, sugar and tea and a private bathroom with the shower.

Still, the bathroom was quite problematic: when we checked in, we were informed that, due to the setting of the fire alarm, we had to keep the door shut while showering or using sprays for not taking these precautions would have caused the fire alarm to start and the evacuation of the building. OK, no problem with showering with the door shut... but when I came out of the shower and had to dry my hair I discovered that the only socket available was near the door, under a fire detector...

Overall, this is not a horrible place to stay - I've seen worse - but, at the same time, for the same price you can have much better!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    55
    25
    19
See reviews for
19
17
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Admittedly I have never stayed in a youth hostel before, but this place is a filthy rathole with little to redeem it. The food so far has been frankly awful and the smell from the drains after you have used the sink is repulsive. I am dreading the shower and wishing I had brought flip-flops.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I love this youth hostel, the location is ideal. Nearby there's a gorgeous canal with great wildlife, Canada Water station which is on the Jubilee line, Rotherithe station on the Overground and a great shopping centre including a big Tesco for all your food and drink for your stay.

I was disappointed that breakfast was no longer included as this meant we had to pay extra when we arrived. Added to this was the non-YHA member supplement which I thought had been included already as I'd said on the phone we weren't members. After the first added-expenses it was a good stay, the breakfast is worth paying for and the rooms are clean and practical :)

Will definitely be back, I love this area.

Room Tip: Clean and practical. If getting a twin room, ask for one with a kettle and TV :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near saltburn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

As with most previous reviews, the building location requires journeying into the centre of london on tube otherwise an hour and a half walk. The building is smart and modern with facilities you would not get in Premier Inns etc but is let down badly by the deteriorating state of the rooms.
The room stayed in (good for 3 people) was very basic, too hot at night as no fan to turn on, and window opens only a fraction. The kettle was defunct and on a tacky old plastic tray. The room was cramped due to the bunk bed (for 2 ) being turned into a double bed on the bottom, single on top so taking up space. Generally tacky decor and rattling door during the night too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Staff were friendly and helpful. Full, delicious breakfast included. Nice lounge area and kitchen facilities.
Rooms were a little dirty but there was a place to lock your stuff and full private bathrooms in each room.
Biggest problem is its really far away from all the sites and you end up spending a lot on underground and in travel time.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The staff were universally friendly and helpful, which gave the hostel a great atmosphere. Our twin room and bathroom were very small. We had a broken shower when we arrived, but this was promptly fixed when we mentioned it. There is a nice bar area with comfy couches. The kitchen was basic but adequate. The location is not as central as the other YHAs in London, but you can walk to the station. We would recommend this hostel due to its staff and low price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

YHA Thameside, London -
I'm 16 and travelled here with 13 other students from my school who are taking a history GCSE, so when we heard it was a hostel we didnt think too highly, just right. Upon arrival the reception area was relatively homey with settees, a modern bar selling alcohol or soft drinks, a un desirable schoolish dining room and lockers - nothing shocking. When we arrived at 12.05 dinner time, the rooms werent open so we were made to place our baggages in a wooden hut inside a metal cage, damp, riddled with insects no doubt but it was very wet and smelly!! The staff on reception were friendly and quite helpful however swore infront of the whole group, at our age this wasnt a problem but the fact she used bad language infront of a school group was rather rude and some may take offence to her comment.

Me and three friends were put up in room 303, as we opened the door a over - powering smell of damp hit us and when we went over to the beds, it was obvious the room was in appalling condition as the curtains were uneven, ill fitting and covered in stains looking like they had never been washed!! The light switches were hanging out of the walls which was very unsafe, the beds were dirty and also the paint work was a disgrace. Then after complaining we were moved next door to 302 which i will say was better, still not great but better and liveable, however i wouldnt like to stay here alone.

The beds were comfortable once you got over the original shock of them appearing to be white, MDF, intertwining coffins! You could actually get a good night sleep aslong as you didnt think of your surroundings, the view from our room was nice; Canary Warf so that was a nice upside to the situation. As its on a main road however the noise was quite loud during the night and early morning as the bus stop is directly opposite the hostel. The shower was okay, cramped and chipped paint but hot enough and did the job however i did shower in flip flops.

The breakfast was not very nice at all. The bacon was fatty and burnt on the edges, i didnt choose the porridge as it resembled gruel, the bread i had for toast was stale and hard as rocks but the raspberry jam was nice :D The egg, my teacher commented, was not nice at all and my friend mentioned the sausage wasnt too desirable either. The downstairs area however was quite nice and relaxing to sit in and play in the mini arcade with table football, a fishing arcade game, two driving booths and a bar.

The lifts were out of order meaning we were forced to physically drag our cases to one level before top floor which was time consuming, tiring and bloody hard work! Alongside this however the corridors were clean and the general appearence was fine, only the rooms i'd consider to be a let down.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA London Thameside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Thameside

Address: 20 Salter Rd, London SE16 5PR, England (Formerly Rotherhithe Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA London Thameside 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA London Thameside. Popular with School Groups from around the world as well as Individuals and families.All 70 rooms Ensuite .Easy to get to using Public Transport. Bus 380 and C10 outside of Hostel. Easy walk to either Canada Water undeground or Rotherhithe Overground. Great Breakfast, Snacks and evening meals available. Free WiFi with England & Wales Membership. Discounts on attractions and theatre shows. Really simple connections to Londons city centre and top attractions or just chill by the river Thames in SE16. Make Thameside part of your London memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA London Thameside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London Thameside Hotel London
YHA London Thameside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA London Thameside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.