We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Great, Hotel Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale to your Saves list
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #486 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Staff Great, Hotel Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights at this property prior to departing on a Baltic Cruise. The property was good, up to usual Marriott Standards. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We were able to check in early which allowed us to take a nap after the overnight flight from the US. When we went to explore the neighborhood, the staff provided us with maps and suggestions. There is a tube stop 2 blocks up and 1 block over that is convenient. Try the Queens Arms pub (not in Trip Ad visor for some reason) just across the street. They offer traditional pub grub as well as some amazing Mediterranean dishes. We tried one of the samplers and it was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    336
    135
    61
    28
See reviews for
221
181
44
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

So my stay at the Marriott Hotel, Maida Vale was unimpressive but will be sadly memorable only for the hotel staff taking monies without authorisation nearly £400.

You could/should expect a phone call right ? To a mobile ? No to my room, guess what I wasn't in !

The manager Jaewon Tells me that it is corporate policy to charge
Full stay to debit cards on the 1st night, I was charged only one night, after the second night a letter appeared under my door to visit reception at my convenience apparently as there are uncovered charges to my room ie 1 night and dinner. My convenience turned into the following day, and before I returned to the hotel I was charged the £400 without authorisation, not satisfactory. Mistakes happen i grant that, and the girl who charged me the first night, authorised my payment nothing wrong with that, but to take money without authority, I know what I call that....

Letter will be on its way to Marriott, if you get the choice I would stay regents park Marriott or not at all.

For such a big brand -ve score for customer service you have failed, and I will not likely try you again.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear acereview,

We were very sorry to read your review and see that you left the hotel unsatisfied with your experience. We strive to resolve issues as soon as they occur so the guest is not inconvenienced in any way, but I can see that this did not happen for you.

When you checked in, our front office staff should have informed you that an authorisation is taken on your debit card upon check in, as is company policy. Often, guests choose to authorise a credit card instead as it doesn't hold funds in the same way. We apologise for the inconvenience this caused you, and can see that you may not choose to stay with us again.

Should you travel back to London, we would love for you to stay with us again so we can give you a better experience. If you decide to travel to Marriott Regent's Park instead, please do get in touch and let us know, so we can ensure your stay there goes without any hiccups.

Thank you once again for taking the time write your review and should you return to London we would love the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Everything about this hotel is definitely acceptable -- no frills, really, but a nice, clean, comfortable place to stay. The room was spacious, AC worked very well and staff was friendly. Wifi is accessible in rooms but not free -- free wifi access is available in the lobby or at the Starbucks just up the street.

The location is a good 40 minutes to the city center but since it's further out the trains were rarely crowded. There wasn't much of interest in the immediate vicinity but there was a Starbucks (wifi!) and a Tesco with a good selection of snacks and drinks. The breakfast was included with our meal and was serviceable, traditional stuff (bacon, scrambled eggs, toast, cereal) though if it's not included I'd recommend looking elsewhere. All in all, if you don't NEED to be within 2 minutes of all the touristy stuff, I definitely recommend this hotel -- especially if you want something nice and quiet.

One point of interest was the pool/health facility which is shared with the residential apartments next door. You have to follow a labyrinth of doors and passages and you end up in the hallways of people's apartments. The pool, then, is pretty tiny and when I went it was too crowded to enter. Normally, I wouldn't even use a pool so I won't knock the score down because of it but it definitely was a strange situation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Cinezealot,

Thank you so much for taking your time to review the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

We at the hotel are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the location. Unfortunately it sounds like you tried the leisure facilities at peak time, which of course cannot always be avoided. However, should you choose to visit us again, we will be delighted to recommend a better time for you to visit, and one that suits you.

Thank you once again for taking the time write your review and should you return to London we would love the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booked this hotel via priceline and got a good deal. Asked for a non-smoking, king-sized room and the request was granted. The room was large for a European hotel room (standard Marriott size in the U.S.), clean, had A/C, a small fridge, and a safe. It was a little weird that the hairdryer was bolted inside of the desk drawer, but it worked. The hotel is not really centrally located, but is a 5-minute walk to both the Kilburn Park underground and Kilburn High Road overground, which we used when we were fed up with walking.

The only gripe was the outrageous price of the wifi (they wanted 20 GBP / day!) but we just used the free wifi in the lobby if needed. Starbucks and other coffee shops, as well as a Tesco are located on the same street nearby which was also convenient.

There is a fitness club (I think even with a pool) but I never visited it. Also cannot speak to the food or bar since we never ate there.

The staff was friendly and helpful when I ended up needing to go to the hospital during my stay. Overall I'd recommend the hotel because of the price I paid, but next time might want to try staying closer to the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear twixy,

Thank you so much for your review. We at the hotel are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and are happy that you used the free wifi available in our lobby.

Although you may wish to stay in a more centrally located hotel upon your next visit, we would greatly appreciate if you would consider staying with us again. We do love seeing our guests come back to the hotel.

Thank you again for your review, and kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott for one night and found it a pleasant stay. The breakfast was good although the self service area was convenient but the meat was a bit dry. The attached gym was a trek to get to through the hotel and the lift on the way (although owned by the hotel) absolutely stank, we didn't really find it worth the bother. Nice location & wasn't really disturbed by outside noise

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Going to keep this brief because this hotel was BORING.

Location: Okay, close to the kilburn station but not centrally located as such.
Rooms: A rabbit hutch would be bigger, the rooms were quite small considering the prices they charge.
Food: Boring, no effort made to have a decent menu in the restaurant downstairs.
Staff: Polite but gave you the impression that they wouldn't care if you were around or not.

Bottom line: Spend your money elsewhere and stay closer to the hotspots like Canary wharf or the major tourist spots this hotel is designed for business travelers and those who don't know London well.

Enjoy London, its a fun city !

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear movin_around,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.

We are sorry to learn that you did not find the WOW factor you were looking for during your recent stay with us, we do endeavour to make all of our guests stays as enjoyable as possible however we do apologize that our efforts were not up to your expectations on this occasion. Please be aware that the points you have made will be raised in future feedback meetings.

Thank you once again for taking the time write your review and should you return to London we would love the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards from all the team here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Located in Zone 2, but only 5 minute walk to Kilburn Park tube for Bakerloo line and a quick ride into Central London. The front hotel staff was beyond helpful and moved one of our rooms to be closer to the rest after one day. The house keeping staff was exceptional also. Good food in Bar Hemia and room service. Excellent price per night when booked on Priceline. Very happy with Marriott Maida Vale!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Maida, Manager at London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Lindsay M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale and for the high ratings you have awarded us.

We are delighted to hear that you found our associates to be 'beyond helpful' – a description they will be proud to learn of. We are also thrilled to hear that you were able to take the time to relax and enjoy the food in Bar Hemia, we hope you enjoyed the ever-changing mood lighting.

Thank you once agan for such an excellent review and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale

Address: Plaza Parade | Maida Vale, London NW6 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#293 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel part of a new complex, situated in prestigious Maida Vale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Marriott Hotel Maida Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.