We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location. coolest staff. good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Museum Hostel

Save Saved
You added Astor Museum Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 607 Specialty lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location. coolest staff. good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

i would always suggest this place to everyone going to london.
the location is just the best you can get (5 mins walking from holborn tube station. 15 minutes to covent garden/piccadilly circus) but still on a quiet nice street just across the british museum so far from the traffic and noise of the big london's streets yet close to everything you need such as supermarkets pub and everything that london has to offer.
really good prices and services considering it being an hostel. free breakfast and free access to (fully equipped) kitchen facilities. toilets and bathrooms are pretty clean and rooms are acceptable.
big lockers for each bed (you can easily fit a suitcase in each of them!)

the staff is the best part of the deal!! everyone is so friendly and helpfull..they really make your stay!!

just one thing that i recon needs to be fixed: they charge you for the wi fi..but considering all the rest the overall experience is definitely worth every penny!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    38
    12
    22
See reviews for
1
17
66
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've stayed here every year when in London. Literally next door to the British Museum, less than 10 minutes walk from Tottenham Court Station, Holborn Station, and Great Russell Square Station and thus just a little further for Covent Garden and Oxford Circus. They've renovated since last year, the WIFI is free (finally!) and works even on the fourth floor (most of the time). The common room and kitchen is much less cluttered than before. Room 2 (6 beds) on the first floor can be pretty noisy as the window opens up to the courtyard. Room 45 (4 beds) can get a bit too stuffy and you pretty much have to leave the window open to keep the air flowing, one of the beds has a really squeaky locker. It's an older building so there aren't always enough power plugs for everyone's devices in a convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We Stayed at this hostel for one night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in room number 22 a 12 person dormitory. The rooms consist of bunk beds, a sink and ample storage for bags under the bed. Remember to take a padlock as the hostel wants a deposit to use one of theirs. The bathrooms were very basic and the shower didnt get to warm, also take your own soap as none is provided.

Overall the hostel is very basic but suited our needs for having a night out in London.

Room Tip: Take soap and a padlock
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

was a decent price..expected to be in an 8 bed room together as there was 8 in our party however we got there to be told we had to split our party into different rooms which was disappointing as we had booked about 2 weeks in advance and planned to go on a night out therefore we disturbed the other people in the room when we got back at about 3am...apart from that the hostel was fine and close to everything we needed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff were brilliant. Couldn't find a fault if I tried. They were friendly, helpful and went beyond to make sure I was enjoying the stay.

Was in a 12 person dorm with very noisy roommates but that is a downside to a hostel, I suppose. Rooms are very basic with under bed storage.
The bathrooms were a bit messy and water pressure was poor. The rooms need a bit of updating.
Mostly however the price, staff, and location outweigh the downsides to this hostel.

Room Tip: Ask for a small dorm is possible. As with any hostel larger dorms get noisy and messy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you're thinking to walk around london, and be in a strategic place, well, I think there's no better option. I've been there, and then my friends did and we all agree it's a great place, for a very good price, and you're blocks away from the Soho, the Tate, and just in front of the british museum. Absolutely recommendable to go by your own or with friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the second hostel I stayed at in London during my recent trip. I was wholly satisfied with the accommodations and treatment I received for a relatively cheap price. It is operated professionally without being uptight which promoted a very amiable culture between staff and lodgers. It is in a great location, right next to the British Museum, in walking distance to Holborn station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 607 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London
Astor Museum Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Museum Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.