We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall ok but I don't think we're coming back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astor Museum Hostel

Save Saved
You added Astor Museum Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 607 Specialty lodging in London
Halmstad, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overall ok but I don't think we're coming back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Me and my friend stayed two nights at this hostel. Overall it was an ok place, the only thing that bothered me was the fact that it didn't seem to be any employed staff. It felt as though it was people living there who were caring for the place aswell, and that feels a bit unsafe for me. I've stayed at two hostels in London and this was the best one; the location (3 min walk to Oxford St), the possibility to lock up ones belongings and the toilets was clean and fresh. You could tell that this was a hostel for young people and me being in my 25s felt almost too old.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    38
    12
    22
See reviews for
1
17
66
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are good hostels and bad ones, and this is definitely one of the latter. Meant exclusively for that class of 17-23 year old on gap year or whatnot more interested in getting drunk, high, and laid than doing anything productive.

Cons:
1) There isn't a single clean surface in the entire hostel.
2) The hostel is run by people who work in exchange for a place to stay and beer money, and only work just hard enough to avoid getting fired.
3) (At least in the lower floor dorm) Mice everywhere as people ignore instructions not to bring food into the dorm. Zero ventilation, and the room is either boiling or freezing, depending on whether you have the window closed or open. Huge amount of road noise, cigarette smoke, pot smoke, and the occasional shards of glass from people throwing bottles. Because the lower dorm is on the same floor as the cafeteria, you are subjected to people playing music at ear-splitting volumes all day and night.
4) Flooring in rooms is neoprene-style foam rubber, which is good for preventing slips, but also retains fungus and bacteria like almost nothing else.
5) Security is nonexistent. Woke up every morning to find yet another random person sleeping on the floor or doubled up in someone's bed with them.
6) (At least in the lower and first floors) Bathrooms smell of mildew consistently. Showers build up garbage over the course of the day - soap wrappers, condom wrappers, tampon wrappers, and sometimes the tampons and condoms themselves.

Room Tip: Go to a different hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Astor's Museum is the perfect place to stay in London if you want to have fun, meet friends or discover London by night! The staff is so nice and always here if you need something. The rooms are clean, bathrooms as well. Between the DVD room and the kitchen, you always have the opportunity to meet people from the whole world. I spent almost 2 months in there and that was my best experience in London!! I recomend it with no doubts!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

So I have to start by saying I was at Te hostel during the Olympics and so it was a crazy time. That being said I was slightly disappointed in a few things
CONS
1. Got bumped from a 4 bedroom to 8 bedroom with only a 1 pound price difference? Doesn't seem right
2. Lots of construction going on at the time including renovation of kitchen
3. ONE plug outlet in the entire room
4. My lock was busted in the dorm and they didn't give me an alternative way to lock my stuff

But... What I liked..PROS
1. Location! Directly across from the British Musuem (and it's free)
2. Located next to cute restaurants like Tea and Tattle
3. Close to metro station Holborn
4. The people in my room- very cool and from all walks of life
5. Free printing

So all being said it was good for the Olympcs where we were gone all day but if you're looking for a hostel with a big hang out area and something more- look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The best thing about this hostel is the location. City center is in a walking distance and the British museum is literally across the street. The hostel is quiet, clean, the staff is very nice and the breakfast is more than you could ask for. The kitchen was at our disposal all day, so we could cook our own food if we wanted to. However, one of the two mornings I was there the water pressure was very low, it was almost impossible to take a shower. Apart from that I everything was as it should be. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were a group of 14 and over in London for a birthday celebration. Given the varying budgets we decided for the Astor Museum Inn. Its location is ideal with a lot of the big London attractions within walking distance and for those that weren't the tube a very short walk away.

Our rooms were on the same floor as the reception but seperated from the corridor by a door and small foyer which our two rooms were off (6 and 10 bed). These rooms were just for us so this was really good. However the 10 dorm room faced onto the street (which could get noisy) and the curtain well less just say didn't quite do the job being too light a fabric and waaaay too small for the window to keep out the morning light. This meant not so great lie ins for the group in that room.

The 6 room had less free floor space that the 10 but with only 4 of us in it it was fine. I would not fancy staying there if it was fully occupied though. It also had proper curtains and window over the courtyard down stairs making it a lot quieter. this is where breakfast was served so people chatting out there were not my favourite but hey that is hostel life and it wasn't too bad...

One think I was worried about the groups being predominately made up of girls is that showering and getting ready to go out could be a nightmare. It was, I am glad to say, not. If you didn't get a free shower you did not have to wait long until there was one.

The place overall was generally clean and fitted the bill for a weekend on the cheap in London.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location is as good as you can get, right next to the British Museum and 5 minutes walk to a tube station. It is also just about 15 minutes walk to SoHo and less than 30 minutes to Picadilly Circus. The amenities are pretty basic, with not enough bathrooms and toilets for the number of beds. The rooms are large and clean though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 607 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Astor Museum Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London
Astor Museum Hostel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astor Museum Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.