We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisiest Hostel in the World, Overrun with Permanent Residents” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient to your Saves list
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso) (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Tokyo
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Noisiest Hostel in the World, Overrun with Permanent Residents”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

First, this hostel was the noisiest hostel I've ever stayed in. It's on a major street next to a hospital (think ambulances all night long in addition to London traffic) and has single paned windows. The breakfast is ok but nothing more (think toast and Nescafe). To get the keys, check out, get breakfast, or do anything, you have to go 2 blocks away to their other hostel. It's down a dodgy alley, so I wouldn't recommend single women to come back at night alone. It was very basic and cheaply done--no extras to make it nice or comfortable. The biggest issue I had was that live-in staff had literally taken over the guest dorms. They took the bottom bunks, spread all their stuff (they live there, so have a lot) everywhere, and used my linens and pillow before I arrived. The one was sick, which was really awkward. They said their had been "something going around the hostel," which is not what you want to hear upon arrival. But this girl looked like death and was seizing. It was handled very poorly--she wasn't taken to A&E but shook my bed all night long, everyone was mostly worried about whether she could work and said she'd been sick for days. She needed the window open, which made a very noisy room impossible to sleep in. It was a scene! And all in the guest dorms! I've never seen workers mixed with guests before and recommend against it.

Room Tip: ask for one not on the street, if they exist. ask for smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    24
    11
    11
See reviews for
8
2
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

A good location, but if you want more than just a place to sleep and leave your things, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Whole street under reconstruction- dusty room- poor air flow and stuffy- bad for your health if you have asthma or any allergy- stuff not helpful as they are not able to do anything about the situation- It is cheap but it is absolutely terrible if you can't breath- beware! Also no lift only stairs plus can be very noisy so if you are not an easy sleeper don't come here- lots of false advertising beware! Main reception area very far away- security poor as no staff in the actual building. Lots of drunk people outside as next to several bars. Definitely not the top 10 women's hostel as it is advertised. Stop patronizing women!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The whole area is under construction at present June/ July 2011- it is marketing as the women's hostel- but the street are full of bars and drunken people at night and whole area is under construction- which is very noisy all the time till very late at nigh. The room that I lived is a 8 bed share all the windows are being blocked and there are dust everywhere and no air flowing through the room- the staff is not able to do anything other than refunding me the money- but I have no place to go in London- if they had told me earlier this is going to happen I wouldn't have come here. One of the window is broken and I have to hold it up with books. They also allow very late check-ins and people arriving at midnight in the morning and wouldn't shut up and go to sleep until 130am- rude Koreans. There is no lift in the hostel and the stairs are very narrow- so don't come here with any big luggage. There is no staff in the Oasis building, there is no common room area and you have to walk 2 minutes down the block to the main reception area to ask for anything. I was told I can keep luggage in the reception area but you actually have to pay for it and the storage locker is very small - like those electronic one you see outside the train stations. When I ask the receptionist she wasn't very helpful and wouldn't explain anything in detail to me and I have to ask her 3 times for her to be bother to explain where things are instead of saying just over there and randomly pointing a direction- she is obviously more interested in serving her male customers. Anyway, definitely not what it is advertised for- if this is the top 10 women's hostel in the world I must say they are patronizing women as we deserve better (this is the main reason why I come to stay in this hostel- as I have stayed in a women's hostel in Christchurch and had such a great time there).

Room Tip: Not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The room was clean, there was no smelly carpet and the bunk beds were sturdy. Otherwise, the St Christopher's Oasis (for women only) was a huge disappointment.

They are supposed to have "extra measures to ensure that the area remains female friendly" and have many "girly" extras. They promise a lot on their web page starting from "scented hallways" but unfortunately most of it is not true!!
For example:
- Security: there were just as many locks there as in other hostels; also I did not feel very secure knowing that there was no staff staying in the building
- No extra storage except a hanging rail
- There were NO bedside lamps in my room as promised!
- No full-length mirror
- I found only one double socket in a room for eight + an extension cord, considering the fact that everyone has a mobile phone and many travel with a laptop there were far too few power points!
- The sheets were pink but the pillows, duvets and mattresses were exactly like at St.Cristopher's Shepherds Bush
- I found only one single hair dryer in the hostel
- The bathrooms are not beautifully decorated, they are not decorated at all, they're in a need for renovation
And also:
- Also there was only one waste basket for eight girls which was not enough
- The guy at the reception was a bit patronizing
- They run out of toilet paper one morning
- It is very inconvenient to walk several blocks for breakfast to the reception
- Lots of dust and noise coming from the street through the window which had to be kept open for ventilation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I think that in this part of London we got what we payed for. Small room, reasonably clean, perfect location five minutes from London Bridge Station and tube (great for arrivals from Gatwick airport, perfect for Tate modern, opposite to Borrough market, walkable distance to St Paul´s or Tower). We stayed just one night and for this it was good, but otherwise the beds were very old and not comfortable at all. Breakfast was very small (tea/ coffee, toasts, butter, jam and some cereals) buth thanks for it. The reception is about half a mile down the Borough High Street (when you walk from the station, you must pass the hostel, go to the reception, check-in and return back to the hostel, quite uncomfortable), there are free rooms for the luggage but they are open to everybody, you can yse the paied lockers instead.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

So many lies in this place. First, the locations or the rooms are all spread out. Its really hard to find the place. Our room was about 2 blocks away from the common area which had internet, food, the staff etc. There was supposed to be internet in the rooms but there wasn't. The part that we were staying in was supposed to be all girls and it wasn't. The pictures look nothing like the actual place. It was cold in London, was sweating hot in the room. We could barely sleep it was so hot. We were supposed to be there 5 days, we could barely last 2.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Address: 59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Hostel in London Bridge is exactly what it sounds like - a protected retreat of tranquility just for girls, right in the heart of London. This entire hostel is female only and it comes with lots of extra little luxuries, including fluffy towels, super soaps and those extra finishing touches that make any break away from home a bit more special. This youth hostel shares a check in, reception and breakfast area with the St Christopher's at the Village hostel on the same street - so there's plenty of opportunities to meet fellow travellers from all walks off life and you get to make the most of the on-site nightclub, cinema, comedy club, bar and restaurant - also at the Village. Add to that the fact that Borough Market and the Tower of London are on your doorstep from this location, and you're guaranteed to have a good time. When you've finished tasting the many free food samples at the belly bulging Borough Market, an amazing walking route along the River Thames is only minutes away. After you pass The London Dungeons and Sir Francis Drake's ship - the Golden Hinde, this path heads west to take in St Paul's Cathedral, the amazing and free Tate Modern Gallery, the OXO Tower, Gabriel's Wharf, the British Film Institute, the Southbank Centre, the London Eye, and the Houses of Parliament! Needless to say, you won't be at a loss for something fun to do! This London Bridge location is also a short train ride away from Greenwich with its famous observatory where time is set, the Maritime Museum, the 02 Arena and the Cutty Sark tea clipper! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher's Oasis At The Orient London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.