We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, good location BUT dirty, smells terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge to your Saves list
St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge
121 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street.), London SE1 1NP, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Haledon, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap, good location BUT dirty, smells terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I (both in our early 20's) went on a Eurotrip which included a stay at St. Christophers INN, London, England in July.

Cons:
We stayed in an 8 person dorm room which was all the way up like... 6 flights of stairs on the top floor. The entire floor smelled like horse poop. I'm not even exaggerating, it smelled like farm animals. The bathrooms are all "community bathrooms" for each floor, and they looked and smelled like they hadn't been cleaned in months. The rooms smelled like beer and sweat and the beds are basically bunk beds with a plastic mat laid on top...not so comfy. (NOTE: if you choose an 8 person dorm, be prepared to have people being loud, walking in at random hours of the day and night.) All of the door handles and floors were sticky and covered in...who knows what. (SUGGESTION: bring antibacterial hand sanitizer.) The free breakfast was what was expected - gross instant coffee and toast. (Please just go somewhere else for a Full English Breakfast....you'll thank me!)

PROS:
This hostel was pretty cheap for the 8 person room we slept in. However, if we had spent $10-20 more dollars, we probably could have gotten a private and much cleaner hotel room. The bar/restaurant right downstairs was very convenient and had friendly bartenders. The location of this hostel was also great. It was right up the street from this AWESOME market. (Make sure you find out what days and hours the market is open and go to it!) I also suggest that you go for a very long walk and get yourself lost for a day. We found so many awesome little areas after exploring London on foot.

TIPS:
- bring an umbrella and sweatshirt/jacket because its cold and it rains every 20 minutes. NOT KIDDING. This was in mid-July.
-bring baby wipes/hand sanitizer/ cleaning products?
-bring a lock for your locker
-go get lost in London! visit the Markets first!
-skip the free toast/instant coffee breakfast and go get a FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST!
-If you are traveling as a couple, try finding cheap hotels to stay at instead of hostels...Sometimes 1 room at a cheap hotel is actually cheaper than 2 beds at a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    54
    27
    14
See reviews for
4
19
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A complete shambles. Yes, we are looking for budget accom, but this is more like a down and outs hovel. The stink of puke and urine from the filfthy toilets and shower rooms is bad. The staff are also pretty stupid and seem to be just passing through themselves. A real do-it-yourself place. Its also far too noisy of a night and you cant get any sleep or peace. Its a bit like trying to get a sleep on a night time bus but even more unpleasant. I WILL NEVER USE THIS PLACE AGAIN. YOU GET THE FEELING THAT ALTHOUGH YOU DONT PAY A LOT YOU ARE BEING RIPPED OFF BECAUSE ITS SO SO POOR.

Room Tip: Go to another hostel or hotel. The bargains at the moment are out there. Dont be fleeced by this lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading (W)
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

First time I found this a friendly, lively hostel on a one night stop.

I stayed again for a week. and saw the reality. You could smell the toilet down the corridor, mind the vomit, luke warm showers, tired facilities overall. I had 3 new backpackers checking in after 1am when people are sleeping, plus all the party revellers coming through all hours of the night. A staff member put the lights on, woke everybody up at 1am to check if you're in the right bed. So disorganised with bed allocation. And if you do manage to sleep through that there's the loud music going till the early hours downstairs.

Friendly but filthy disorganised hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great britain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed in this hostel. My opinion is as followed

service: on check in, was given plenty of information about the place, where to get breakfast, if need help etc

value: got a basic but good breakfast, quite near tube and some big attractions, but got a few things that let the place down, as will explain

sleep quality: loud music, playing till at least 2am, if you plan on doing a lot of sight seeing and not too bothered about the bar etc at night, i do not recommend this place. Went back at nights tired, woke up in the mornings even more tired

cleanliness: not impressed, on the first day there, our nearest toilet on the top floor was blocked with vomit on top, an out of order sign was placed on, and still there when we checked out 2 days later, got wiffs of a horrible sick smell when passing by to our room, the stairs were dusty, no hand wash facilities in the toilets, some no soap, some no hand dryers, dirty air vents, bins that wasn't emptied all day, toilets not seen to properly , showers not their best and with push buttons that got annoying when trying to get washed and out of it

location: good for tube, and to go to places like, hms belfast, the tower and tower bridge, monument, st pauls cathedral, to get on the thames river cruises, got some good shops and cafes on the high street

rooms: cleaner than rest of the place, had nice pics on wall, secure locks on the doors, clean bedding, only downsides i felt to room was, it was very cold at night, and the top bunk was a bit dodgy to get on and off.

I'd like to add, i've stayed in worse bed and breakfasts than this hostel, hence the overall rating of average, with less breakfast and paid more, poor location etc, but the noise and the poor shower and toilet facilities i won't return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I chose this place to stay because I wanted to visit the Imperial War Museum and also take the train to Gatwick airport very early the next morning. The location here in Southwark made it the best choice for that, and it certainly was helpful to have a Sainsbury's across the street, but the quality of the accommodation was decidedly average.

In particular, it was quite a bit of a hassle to have to check in at the reception of the other St. Christopher's down the street, where they have all their facilities as well (breakfast, laundry, internet). It also attracts the party-going type of guests, so don't be surprised if your dorm-mates stumble in drunk at 3am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hostel is quite good and it is close to the London Bridge underground station. After reception mixed us up and almost put us in the wrong room, we walked back down the road to the inn. The entrance to the hostel was down an alley way which floods with drunk people at night from the pub underneath the hostel. Our room was very tiny with a window overlooking the alley way which would not shut completely or stay open. It was so hot in the room. The bathrooms on the floor were very small and they got really disgusting after a few people had showered and left water all over the floor. The wireless worked in the room quite well and there was locking cages under the bed to put valuables in. The breakfast was ok but was up at the other hostel.
If you are looking for a place where you would like to get to sleep before 2am then this IS NOT the place for you. We will definitely not be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hostel in mid July in a 4 bed dormitory.
The hostel takes place in a very good location. It is very easy to reach it either by local transportation or by train. All London downtown sightseeings are in a few metro stops away.

The very first thing you need to know is that there are two Saint Christopher's hostel located near London Bridge. However there is only one reception and in case of this hostel you need to check-in in the other building which is one-two hundred meters away. It's not too much but can be inconvenient when you have a lot of packages. Anyway the staff was very friendly and tries to help you with everything. The next problem is that the access cards are not always working and you might need to go back for an other one, again with packages... I made three rounds until managed to get in to the room.
The room is ok and in line what you can expect from such a place, and so the facilities. It is a plus point that they have large lockers under the beds (but you need to bring your own padlock). There is also a free Wifi service you just need to ask for the password.
The breakfast is served in the other building downstairs in the pub. Also you get a discount there for meals as well (quality and price is pretty good).
It is also positive that there are a plenty of lockers near the reception, so you can leave your luggage there after check-out.
Overall it is a good located place with friendly and helpful staff, and average facilities. It is good if you want to spend a few days to look around in London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge

Address: 121 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street.), London SE1 1NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an Inn for weary horse drawn coach travellers, this St Christopher's Inn offers a traditional taste of English life and easy access to the attractions of the South Bank. You can enjoy fish n' chips with a pint of ale at the pub downstairs and be at the Tate Modern 15-minutes later ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Inn - London Bridge Hotel London
St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Christopher's Inn - London Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.