We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
The Windermere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 1,065 Hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Your Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at The Windermere Hotel for many years. The hotel is perfectly situated being located near to Victoria Station and it is an easy walk to locations such as Harrods. The Windermere's management and staff are excellent and provide quality service with a smile. They go out of there way to ensure that your stay with them is enjoyable. The food is excellent and features a wide variety on offer for breakfast and they have recently introduced a new menu for the evenings.

The rooms are wonderfully kept and maintained. I also enjoy that the hotel maintains a staff person on duty during the evenings. Rooms include en suite facilities and a safe. Of great benefit is an elevator installed relatively recently. I highly recommend the Windermere to travelers and they will not be disappointed by this home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    133
    33
    23
    7
See reviews for
61
146
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm greeting on arrival. Comfortable room & excellent food( we only had breakfast).only 5 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Will return.

Good value for money. Left a small item in the room & which was returned by post at no charge, well done

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this hotel using Priceline and were amazed at how great it was for the price we paid for four nights!

The hotel is located about a 7 minute walk south of Victoria Station and an easy walk to the Tate Modern, Buckingham Palace and the West End theaters (about a 45 minute walk - don't do it if it's raining hard!).

Our room was tucked up on the third floor, was small, the floor angle upwards toward the window, but it was clean, the twin beds were more than adequate, flat-screen TV, and well appointed bathroom with a shower (no bathtub but who uses a bathtub these days?!?!).

The service at check-in was exceptional and our bags were delivered to our room. The staff appeared to be Spanish-speaking and were super friendly.

The highlight, for me, was the breakfast! You had a choice of hot or cold and I couldn't resist two fried eggs, sausage, baked beans and a stewed tomato. What a way to start the day!

We had one rainy day during our December stay and reception happily loaned us umbrellas.

I cannot rate this hotel high enough. We'll stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: This hotel does not have a typical hotel atmosphere. Stay here and you'll feel like you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Found this place online - and LOVED the location and the hosts on my first visit to London! On our last morning - we had an early train to Belgium - they arranged breakfast at 5am for us! I will be back!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little hesitant about booking this hotel after the widely varying reviews, especially by solo travelers, complaining of small rooms. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised, the room was perfectly adequate bearing I I no this is in the middle of London!!!

A lot of thought has gone into the selection of good quality furniture and the maintenance is impeccable, wools are clean no scuff marks and everything has a comfortable feel about it. The bathroom was small but perfect for one.

A rare touch today...on arrival Juan the receptionist escorts the guests to their rooms...a small detail but great. Breakfast was great,dishes being individually prepared but the three staff seemed to spend a lot of time talking rather then attending to their guests and there are only 19 rooms.

The negatives? No coat hook in the room which would have been really useful. Whilst the bed was soft, not something I appreciate normally it turned out to be comfortable. The only real problem is the complete lack of sound insulation, not only from the rooms next door but also from above. I appreciate this building is 200 years old but it is a distraction and makes one acutely aware of the noises one makes oneself!

Nevertheless a really nice hotel and the price is a good one for London. I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaceburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

We stayed here with 2 other couples for 3 days prior to a cruise. It is less than a GBP5 ride from Victoria Station and if you have luggage this is the best way to go as it is a little tricky to find at first. After this we walked to and form the bus,tube and theatre. The staff were extremely helpful and the restaurant was very handy .The full English breakfast was cooked to order and very good. We had dinner one night and that was great also. We had 3 rooms. They were all nice in their own way and having an elevator was great, The rooms are compact but were very comfortable and having air conditioning was a bonus as it was very warm in London for early October. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this to friends and we have given the details to our travel agent

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

first the good points - this hotel is in a comparative oasis compare to the mayhem that is Victoria with its rail and underground stations as well as the main and green line bus stations yet it is just two mins walk and a couple of streets away in a lovely area of mainly residential homes with a few hotels and b&bs thrown in. With only twenty rooms this isn't a big hotel but it is well furnished, clean, warm and looks as if it has recently been modernised. it has brilliant staff especially at the front desk and the breakfasts were plentiful and freshly cooked to order and served with a cheerful smile by the staff. loads of tea and coffee in the room and nice shampoo and shower gel in the room
the hotel isn't really suitable for the disabled as there are a couple of steps up to the hotel entrance and while it does have a lift and ground floor rooms the corridors are narrow and twisty and on the upper level there are stairs to negotiate between the lift and rooms.
The hotel has a basement which is used for breakfast, as a bar and for evening meals but with only around six tables to serve twenty rooms you may find you have to wait for a table especially at breakfast,
we were in room 31 this is on the top level and part of the roof while the room itself was nicely furnished with a lovely comfy bed. the rooms toilet was the size of a phone box and the shower room wasn't much bigger while the shower was nice and powerful and hot there wasn't enough room to turn around and with the handbasin in there as well it was difficult to dry off after the shower in the tiny space.
we will be more than happy to book here again next time we are in London but will go for one of the larger rooms

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in London
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#194 Business Hotel in London
#240 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located award-winning small hotel of Victorian character and warm ambience. "Your home away from home." Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Elevator. Air-Conditioning. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful brasserie with evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.