We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
The Windermere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Avignon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I needed an hotel near Victoria Station for one night & through internet decided on the Windermere particularly as it had a 'bistro' restaurant - being on my own & not wanting to dine outside. My room was spotless & charming but the bathroom very small which I mentioned on departure. Unexpectedly, I had to overnight yet again on my return to London & having been very pleased with my reception, meal & location, chose to go back. I was given the loveliest room with a really nice bathroom!! I was in a rush for an appointment on arrival & everyone was so helpful, keeping luggage & registering me. etc. I was most appreciative as you do not find such attention in many London hotels! It was also an unexpected pleasure to run into fellow French-speaking guests (as well as the Chef - whose garlic mushrooms are to die for......!)Thank you for two very enjoyable/relaxing but brief stays!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Suzanne H

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even felt compelled to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay, and hopefully a little longer than your last!

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    133
    34
    23
    7
See reviews for
62
146
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rontignon, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 5 days in this nice little victorian building during Eastern 2014. We have 3 teenagers (17, 15 and 12) who slept in a double bedroom with one additionnal couch. We (the 2 parents) rented an appartement proposed by the hotel in the same building, inlet door being next to the corner of the building. Though we were reluctant to the idea not to be in the same corridor than our kids, it appeared to be an excellent idea : the flat is large, equipped with a large living room and a kitchen where it was possible to prepare hot meals in the evening for the kids. It enabled us to spend quiet evenings after the intense days of visit.
Furthermore, it represented an economic opportunity for dinner.
Victoria station is 7 mn by foot, not a problem at all. Supermarket in Victoria station inlet gallery when coming from the hotel and food market beside the thaï restaurant close to the hotel
Excellent care of the owners of the hotel, good advices and very professionnal service

Room Tip: Appartment (next to the corner of the hotel) is very good quality for money if you are 5, do not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Gerard S

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at The Windermere. It can be quite a challenge looking for accommodation suitable for a family of 5. Our Family rooms can accommodate a maximum of 3 persons. We also have a Family Suite which can accommodate 4 people. Therefore, I am very pleased that we were able to find such an excellent solution for you. It is wonderful to hear that you were felt so comfortable. It seems that our motto "your home away from home" was very true for your recent stay!

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Best wishes
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

After spending a lot of time looking a London hotels for about 100 pounds per night and thinking I would never find one where I would feel safe sleeping I came across this little gem. Walking distance from Victoria station if you a used to walking this hotel has a lovely honey feel to it and friendly and helpful staff. I was here on business so had the single room next to the restaurant. My room was clean, nicely decorated, it had a single bed cupboard space to hang clothes a desk and chair and space to put my suitcase. The modern bathroom had a lovely big shower toilet and sink with a huge mirror. Very nice. However, please remember this is central London and to the Australian outback the room was small. The only down side was that the room was too hot and it was noisy to have the window open. They are fitting air con but it was not working yet while I was here. I found it quick to get to the west end in the evening to see a show.

The breakfast was outstanding a choice of cereals, pastries, fruit , yogurt, cheeses, meats, juice and a full English freshly cooked. In the modern world of buffet and continental breakfasts this was a welcome return to a proper hotel breakfast. I may not need to eat again today I am so full.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Tafftails

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments from your latest stay at The Windermere, London. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our freshly prepared breakfast! I am however sorry to hear that you found the room to be a little too warm. Unfortunately, we were in an unusual and inconsistent weather phase, which was even unexpected for London!! As you have correctly mentioned, we are in the process of installing air conditioning throughout the hotel. This is already available for use in some rooms, and will become available in the remaining guest rooms by June 2014. Wonderful Dyson fans are available on request at this time of year though, and would have been ideal to help cool your room if we had known at the time.

I hope to welcome you back to The Windermere on your next visit to London, whether it be for business or leisure.

Kind regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the minute we arrived at this hotel we were treated with friendly helpfulness in every aspect. The room we had was right at the top but was so cleverly designed to maximise the space. Everywhere was immaculately decorated to a very high spec
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even taking our suitcase to our room-which rarely happens unless you're in a 5 star in London!
The toiletries were good quality and ample tea/coffee etc in room.
Breakfast was served downstairs which had a self service continental selection and a cooked to order hot menu which was fresh and delicious!
We did have a glass of wine in the evening which again was good and fairly priced for a London hotel.
We are so glad we found this place and will definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Havent seen other rooms but our 'attic' room had great views but may not suit all people as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Jane C

Thank you for your kind review. All of us here at The Windermere are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to London!

Warm regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We've just had our first stay at the Windermere Hotel in London and would heartily recommend it to other travellers. The room gave us plenty of space; the bed was comfortable; the breakfasts were hearty; the room service was tasty and efficient. This family-run hotel provides an excellent base for visiting London, and the Hambi family have been most hospitable hosts, providing friendly advice and travel tips and excellent service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Browgesen

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us. Let us hope that it's the first of many!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, easy to find from the nearby Victoria station. Looks pleasant and clean from the outside, and it continues inside. Check in was smooth, efficient and detailed. Room was ready about 1pm, and was a good size for a single. Tea and coffee facilities in the room, one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, and nice size bathroom.

Didn't eat in the restaurant at lunch or dinner so can't comment on that but had a room service on my first night, arrived soon after I made the call, didn't wait too long and it was good value also, good selection of wine Aswell.

Cooked breakfast was lovely, nice and filling with a continental on offer, the usual cereals, fruit salad, juices and tea and coffee on order.

Would happily stay here again and couldn't fault anything,

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear yorkieliam

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Windermere soon.

Warmest regards
Emily Hambi
The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel two years in a row when we've visited the British GP. It's the perfect location. The rooms we've had are very nice and the staff are excellent!! Emily is so nice and friendly and so are the rest of them. The cook in the basement is a lovely man and quite the character. He made us the best bearnaise sauce I've ever tasted!!! It's very close to Victoria station so it's easy to get everywhere. The breakfast is great. You can choose a cooked breakfast and there's pastries, cereal etc as well. We will definitely stay there next time we're in London!! It won't be for this years GP but you never know if we visit again later int the year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Chief Operations Officer at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Pliggis

It is wonderful to hear from you again. Thank you so much for your recent review.

What a shame that you won't be coming for this year's British Grand Prix! Hopefully we will see you again for the 2015 race, if not sooner.

Best wishes
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Business Hotel in London
#270 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located award-winning small hotel of Victorian character and warm ambience. "Your home away from home." Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Elevator. Air-Conditioning. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful brasserie with evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.