We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 1,073 hotels in London
Melbourne
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We only had one night in London and after doing considerable research online we decided on this hotel mainly because of the location. For us we wanted to be close to the city and close to the train station to get us back to Paddington station for our express train to Heathrow airport. The hotel is located in an up market area, walking distance to a couple of nice pubs (St.George- 10 minute walk) being the highlight. Friendly staff, swift check in and comfortable rooms. We had a double room which wasn't overly large but was fine given we were only staying one night. Breakfast was included in the rate but the dining room is quite small so best to get in early. We walked to Victoria station and Buckingham Palace (about 15 minutes away) and felt very safe here. The hotel is also close to Piccadilly and other major tourist areas.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    123
    29
    20
    7
See reviews for
57
132
33
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Be aware that the room I stayed in did not have air conditioning (I assume none of them do). Instead there was a floor fan. I stayed in October so it wasn't a real issue, but if its hot, you may be in trouble. Small hotel, family run, and near Victoria Station (which is why I chose it. I had to be at the Victoria Coach Station the next morning). The room was clean, small, but again, no A/C.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Theatre and London break. Flew into Gatwick Airport, worse than expected! Gatwick Express into Victoria and Hotel only 15min walk from Station. Very welcoming and lovely room with very comfy king size bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location for all main tourist sites either on foot, tube or bus. Would stay again and thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: Superior room has those little extras!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here in September and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is very quaint, after orginally being put in a below ground bedroom which was very small, hot, smelly and right near the laurdry room, we requested to be moved, this was done without fuss, which we greatly appreciated. Location is great, the dinning room and bar are a little small, the food is good, over all a very enjoyable stay, would certainly recommend this hotel and stay there again myself. :)

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not called Big Ben.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The staff were lovely and very helpful. Bedroom and bathroom was on the small side but was comfortable. The dining room was lovely, the breakfast was outstanding. We had dinner in the dinning room on two night and throughly enjoyed the meals. Wi-Fi worked well. Very close to Victoria Street Railway Station and bus depot. Easy walking to Buckingham Palace. Lovely shops on the same street. With a laundrymat just around the corner. The only complaint we had we seen the owner several times and didn't bother to acknowledge us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Great family run hotel. Close to Victoria station and good restaurants. Very accommodating. They even store our bags for 2 days free of charge when we went north to York. My only complaint is the room was small but that's Europe. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

You can tell that the management had high expectations for the staff to take care of the customer. Same owners for over 25 years, and from the top down they instill in their staff a customer satisfaction mentality. Always smiling, always friendly, and yet reserved and not candy-gushing friendly.

Booked through Expedia. Had friends visiting in London at the same time and they spent about 2/3s what we did per night and had a very unsatisfactory experience. Will definitely stay here again if I am in the same area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#155 Romantic Hotel in London
#181 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located award-winning small hotel of Victorian character and warm ambiance. "Your home away from home." Free Wi-Fi throughout. Elevator. Air-Condition. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful brasserie with evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.