We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
The Windermere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe all of the positive reviews for this hotel! It is heavily overpriced and has nothing to do with a 4 star hotel. I booked a deluxe double room and was given the Cartmel Room. The only positive thing to be said about it is that it has a nice size. But there are several huge cracks in one of the walls, there is so much noise from the street and it is very loud - you hear every step and other activities from the other rooms! Not very nice. The bed is horribly soft and the bathroom very small with a minute sink that sits in the corner, making it quite difficult to even brush your teeth. The whole room is in dire need of renovation - but still they charge you GBP 165 a night! How this can be classified as a 4 star hotel is beyond me, a 3-star b&b seems more correct. Breakfast is also quite poor, varm juice and warm butter every morning and a very ordinary buffet. The cooked breakfast is also below par for a 4 star hotel.
So I can safely say that I will not be returning nor recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Susanne J

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us via Trip Advisor. I am terribly disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I honestly wish that you had expressed your grievances with us during your 3 night stay with us, as we were under the impression that you were enjoying your time with us. We would have been able to address any issues if you had raised them whilst you were here. We welcome all feedback (positive and negative) and use it to improve our service and product however possible. The Windermere is a 4 star "Guest Accommodation" with an additional "Gold Award" from Visit England and an additional "4 Gold Stars" award from the AA.

As always, we will be carefully looking into the points you have raised here with the aim of improving and correcting where necessary. It is our opinion that hotels (including B&Bs, Guest Accommodations etc) require constant care and attention in order to maintain a suitable standard of quality. As I am sure you can appreciate, hotels of every type need to withstand a lot of use. As a result, The Windermere is constantly undergoing a rolling upgrade programme. We are never complacent and are aware of what needs to be done. The Cartmel room, one of our most popular rooms, is earmarked for a "re-fresh" next.

If you change your mind and decide to stay with us again, then please contact us directly in order to discuss your requirements. We have the most scope for flexibility with direct bookings and therefore the best chances of fulfilling all guest requests. I would also like to take this opportunity to remind you that all of our rooms are individually designed, therefore each guest room has its own character. We have three Deluxe rooms in our collection.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any queries.

Best regards
Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    133
    33
    23
    7
See reviews for
61
146
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This charming, little, historic hotel is located in a safe residential area within walking distance of Victoria Coach Station, Victoria tube station, shops & lots of tourist sights. Customer service is excellent. The staff is very nice, polite and helpful without being intrusive. The cooked-to-order breakfast, included in the room price, is delicious. I splurged & had the full English breakfast, but there are other choices on the menu. There's also a lovely complimentary buffet of assorted items such as cereal, cheese, ham, bread, fruit, yogurt, juice, pastries, etc. My room was a Deluxe Double which is the largest size & it was very clean & comfortable. I would recommend choosing this size because hotel rooms in London are small by American standards. I'd definitely stay at The Windermere again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor facing the street do encounter a little noise from cars and pedestrians. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Last October we stayed at the Windermere for 8 nights. We stayed in the Wren room (#33) on the third floor, a very spacious room by London standards, and loved it. There was space in the corner to put our suitcases behind an easy chair. The closet was on the small side if you have many items to hang up which was the only minus but a small one. The bathroom was beautiful. The hotel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood where my husband enjoyed running in the early mornings. It is located about a five-minute walk from the Victoria Coach Station from where the intercity buses and Evan Evans Tours depart. The Victoria Train Station is just a few more minutes away from where the underground and local buses depart. Two theaters are located near Victoria Train Station; Wicked was being performed at one and Billy Elliott at the other. These are within walking distance from the hotel; for the other theaters you can take the underground to the Leicester Square stop.
We were able to walk to a lot of places. Several times we walked to the Westminster Abbey/Houses of Parliament/Big Ben area from the hotel or returned from there to the hotel, about a twenty-minute walk. It saved us from having to switch trains. Be aware that if you have to change lines on the underground, it may be quite a walk to get from one platform to the other.
The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was very good and plentiful. On the breakfast bar was the continental breakfast: orange and apple juices, coffee and different kinds of tea, hard rolls, croissants, chocolate croissants and other pastries, cornflakes and muesli, fresh fruit salad, prunes, and yogurt. They will bring out a rack with 6 slices of fresh toast and take your order for either scrambled eggs with smoked salmon on toast or a plate of eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, mushrooms, tomatoes etc. Very plentiful and filling and a great way to start the day.
As others have mentioned, the personnel at the hotel are wonderful and very friendly. We were so happy with our stay that we will certainly return the next time we visit London.

Room Tip: The Wren room, #33, was spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This our second stay, and not our last! This a lovely small hotel with great friendly staff. Rooms are small but clean and cozy. Complementary Breakfast has a wide selection- best i have seen on my travels! This hotel is very charming and close enough to walk to major attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room 31. Stayed 2 nights over new year. Room ok size for what we needed but if stayed again would upgarde to a bigger bed as used to a kings size at home! Decor of room & rest of hotel has been nicely done. Love the wonky floors upstairs! Staff friendly & always helpful (thank you for replacing the hair dryer!). Breakfast was great & lots on offer. Good location to Victoria, around 5 mins after the reception lady told us a short cut! The only let down was the bathroom im affraid, it could do with a good clean/upgrade, especialy the bottom of the shower door :-( Was also quite small & no lock on the door. Might have been nice 2 have some bed side lamps & a light over full length mirror for applying make up (just a few thoughts). Improve on these then my rating would go up.
Good luck with the year ahead & happy new year to all :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear verrall79

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions with us. We always appreciate receiving guest feedback, so thank you. All of your comments are being looked into as I write this. We will rectify the points you have mentioned so that your next stay with us may be even more enjoyable! Room 31 is one of our Classic Double rooms (double bed, en suite shower room). Should you wish to upgrade to a more spacious room with a bigger bed, you can choose between a Superior Double and a Deluxe Double room. Please also contact us directly about booking a Large Double (king size bed, en suite shower room).

It was lovely meeting you - we hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy New Year!

Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel tucked away from the bustle of London. It's about 10 mins walk from Victoria station. It's comfortable and well looked after. Good sized rooms and comfortable furnishings. I really enjoyed the personalised service from the staff who are pleasant and very helpful. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very decent hotel in a beautiful building. Perfectly situated for exploring the city.
Almost all the attractions within walking distance, near a Metro station.
Rooms are comfortable and clean, though not very large (even Deluhe where we lived).
Very good English breakfast. The friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: De Luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Benost

Thank you for your review. I hope that you had a pleasant trip back to Latvia. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly appreciated our location. As you know, we are very central and within walking distance of so many landmarks and attractions. We are also a very short walk to Victoria station (Underground, Coach, Rail and Bus) which gives you access to the rest of the city and beyond!

You were accommodated in a Deluxe room. This is the largest room category in our collection. That being said, this is London, and we are not a "purpose-built" hotel. We believe that is part of our charm and strive to compensate for what may be a perceived lack of space, by going the extra mile in other aspects. I am happy that you found your stay to be comfortable and enjoyable.

All of us here send you our warmest wishes for the holiday season.

Hoping to welcome you back in the future,

Emily Hambi, The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#185 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Business Hotel in London
#238 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located award-winning small hotel of Victorian character and warm ambience. "Your home away from home." Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Elevator. Air-Conditioning. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful brasserie with evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.