We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Windermere Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Windermere Hotel to your Saves list
The Windermere Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Alvsjo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to complain about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Absolutly nothing to complain about!
If you going to stay at hotels in London, you must know that the rooms are small!
This hotel has everything you need, location, near Victoria, personal service 24/7, lift, restaurant with a personal chef and good food and breakfast!

I can highly recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello and thank you for your kind review.

Your photos are great, and I'm happy to see that you have included a few of our newly refurbished brasserie. For all of you who want to find out more about our hotel, our brand new website will be going live very soon, so please visit our website for further information on The Windermere.

We have a selection of different room types and therefore sizes, with our Superior and Deluxe rooms being the most spacious. Please contact us directly if you have any queries prior to making your reservation.

Guest rooms in London hotels such as ours, are understandably smaller than those of purpose built corporate hotels (the room included in your photos is a Classic Double room, en suite shower room). We feel that we make up for this by providing a very personalised level of service, as you have already mentioned. All of our 19 rooms, are well appointed with luxury amenities and modern comforts most of us now enjoy such as iPad docking stations to give just one example.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Windermere on your next trip to London.

Emily Hambi
The Windermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    133
    34
    23
    7
See reviews for
62
146
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've stayed seven nights at the Windermere and it has been an absolute bliss! The hotel is a warm little gem that would make any guest want to come back. Great location with easy access to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and Big Ben on the one side and Harrods, Sloane Street and Hyde Park on the other. Victoria station was my station of choice as I could very conveniently get tube connection to almost everywhere in London. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean, with free wifi and the staff most helpful and above all smiley. I've also had a very lovely dining experience at the hotel's cosy brasserie. Thank you Nicos, Sylvia and Emily for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Call the hotel and speak to the owner Nick
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Windemere 3 times - and we would truly not stay anywhere else in London. The main reason is the staff - the owner, Nick and his wife and daughter as well as the evening staff, were incredibly warm, welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable and most of all thoughtful and kind. When we arrived at 9:30 in the morning (after traveling for 21 hours), Nick invited us to the Pimlico restaurant for coffee and sweet buns!

All 3 rooms that we have stayed in were extremely, extremely clean and lovely with comfortable beds, windows that open, television, safe, coffee / tea / cookies and bathrooms with first-rate toiletries. (There is also a computer available for client use as well.)

The breakfast is incredible and made to order (the full English breakfast comes with delicious sausage but the scrambled eggs with salmon were my favourite). There is also fruit cocktail, prune preserves, sweet buns, cereal, juice etc.

This last trip, we dined at the Pimlico twice and every meal was excellent. After a full day of shopping / sight seeing, it was really a bonus to be able to dine in. Expect a half hour wait time as the dinners are cooked to order by the chef / waiter who is friendly and a superb cook. The restaurant offers an intimate bistro atmosphere with a good selection of wines and spirits. We found out near the end of our stay that you can also go down for a drink in the evening, appetizers etc.

The hotel is located within a neighbourhood so although you are very close (most in walking distance) to all the must-see tourist spots, you feel like the pubs nearby and stores are frequented by local folks. As other reviews have said, the hotel is a 10 minute walk to Victoria Station and the tube (also a bus to the airport from National coach service beside the station). The hotel has maps, guides on London and other helpful materials on the various sites.

We feel that the value is outdone by the service, reception, restaurant and accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I just stayed four nights at The Windermere and enjoyed almost everything about it. The hotel is situated close to Victoria Station (less than a 10-minute walk), within walking distance of Harrod's, the river, Westminster, and of course the proximity to Victoria gives options on the tube and train. The proprietors and staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, and mapped out directions to the sights, including the best vantage point for watching the Thames Jubilee event. The single room was a bit small, but adequate for my needs, and very clean. The cooked-to-order English breakfast is excellent, and the Pimlico restaurant is a good dining option in the evening. I will give this place the best raiting, despite the noise from the room next door: the walls must be paper thin and I could hear the tv as well as conversations. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

When my husband and I first arrived, we were greeted by Phil. He was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. He provided directions, as well as, two city maps and one for the Underground. We let them know ahead of time we would be arriving early from the US and just needed a place to store our luggage. However, they had our room ready. It was lovely and gave us the opportunity to refresh before a long day of sightseeing. We had a standard double. It was small but comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was very good and satisfying. I had dinner there one evening as well. The penne arrabiatta was fantastic. The Windermere is in a residential area, so it's very quiet and you feel part of the neighborhood. It is only a few blocks from Victoria and within comfortable walking distance to Westminster. We were given an excellent recommendation by the staff to eat at St. George's Tavern, just a couple of blocks away. It was the best meal we had while in London. The atmosphere was warm and the food was outstanding and reasonably priced. I had a grilled chicken sandwich and my husband had the ribs. Overall, a pleasant, delightful stay.

Room Tip: The standard double is small but perfect for the price. We were only in our room in the evening anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Windermere Hotel for four nights this Spring, because it was recommended to us by my mother. She was right to do so! Knowing that the rooms were comfortable, but rather small, we booked a bigger (therefore more expensive) room and got the Cartmel Room on the first floor. This is a nice and quiet room (even though its on the street side), but still not very big. To be honest, we found the bathroom to be rather small, but everything we needed was right there. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and makes you feel at home from the minute you walk in. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty. We also had dinner at the hotel one night. The food and service at the restaurant is fine, but you might find the ambience a bit sober. (The small breakfast room in the basement doubles as restaurant.) Considering the excellent location (a 10-minute walk from Victoria Station, not 5, as other reviewers have claimed!), the Windermere Hotel offers very good value for money and a warm, personal approach. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cartmel room if you prefer a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here a while ago, but I felt this was classic English hospitality. Best English full breakfasts every morning and close by to pubs, laundromat and shopping in easy walking distance. A bit cramped, as we were in the basement, and corridors were very skinny, but otherwise quite clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindermere, Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear KMRoberts,

Thank you very much for your review. Since your last stay with us in May 2011, we have enhanced our hotel a little further. Last year saw the completion of the renovation of some guest rooms and common areas, and our much loved elevator! We have also renovated our Reception and Lobby areas - they look wonderful. Regardless of the renovation, we still offer our "classic English hospitality".

Our breakfasts are more popular than ever. We still provide our daily cooked to order English breakfasts. The menu has however improved further since May last year. Moreover, the issue of a "cramped" basement is now a thing of the past! We have recently extended our Pimlico Room Restaurant. Breakfast is now a more spacious and relaxing environment as we now have additional seating, in a beautifully decorated room.

I hope you will be able to return to The Windermere to experience the new results for yourself.

Best regards,
Emily Hambi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Business Hotel in London
#270 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located award-winning small hotel of Victorian character and warm ambience. "Your home away from home." Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout. Elevator. Air-Conditioning. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful brasserie with evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windermere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.