We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little value for money hotel in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nayland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nayland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nayland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 521 London B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little value for money hotel in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

You cannot really complain about the Nayland. My work colleague and I both booked double rooms for £69 each on a company trip to London. I didn't know this was still possible in London! Great bargain.
The rooms were small but cosy and clean, and they had everything you need except tea/coffee facilities, which I am personally not too bothered about. The bathroom was tiny but modern and very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our rooms were facing the interior patio which was full of plants and flowers, it felt like we were in Italy! I was worried about my room being exposed to the cold but I slept really well, no noise, and didn't feel any cold in the room at all.
I was impressed with the location, Paddington station and restaurants are just a 5 minute walk. (From Paddington you can catch the Underground Bakerloo line direct to Oxford Circus and Piccadilly as well as the Heathrow Express train which gets you to Heathrow in 15 minutes).
There was no wi-fi though which was a bit disappointing. And the breakfast was very poor, despite the extremely friendly kitchen assistant!
When you're in London you spend more time out and about than in your room, so this is perfect, specially if you want to save some money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    92
    82
    30
    41
See reviews for
50
85
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Near to: the main lines of underground, busses, pubs and restaurant. The service is good, the room was simple, not so big, but clean! If you are looking for a good hotel near the city and you will spend all the day outside, i suggest you the nayland hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights. The hotel is very handy for paddington station and easy to find. Staff friendly and remember you. The breakfast although only continental is enough and the breakfast room is kept clean and replenished. Rooms are small but you only need a bed and shower so no problem. I would certainly recommend for a trip to London.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just got back from here yesterday..the hotel is in a good spot..plenty of shops around it and easy to get to other parts of london..it's very clean, the rooms are small but very nice..and the staff are friendly and helpful...bad points are no wifi..no tea coffee in the room..and the least choice breakfast i have ever known in a hotel ever!!..if those things don't bother you and you just want a nice place with clean sheets then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent last weekend at the Nayland Hotel in London. Excellent location - very close to Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube stations. I agree the hotel is very clean, but we didn't find the staff particularly friendly. Not a lot of extra space in the bedroom - but adequate considering the price; shower is ok - takes ages for the water to heat up. The whole hotel is stiflingly hot. Luckily, we were able to open the bedroom window. I wouldn't advise including breakfast - watery oj; make your own toast and slippery slivers of ham & cheese; one girl trying to do everything, and when we came down,there was nowhere to sit as not one of the tables had been cleared - and it finishes at 9.30 - which is too early for a weekend. In spite of these issues, I would stay here again, as the price is good - but next time, I'll be going for Room Only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sussex Gardens in Paddington is a street with many hotels and we've been staying in several of them over the years. The Nayland has the best 4-bed room (2 adults, 2 teen-agers). Spacious, clean, warm (we usually come to London in winter for the New Year celebrations) - lots of electric plugs for our various cell-phones, computer, etc. Four good-size beds, two mirrors (for the ladies dressing up), hairdrier, great bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend .. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in ... It was spotless .. ( and we have stayed in some nice hotels ) .. The front of house staff were very friendly and accommodating .. Nothing was too much trouble and always had a nice word to say wether we were on way in or out .. Yes rooms are small but perfectly adequate .. It is a hotel after all and not home ! .. I would most certainly stay here again and thoroughly recommend it .

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Address: 132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayland Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.