We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kery 63” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nayland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nayland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kery 63”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend .. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in ... It was spotless .. ( and we have stayed in some nice hotels ) .. The front of house staff were very friendly and accommodating .. Nothing was too much trouble and always had a nice word to say wether we were on way in or out .. Yes rooms are small but perfectly adequate .. It is a hotel after all and not home ! .. I would most certainly stay here again and thoroughly recommend it .

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    133
    129
    41
    44
See reviews for
50
84
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was a little apprehensive bout staying here after reading the reviews. My room was meant to be twin as shared with daughter but was double, Rooms are small, no kettle and right next to lift but it was ok. Lift wasnt too much of problem just shame they dont put tea and coffee in rooms, I took my own kettle and cups. Free shampoo in shower and towels. My parents room was near stairs and the light was over part of bed so you hit your head which was just lazy to put it there. There room wasnt as nice as mine. Front of house guy friendly but bit OTT if you were staying for a week. Cost us by taxi to get to Madame Tussauds about £10 and from there to London eye another £10, we got tax back from eye to sussex gardens and cost just over £16. Shops are about 15 min walk away to oxford street. The breakfast room was small and very busy, the food was basic, cold meat, boiled egg, toast and cereals. All self service. For price it was ok. We pre booked parking and parked directly outside the hotel but only one or two spaces so you must prebook, we did this as i'm partially disabled. A lot of nice food places to eat in evening. One downside is rooms road side dont have any form of double glazing or anything else to stop road noise, we had road works down road so was bit annoying. But overall if u want fuss free no frills stay this is it. It was adequate for a night or two

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Nayland Hotel and we had read the reviews prior to booking but wanted a hotel that was close to Paddington. Yes the rooms are small but for the price I expected this. The breakfast was basic but we supplimented this with some fruit from one of the many shops nearby and we were very happy with this. The location is fantastic and you can go anywhere in London from here. Paddington is a busy place and there is plenty of resturants, shops etc within minutes. Went for walks and runs every morning around Hyde Park and we would stay there again although the rooms were stuffy and if it's hot then they would be very uncomfortable. Ask for a room that isn't facing the street as this can be noisy as well as you need the window open to get fresh air. As there was no fridge in the room we used the hotel bars fridge to cool drinks etc but overall we were happy with the Hotel. It's a bed and breakfast place so don't expect big hotel service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Nayland Hotel is located perfectly within a short 5 min walk to Paddington station & Heathrow express, and only a 10 min walk from Hyde park & Marble Arch. There several restaurants in the area. Chris and Ovi were always there to greet us upon our return, and were always happy to hear about our adventures for the day. The rooms are very clean, and have everything you need, although small in our terms, they are adequate. Breakfast was served every morning, and was sufficient. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel to all of our friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Nayland whilst visiting the paralympics last weekend, we had an ample en-suite quad room, 3 adults and 1 child. I'm always dubious about booking cheap end hotels in London as we have ended up in some right dumps but the Nayland exceeded expectations, we had tickets for the athletics on the final evening but also marathon tickets for the crack of dawn on the Sunday morning - i was searching for somewhere handy for the Mall on the Sunday principally - left it until the last minute and ended up with the Nayland, we were able to get into our room on saturday at 1pm leave our bags and head off to the olympic park for the rest of the day and night, 10 minute walk to Marble Arch Tube and on to the Central Line, same coming back - up before breakfast and off to Paddington Tube 5 mins to get to Green Park.
We were able to leave our bags for collection later.
The reception staff were first class friendly knowledgeable and efficient.
Would nice to have coffe and tea making facilities in the room but it only cost a pound a drink from reception and i took these to the room.
Obviously didn't stay for breakfast so cant comment on this.
would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

booked a family room for a weekend visit to london. very pleasent staff, very very clean hotel. our room had 3 single beds close together a small flat screen tv on the wall, on suite, small table and two chairs. the room was a little small, but for the basics of a good nights rest and location its perfect. free parking aswell which in london is a big big plus. parking right in front of the hotel reception which is off road. breakfast is advertised as a buffet on the notice/price board in reception. the only let down for me at this hotel was the breakfast, some cooked meats,boiled eggs, cheese and toast. no fresh juice, but theres tea and coffee which isnt too bad. the ladies serving were very nice and helpfull. i was a bit aprehensive about this hotel when we booked it, but i was very supprised with my stay. great value for money in an excellent location for tube, buses and walking distance to hyde park. will stay here again. very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

2nd time staying at the Nayland Hotel. Got the same room as 1st time. Only complaint i would have is that the bathroom is a little small but Thats a minor complaint. people got to realise you get what u pay for in London. Location was perfect, 5 minute walk from Paddington Station for all links to central London. Will stay here again and would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Address: 132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayland Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.