We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nayland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nayland Hotel to your Saves list
Nayland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Maui Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Nayland Hotel is located perfectly within a short 5 min walk to Paddington station & Heathrow express, and only a 10 min walk from Hyde park & Marble Arch. There several restaurants in the area. Chris and Ovi were always there to greet us upon our return, and were always happy to hear about our adventures for the day. The rooms are very clean, and have everything you need, although small in our terms, they are adequate. Breakfast was served every morning, and was sufficient. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel to all of our friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    97
    93
    34
    42
See reviews for
56
92
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Nayland whilst visiting the paralympics last weekend, we had an ample en-suite quad room, 3 adults and 1 child. I'm always dubious about booking cheap end hotels in London as we have ended up in some right dumps but the Nayland exceeded expectations, we had tickets for the athletics on the final evening but also marathon tickets for the crack of dawn on the Sunday morning - i was searching for somewhere handy for the Mall on the Sunday principally - left it until the last minute and ended up with the Nayland, we were able to get into our room on saturday at 1pm leave our bags and head off to the olympic park for the rest of the day and night, 10 minute walk to Marble Arch Tube and on to the Central Line, same coming back - up before breakfast and off to Paddington Tube 5 mins to get to Green Park.
We were able to leave our bags for collection later.
The reception staff were first class friendly knowledgeable and efficient.
Would nice to have coffe and tea making facilities in the room but it only cost a pound a drink from reception and i took these to the room.
Obviously didn't stay for breakfast so cant comment on this.
would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

booked a family room for a weekend visit to london. very pleasent staff, very very clean hotel. our room had 3 single beds close together a small flat screen tv on the wall, on suite, small table and two chairs. the room was a little small, but for the basics of a good nights rest and location its perfect. free parking aswell which in london is a big big plus. parking right in front of the hotel reception which is off road. breakfast is advertised as a buffet on the notice/price board in reception. the only let down for me at this hotel was the breakfast, some cooked meats,boiled eggs, cheese and toast. no fresh juice, but theres tea and coffee which isnt too bad. the ladies serving were very nice and helpfull. i was a bit aprehensive about this hotel when we booked it, but i was very supprised with my stay. great value for money in an excellent location for tube, buses and walking distance to hyde park. will stay here again. very pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

2nd time staying at the Nayland Hotel. Got the same room as 1st time. Only complaint i would have is that the bathroom is a little small but Thats a minor complaint. people got to realise you get what u pay for in London. Location was perfect, 5 minute walk from Paddington Station for all links to central London. Will stay here again and would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed three nights in late August 2012. Hotel is very good! Clean, friendly and very handy for the sights. Room on the fourth floor was spacious enough for two at £97 per night (incl b'fast and parking right outside). Breakfast was continental and a bit sparse without fresh juices, but suited us just fine. Beautiful location near Paddington Station and other transport. Open top "Big Bus " stops just around the corner, we got the full tour for £29 each, and the ticket was for two days. Lots of good restaurants (Greek, Indian, Italian, Fish & Chips, and other fast Food places) just around the corner.
Would we use this hotel again? Yes, make sure you get the best price: Check the Internet then phone the manager!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good value for money. Oxford street within walking distance. Paddington Station tube and rail very near. Clean rooms and OK continental breakfast. Pleasant and welcoming staff. Liked the area. Some good and reasonable priced restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

i stayed here for one night at the end of the olympics it was a last minute thing although it says four star i wouldsay more three, but the manager was very helpful and i was pleasntly surprised by the bed and pillow very good, the hotel was clean and very handy for paddington station breakfast is provided to be fair to them i didnt eat there but it looked ok for the price of accomodation inc breakfast you cant complain. i would have liked coffee and tea making facilities in the room but thats my only complaint, there was hairdryer and ironingboard and extra bedding in the room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Address: 132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nayland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.