We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweltering, noisy, cell like room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nayland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Nayland Hotel to your Saves list
Nayland Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 550 London B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sweltering, noisy, cell like room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a very basic, budget hotel (the pictures, especially of the exterior make it look much nice than it is). I am giving it an overall rating of a 3 because of the excellent location/proximity to the underground at Paddington (about a 5 minute walk). My single room was extremely tiny and sad looking (picture on wall ripped, furniture and bedding shabby) which I could have handled as I was only using it to sleep prior to my flight out of London. However, it was so incredibly hot in the room, I had to sleep with a wet towel covering me. The window could not be opened since I was on the first floor and the balcony outside the window was attached to all the other balconies on the first floor so leaving the window open was not an option. There is no airconditioning and no fans available. Worst of all, when I asked the staff how to get to the airport by tube, which surely must be the most common question ever asked of desk staff, I was given directions, that if I had followed, would have me ending up at a station that did not have a transfer to the airport. Thankfully, I double checked with the tube staff and they told me the correct directions. On the plus side, the bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brit
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

this hotel is in a very nice location close to paddington and lancaster gate tube stations. staff are very nice and rooms are very clean. Be warned if you like a full english or a continental breakfast as this hotel does not do this. You have tea or coffee, three types of cereal, boiled eggs ham and cheese and bread to toast

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoddy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a positive experience. We had 3 people, so we were put in the basement next to the bathrooms. Overall, the room was clean, but rather small (I'm comparing to other hotels in London). The location is great as it is about a 5 min walk to Paddington tube station and many great restaurants/pubs. It is also easy access to Heathrow Express (LHR), which starts running at 5:10 am.

The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the breakfast starts at 7am, and even though it was included, our flight was early, and we were unable to experience it.

We were also able to find free Wifi at McDonalds and Sussex Arms Pub.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimgirl320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is very clean, hotel staff wonderful and is very convenient to Paddington.The single room was small but adequate. The lift was under repair but this was not a problem. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. A very nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Delcolady715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The title line says it all, this hotel is a great for someone who has a short stay in London and who needs to get to and from the airport quickly using either the Heathrow Express or Heathrow Connector. The room was clean but quite small, the breakfast was adequate, and yes the lift wasn't working but we had backpacks so a few stairs really weren't a problem.
We walked from Paddington in a few minutes and found there were tonnes of shops and restaurants in the area plus each access to the Paddington Tube station which connects you to the rest of London.
If you aren't going to spend much time in your room who cares if it is small right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for its location and were able to walk there from Paddington. The hotel was nice and clean and the manager very helpful. When we did not like our first room he changed it for another at the front of the hotel and then moved our things to the back of the hotel for the second night. The breakfast was fine and the staff were very nice, the rooms celan and comfortable and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Definitely a room at the back, the front is on Sussex Road and very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Orchard Hotel
#759 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#570 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#304 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#312 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Hotel

Address: 132/134 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 550 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Nayland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Nayland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayland Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing