We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - nice area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Chiswick High Road | Chiswick, London W4 2LS, England (Chiswick)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #516 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

, We stayed at the Chiswick Palace for a long weekend during the Olympics and having been lucky in getting tickets for the athletics in the original draw had found it difficult to find accommodation in Central London without being ripped off. Hotel prices in general had gone through the roof and although we paid more than normal we found that by going a little outside of the city prices were alittle better. Our room in the annexe was a decent standard and clean if a little cramped in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was ok although like other guests I dont see how you can have a proper cooked breakfast without bacon! The tube service to the ciity and to the Olympics was excellent throughout the weekend and Chiswick is a lovely vibrant district to stay in with an excellent choice of pubs and restaurants, so didn't feel we had to stay in Central London for an evening meal. We may well stay in this area again even though we normally go for a more central hotel for our short breaks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    155
    65
    29
    18
See reviews for
87
91
34
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on business. Hotel was conveniently located about a mile from the business park where we were working. It is within easy walking distance of a number of restaurants on the high street. The staff were friendly and offered maps of the local area and central london upon check in.
We were in the annex so the receptionist put her coat on and walked us over to the annex and directed us to our room. The annex is like a house so the stairs are quite narrow for suitcases. Our room was of a reasonable size, as was the bathroom. We had a bath with shower over it and the bathroom was clean and modern. The only downside was how hot our room was, even with the windows open all night and all day. We went to turn the radiator off and realised it wasn't even on! On one morning we registered over 26 degrees. The beds were comfortable with extra pillows and covers provided in the room.
I understand from other guests that the hotel used to serve bar food/snacks in evening but this stopped this summer, meaning the hotel only serves breakfast. With all of the local restaurants/shops nearby this wasn't a huge problem although you could get caught out if you arrived late. Staff were helpful and willing to recommend nearby places to eat if, like us, you are unfamiliar with the area.
The breakfast, whilst there was choice, I didn't find appealing at all. The fruit was tinned peaches and pineapple, tea and coffee came out of a machine in which the water wasn't hot enough to make a good cup of tea so it tasted terrible and the hot food selection was limited to sausages, eggs, tomatoes, no bacon or hash browns. I tried the cereal but found it tasted a little stale. You could do your own toast so this was ok. Breakfast was similar to a Holiday Inn Express set up and I was expecting more from a Best Western based on others I have stayed at. One plus is that the hot drinks machine is available on free vend all day (and the hot chocolate was ok) as well as tea and coffee being provided in the rooms.
Check out was straightforward and quick. As there aren't any extras or meals that can be added to your room some form of fast track check out would be good for when it was busy.
The car park is free although a little small and it gets busy. Entering and exiting it is the trickiest part as it has a narrow entrance through an archway which is best accessed by a turn across a set of traffic lights which often had a queue. This was not always easy at rush hour. Large vehicles would need extra care through the arch.
All in all a decent, comfortable, clean and convenient hotel. It provided a good base for the week but the unappealing breakfast was disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex may be hot and require luggage to be carried upstairs if you are not on the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is lucky to have soem good staff, our bags were taken to our room and we were welcomed like old friends. The breakfast was forgetable but the Annex rooms are new and very nice and quiet. For the price and the fact you are next to the tube station into London it is a very good find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel was booked full for Olympics, however given that we made the reservation 10 months in advance, we were still given a room in the Annex.
We had to lug our luggage up several flights of narrow stairs.

Room was small. No air conditioning. However, room was clean.
Staff was responsive to questions and requests (minus the request for a better room).
Breakfast was served and had a good variety of choices.
Area around hotel was convenient to lots of restaurants, pubs, and boutique stores.
Tube stop about 7-minute walk from hotel. However, it is a bit further out from central London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have to use this place for work, and have stayed a few times in what I thought was a clean enough,bland 3 star quality hotel. Last time I was in a ground floor room in a separate building which seemed fine and had access through patio doors to a well kept garden- good for smokers. When I pulled the dated, busy bedspread off there was a duvet with a dark maroon cover, I was horrified to find crusted white marks - not bleach stains I'm at pains to say - but what was obviously far more disgusting, apparently freshly dried semen. It was past midnight and I'd given up on speaking to the night staff so luckily found a clean, twin duvet in the wardrobe. The next day when I spoke to the reception staff and showed them photos on my phone, there was a vague response about addressing it with cleaning staff. No proper apology or offer of a rebate, etc, so disappointing customer service as well. Breakfast is buffet style, poor quality sausages and bland scrambled eggs along with the usual pastries, cereals, etc. if you don't need to stay right in Chiswick then find better at Earls Court or Hammersmith and take the tube where you need to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you are looking for a balance of price comfort and location then the Chiswick is for you
Set in a West London Victorian Style neighborhood with the hustle and bustle of a busy main street right our front the .not too far away approx 7/8 minutes is the Subway (tube) within 20 minutes ride you are in the heart of London's Major attractions and also within 20 minutes of Heathrow are some of the reasons this is a great location, recently renovated the hotel is clean and moderately priced buffet breakfast is not the greatest and could be better! the single rooms are quite small most doubles are adequately sized

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Garden area quiet but no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I recently stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Olympics with my sister. The staff were very friendly (special thanks to Soren for his warm welcome) and the twin room we booked was a reasonable size with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom. Breakfast consisted of a hot and cold buffet, good choice but disappointed there was no bacon. The hotel has plenty of restaurants nearby for evening meals; we ate very well at Strada. A 5-10 minute walk to the nearest tube station at Turnham Green. All in all a good place to stay if you don't want to pay the prices in Central London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites

Address: 73 Chiswick High Road | Chiswick, London W4 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#369 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chiswick Palace Hotel London
Best Western Chiswick Palace And Suites
Chiswick Hotel London
Best Western London
BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chiswick Palace & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.