We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit on the small side” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mabledon Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mabledon Court Hotel to your Saves list
Mabledon Court Hotel
10-11 Mabledon Place | Bloomsbury, Camden, London WC1H 9BA, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #773 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit on the small side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed one night this week, in a good location with plenty of bars and restaurants close by. The reception was a bit scruffy but receptionist very good. Rooms were very small but very clean. If you were a big guy you would struggle a bit in the bathroom, also the room was very hot so hot in fact that warm water came out of the cold tap for a while! Most rooms had squeeky floor boards which made sleeping difficult.
Breakfast was good and there was a decent selection of thigs to choose from, also the breakfast service was fast and efficient.

Overall okay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    73
    26
    54
See reviews for
21
79
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked a last minute trip to London and were faced with the problem of most hotels being booked. We saw this place and took a risk based on some of the mixed reviews.
Firstly it is located very close to Euston and very convenient for travellers with large bags.
Secondly, when we arrived the staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. As a northerner in London, this made a welcome change from what you expect in the capital.
The room was clean, compact but perfectly suitable for two people who plan to spend most of their time either out of the room or sleeping in it.
The breakfast in the morning was adequate and edible although not the greatest full-English in the world (eggs were overdone) but there was a good selection of cereal, juice and fruit.

There are a few areas of this hotel that they could improve. Free wifi is provided via a router in the corridor. We were at the far end of the corridor and as such the signal was a little poor. Not great but it's still free wifi!
Also the floor boards and quite squeaky and the corridor doors make quite a noise. And odd thing to comment on but even the quietest guests could disturb your sleep.

I add these points as I know people would consider this hotel when attending for exams in the local area and this may be a consideration for your last minute revision!

This is a good hotel and given the price, the facilities are great.
Also there is a nice pub and Italian restaurant just down the road!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this hotel with friends. My single room was compact, to put it mildly. In fact, it was cramped, with no luggage storage space at all, a very narrow bed, in which I had to reverse the way I slept because otherwise my head was near a draught which was coming under the curtains from the window. The window had to be open because the room was hot, no aircon, just a fan atop an inaccessible wardrobe. Also, although I was on the 4th floor, there was scaffolding outside the window and workmen's heads were seen passing by! The en suite was also tight and the shower tighter still and in serious need of modernisation. Breakfast room was clean, service was fast (sometimes too fast!). In my hour of departure, Reception phoned me to ask when I was going. Not very courteous. This hotel is OK only for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ok so this was chosen as it was near St Pancras Station where I had to go to get the train to Luton Airport. Double room (Sept 2013) was £120 per night. The room literally contained a double bed that fitted between the wall of the bathroom and the window and a table with a small wardrobe. The doors banged every time you closed them and we were right next to the fire doors leading to the stairs which were loud!! The shower in the bathroom was a small cubicle shower with the shower head about 5'5" off the floor - I am only 6' and not a large build but I found it extremely difficult to have a proper shower. However, the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and there was someone on the main door 24 hours a day so it was also very secure. The staff were friendly (on the whole) and it served its purpose. The WiFi was a bit unreliable but there is a good 3G signal in that area so that didn't bother me too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed overnight to catch early Eurostar, hotel is in quiet street about 6 or 7 mins walk from station. Good selection of restaurants nearby and next door to a pub which sells a good pint!. Nice clean, well appointed room. Only small criticism would be that breakfast was not served until 7:30 which was too late for me. Overall a good place for an overnight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location is very good, in walking distance to St. Pancras. You get a small room with a narrow bed and small ensuit bathroom, but it is ok for a couple of nights. The personnel is very friendly, and the breakfast is excellent. It is expensive, but compared to other hotels in London I would say the price is fair.
A big minus is the unreliability of the internet (WiFi, fast, but only when it functions).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel offered good value for money considering the prices of other hotels close by, all of which are close by Euston, St Pancreas International and Kings Cross railway stations. The rooms are small and the double bed is also small and one side is against the wall. The on-suite bathroom was adequate but we are fairly small people. Large people would find it difficult to shower. However, for a one night stay it was ok. The bed linen was clean and crisp and the bathroom had been cleaned before we arrived. The hotel receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Lots of eating places nearby. We were on the 9.30 am train from Euston next day so the location of this hotel was excellent, no more than 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise. There is a lot of construction work goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mabledon Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabledon Court Hotel

Address: 10-11 Mabledon Place | Bloomsbury, Camden, London WC1H 9BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly hotel run by same family for three generations, set in the heart of Bloomsbury in a quiet neighborhood, near shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mabledon Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabledon Court London
Hotel Mabledon Court
Mabledon Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabledon Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.