We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for Earls Court events” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maranton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Maranton House Hotel to your Saves list
The Maranton House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Barkston Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 0EN, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #677 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Union City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel for Earls Court events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

It was an excellent value during the olympics and we could not have picked a more perfect location. It was down the street from the Earls Court subway station and 2 blocks from the entrance to Earls Court arena. There are plenty of restaurants and the hotel is on a very nice street. Also down the street from a Marks & Spencer which we frequented for sandwiches, yogurts, desserts. There is an empty refrigerator in the room which we stocked from M&S.

Maranton was like staying at a relative's house. We had room 10 which had 2 cute balconies overlooking a small courtyard. There is no elevator so you might want to request the lower rooms if that will be an issue. The only minor complaints we have are the crack on the toilet seat, every once in a while the toilet didn't flush fully, and the pillows could be a little fluffier. If you are looking for luxury and modern, this is not the place to be. But if you want value, great location, and the feel of visiting a relative in London we would recommend the Maranton. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    73
    50
    35
    11
See reviews for
25
90
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed July 5th for one night. Had room 8, a single. Carpet was stained and room, although clean, was "tired". I always stay in Earls court when on business in London, and would not stay here again. I would stay elsewhere (The Mayflower is a similar price and far superior)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Pluses:

- Very convenient and pleasant location (3 minutes to Earl's Court tube) but on a quiet green street
- Nice and honest staff (one day we forgot 100 GBP right on a table and nobody touched it)
- No credit card or cash deposit required
- Surprisingly very convenient bed (we had a lot of wonderful dreams each night )
- Good quality of hot water, central heating was working on a cold night (10 degrees in June)

Minuses:

- No elevator that means problems if you have heavy bags and were allocated a room on top
- Wi-fi was not working at our room, coverage is very limited
- Many small and cheap improvement could be done in rooms (like lacking part of lamp, old sockets, etc.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I recently just got back from my trip to London, and i sincerely loved this hotel.
I stayed in room 12, and it was spacious, which surprised me as many reviews/hotel reviews in general go on about how small London Hotel rooms are. But it was spacious, my full size bed was great for it's purpose: which was sleeping after many tiring hours of sightseeing.
The bathroom was perfectly clean, and when i did let housekeeping into my room to clean, everything was the way i left it & smelled of cleaning product (which is always a good sign).
I am already looking to go back to London, and I fully plan on booking this hotel again.

MY ONE NEGATIVE is the wifi. As i said I had room 12 (which i totally recommend), HOWEVER, the signal was at it's weakest there, and it only worked for me my first day in the hotel. If you have a smart phone (that works overseas), this isnt a big deal, but i didnt and had to buy a phone for the internet.

I would however tell people who would like to stay here, NOT to pack a lot. There is no elevator, so carrying a lot of bags won't be easy if you are alone.

The GREATEST thing of all, is it's location. You are practically right at Earl's Court tube station, and you have a Mark & Spencers right down the block as well as fast food places, great pubs. I'm a woman who decided to travel alone to London, and never once did i truly feel alone. Earl's Court is phenomenal, and i miss it so much already! It's constantly busy, and there is everything a small 2min walk away. Best trip ever.


All in all, i was unbelievably happy with this hotel & it's service.

Room Tip: Room 12 was unbelievably clean, quiet, and i sincerely loved it. It provides a view of other homes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maranton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maranton House Hotel

Address: 14 Barkston Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #677 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maranton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Maranton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranton Hotel London
The Maranton Hotel
The Maranton House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maranton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.