We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor, faulty heating, cold shower” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Holborn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Holborn Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Holborn Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired decor, faulty heating, cold shower”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Tired decor, faulty heating, cold shower and then they surcharge every drink. Pleasant staff the only saving grace, although bed comfortable. Bathroom freezing and no indication of shower controls, but either maximum made no difference.
Won't stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    473
    228
    91
    52
See reviews for
151
444
60
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have stayed in many 5* hotels across the world and this does not even compare with one of them. It is dated, dingy and smelt of Chinese food. It's decor is tatty,dated,worn and grubby. The bathroom is a small dark hole. We complained immediately and the staff were most helpful and moved us to their bright, trendy smart hotel at St Paul's. I can not comprehend the reviews that rate this hotel as anything more than an average 3*, if you are happy with that then book the The Grange Holburn. Horrible.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a very refreshing and good hotel. located very close to a tube station with direct connection to LHR. Staff are very polite and helpful and room was great. within walking distance to Oxford Str, Covent Garden and West End. Only slight problem was that noises from street could be heard and also people walking in corridor. Otherwise this is a lovely and warm hotel which offers a great service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. Arrived at 1230 well before the 3pm checkin time to deposit our suitcase and was very happy and relieved that our room was ready which allowed us to checkin early! What really pleasant checkin staff they were, who couldn't be more friendly and proffesional if they tried! It costs nothing to smile and acknowledge its guests with a good morning/evening, and certainly makes you feel wanted, welcome and at home. The grange has perfected its customer service by respecting its guests to such a high level and treating each and every guest like royalty.

We made our way to our superior room to find an immaculately clean and well presented room. Spotless!! The shower is to die for, with the shower head located in the ceiling providing a "rain shower" effect, it was upsetting when you had to come out and you wish your time to be extended. The bathrooms are very compact in size but luxurious with it with high quality complimentary products for your use.

As stated by the receptionists and on the website, FREE wi-fi is in operation throughout the whole hotel with no dead spots, and was never interrupted unlike other hotels that have a weak signal and is also charged for. In this day and age, ALL hotels should provide free wi-fi for its guests within the cost of the room, rather than using wi-fi as yet another extra guaranteed income.

The hotels concierge staff were very knowledgable and extremely helpful and again, couldn't do anything more to help. Fantastic!!

Breakfast was usual price for a five star hotel and had something for everyone on a buffet style basis. Unlike other hotels we have stayed in there was no waiting to be seated, plenty of tables to accommodate everyone even at peak times. The waiting staff and manager were constantly checking that everything was ok, which it was.

The staff responsible for cleaning your room couldn't be more helpful. They came to clean on Saturday afternoon and all we needed was a top up of items to facilitate making hot drinks. The lady insisted on cleaning our mugs even though this wasn't needed in my opinion and she gave plenty of coffee and sugar etc, all this with a constant smile on her face. I sensed that nothing was any bother to her.

If I was to be in my daily role of Editor at Large ( www.http://www.thatdubaisite.com/hotels-of-the-world/ )
and were writing a "Tried and Tested" article (which would be commenting on the very "finer" detail) or my other role of Hospitality Consultant ( http://psm-int.com ), then sure, there are a small number of very minor issues that could be of contention, but these would be very minor and not things that most people would recognise as issues. More so, precise attention to detail and what I would class as further enhancement to further the standing as five star expectancy. We find that a small minority of guests would find something to complain about, just for the sake of it, which marks the hotel as having a negative comment against them unnecessarily, which obviously puts people off of booking that hotel. Whereas constructive criticism should be echoed in private. On our hotels of the world section, we NEVER have a bad word to say about a hotel, we just simply do not feature them until the errors are corrected and "Tried and Tested" again by us. This is how things SHOULD be done, you do not gain anything by criticising publicly just for the sake of it!

There were road works being carried out outside the hotel, yet due to the glazed windows and sound proofing, it was not hear inside the hotel. This also applied to the traffic noise that was not heard even though the hotel is located on a very busy road junction.

All in all, for the price of less than £300 for a two night stay including breakfast for us both in a five star hotel, what a bargain, this would not be matched in our opinion elsewhere in Central London for quality, service and price. We didn't get to utilise the spa area but we had a look and was very impressed at what was on offer.

Tips:
Park at Westfield shopping centre. Not only is it cheaper than local NCP car parks-between £6 and £9 for every 24hour stay, and it is under 24hr camera operation. The local NCP car parks and other car parks range from £2 per hour up to £50 per 24hrs

Get a taxi (if there are two or more of you) if you are travelling from the hotel to a west end show, or if you are going shopping in that area, it's much cheaper and cleaner than by tube.

If you move anything in the mini bar as we did to store a pint of milk, be sure to let reception know or you may be charged for the item as I think it is weight sensitive and looks as if you have used the items. When I mentioned that we had moved an item they took the charge off our bill and took my word for it that we had not used anything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my daughter for her 25th birthday as going to see a show in the west end
I booked it a s mystery hotel on last minute .com and was not disappointed
we checked in 12 as our room was ready, because of the occasion they upgraded our room
and also breakfast a an upgrade, we had been in the room 5 minutes and my daughter was given a gift of carrot cake with happy birthday written in chocolate sauce.
he had lunch in the restaurant from the A La Carte and it was outstanding
we went for a swim in the pool and the whole experience was lovely
thank-you all so much for a memorable time

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I often feel disappointed when I stay again in a place I liked first time around. Pleased to say this was not the case here. My deluxe king room was excellent value and had very good space and a comfortable bed. Unlike many hotels, the decor feels quite homely and comfortable while still being smart. Room service food was good and breakfast was fine. The great location and nice pool complete the picture.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a 3 day business trip in January.

Top Class hotel at reasonable rate (when I stayed)

Rooms: nicely furnished, classic style, spacious
Bathroom: very good. Not as good as the room but still very good
Location: excellent, 2 minutes from the nearest tube station, 10 minutes walk to Covent Garden


Compared to other hotels I have stayed in London excellent price/performance ratio

Highly recommended

Hint: rooms facing the street are a bit noisy. Did not really bother me but if you like a really quiet room you may want to ask for something not facing the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#270 Business Hotel in London
#317 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Holborn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.