We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not anywhere near 5 star due to lack of attention to detail, small room and tired looking decor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Holborn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Holborn Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Holborn Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #374 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not anywhere near 5 star due to lack of attention to detail, small room and tired looking decor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What was good

The pool was great and location too. Reasonable welcome.

What wasn't so good

Tiny room with microscopic bathroom. It's the little things that differentiate the really good hotels from the average one. For example tired decor, no bathrobe (had to ask for this), ice machine broken, uht milk, no fridge - I could go on.

Generally poor for a 5 star - shame as it wouldn't take that much to improve it significantly. Will explore other options in future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    521
    254
    95
    55
See reviews for
173
496
64
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here en route to home via Cornwall. Given huge room even though alone. Not exactly cosy. Noise from tube trains all over hotel even on higher floors and in restaurant! Having said that the staff were a bit amateurish but ok and rooms very old fashioned but comfortable. Weird metal shower screen. Not nice. Good location if you can put up with noise. Dated but good value for money. Breakfast nothing to write home about overpriced as usual but perfectly ok if you need it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although location good this is very poor for a 5 Star hotel. We arrived just before 2 and rooms not ready so advised to come back at 3. We went into bar for something to eat and drink while we waited. The two girls on the bar did not have a clue what they were doing and had to ring someone to ask how to make one of the drinks, We had to ask for the one pint that arrived for it to be topped up (they forgot the other). We then ordered food for four of us two couples each having the same the girl came back from the bar to double check why only two of us were eating! She then asked if we wanted drinks (which we had already ordered). At this point we decided to cancel our order and go elsewhere. We got back at 3 only to be told only one of our rooms was ready could we come back at 4. We explained we were going to a show and this was not good enough so then found us two rooms - one on the second floor - one on the ninth. Again we advised we were not happy with this and so they found is two rooms close to each other - one of which was very inferior more what you would expect for a 3 Star rating. All through this process the staff had a very dismissive and arrogant attitude. Breakfast was a fiasco with people queing in the corridor for a table. There were plenty of tables they were just piled up with dirty dishes waiting to be cleared but due to lack of staff this was not happening. When we eventually got in we had to sit for the whole of our meal looking at two tables piled with dirty plates. Our table was not properly set and we had to keep asking for spoons, forks etc. All the fruit juices were empty, there was no cereal bowls and two ladies waited so long for plates for the cold meats they eventually gave up and had hot plates. My husband and friend ordered lattes which took 20 minutes to arrive (they did let us have these free by way of apology). There were people everywhere standing about complaining waiting for something. The staff (who were extremely harrassed) either did not understand what people were asking for or just forgot it was chaos. It was more like a self service cafe than a 5 Star restuarant. I would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be more spacious at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Enjoyed , two day ,overnight stay this weekend, great warm welcome from Concierge staff, reception immediately offered full use of Spa facilities to freshen up even though we arrived hours before check in time. Two, extra comfy, double beds twin room was excellent a/c, mini bar,safe, ironing table( no chance of that !).Sky Bar,Japanese restaurant and Spa, just the icing on the Cake. Continental breakfast plentiful and forgotten toast was put right in style, Five star? Maybe slightly faded- mainland Europe would call it stylish.Fab location.Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Higher Floors , less traffic noise, underground etc., and better views, you are in London after all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was small and it sounded as if the tube train was coming through the bedroom. The reception staff were not at all accommodating in fact rude. Breakfast was cold I had to ask for items to be replaced 3/4 hour before closure of service. I will not be returning,for a 5 star hotel it is sadly lacking in style and class.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here one night on business in June 2013. Reception staff friendly and efficient, room clean and bed comfortable.
Some fixtures and fittings were a little worn and dated in the room I stayed in but not critically so.
Can't quite grasp why the hotel purports to be a 5 star establishment, it certainly isn't that.
Location is a short walk from Holborn tube and in turn, Covent Garden and the West End.
It is based on a busy road junction so be warned unless you're a heavy sleeper traffic will wake you early as it did for me!
That said I did get a good last minute rate for this hotel and would probably stay there again if I could get a similar rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I last stayed here during my visit to London for a week in September 2011. At the time, the hotel a great place to stay at. Firstly, it has excellent location, just a couple of minutes walk from Holborn Tube station (the Saisbury & Boots are close-by), and a short walk to Covent Garden & the British Museum. In fact, when I got there too early for my check-in, I went to the British Museum for lunch. It was amazing! My room itself was on the 8th floor, had an amazing view of the street life of Central London, the room was medium-to-large size, and had great amenities such as an electric kettle, complimentary tea & coffee, a TV, iron & ironing board, even an an ipod dock. The bathroom was absolutely luxurious, with giant mirrors, as were the hotel toiletries, which came from their in-house spa. The breakfast is decent, a little simple & very few choices, but quite ok. Since I was in London during one of their hottest weeks of the year, I didn't use the ac, so can't comment on that. Their staff was very polite. Overall a more-than-comfortable hotel, excellent location (their best feature), decent food, and polite staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Family Hotel in London
#285 Business Hotel in London
#349 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Holborn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.