We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Holborn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Holborn Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Holborn Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 1,065 Hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on several occasions and each time had a different BAD experience. First time my iPod was thrown in the bin during cleaning. Second time I wanted information about what was on my bill and was told dismissively 'we don't make up charges' the third time I ordered something that was on the menu as one thing and came as something else. I tried to raise this and the blame was pushed to me. I was consistently accused of getting it wrong. Had anyone took the time to talk to me I would have shown them there are two menus - inconsistently written, but nobody wanted to listen. I called reception 5 times to tell them about the two menus but they wouldn't answer. Do not stay, when you need help or information they are not interested. You wont find service here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    473
    227
    91
    52
See reviews for
151
444
60
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yoknapatawpha
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is excellent but at the lower end of the five star category. The staff are friendly, helpful and very efficient. The rooms are well appointed, spacious ( by central London standards) although basically furnished in a standard upmarket style (none of the flourishes of a world class hotel here). The food is good.
But, but... this is all a bit like a grand version of a Holiday Inn. A little too processed to deserve a five star rating. And a problem: it's clearly on the stag/hen night and coach party circuits. It's also close to hospitals with excellent A & E wards. So be careful about what rooms you choose on a Friday or Saturday night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good quality hotel in an ideal location within walikng distance to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Soho. Staff are very friendly and the hotels rooms are very clean and comfortable. Executive rooms on upper floors are best, ask for 901 or 903. Can be a bit noisy with traffic at night though like most central London locations.

Room Tip: Best to ask for an executive room or request an upgrade whhen you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nicely surprised by the size of the room, very comfy bed, noisy air conditioning unit though, couldn't seem to turn it off!

Staff were polite and always happy to assist, easy check-in, overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel close to buses into the west end and oxford street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I visit the Holborn every year and this year is the only time I've been a bit dissatisfied. We arrived at 12 and as I expected the rooms were not ready, we were told to come back in a couple of hours. We came back at 4 and when I asked for my room they said they didn't think it was ready and after some cross words and phoning maids I got in my room at half 4. They also lost my friends bag and took a good 15 mins for them to find it. The rooms are always lovely with plenty of amenities and replenished regularly. The location of the hotel is brilliant for me, right on the corner of Oxford Street. The food was really nice and staff attentive and welcoming. Also the pool is gorgeous the wait staff are excellent you will enjoy your stay here its just that paying for a top hotel you should get top service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Habrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed one night last week. From first entering reception the staff couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. We had a room on the top floor with suprb views of London. Will definitely return. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is comfy, clean and central. Our 'ladies' have been coming here for a few years for the annual trip and find the staff polite and helpful, the food good and the spa area pleasant. Would recommend

Room Tip: for a quiet night you need a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Holborn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Holborn Hotel

Address: 50-60 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
#269 Business Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange Holborn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegantly composed Grange Holborn Hotel is uniquely placed to satisfy the most discerning visitors to the capital; whether enjoying the local theatres, shops, museums, galleries and parks or maximizing time in the financial heart of the City, the Grange Holborn Hotel, provides the perfect location for any visit to the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grange Holborn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Holborn London
Hotel Grange Holborn
Grange Holborn Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Holborn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.