We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location for a London break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Euro Hotel to your Saves list
The Euro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“An excellent location for a London break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of St Pancras Railway Station, even with heavy suitcases. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and those same heavy suitcases were carried up to our 2nd floor room for us. Our room was spotlessly clean, bright and spacious with comfortable beds. We would have appreciated more than one bedside light though, we both like to read in bed but not always at the same time.
The bathroom was small but again clean and bright. Unfortunately, as were on the 2nd floor the water pressure was very poor. This lead to a very slow filling toilet cistern, not ideal when 2 are sharing a room. We were also able to get only lukewarm water in the shower, not a problem as the weather was so hot, but could have been difficult in colder weather.
It was very warm and we struggled to get the sash window to stay open. With help from a member of staff it was propped open with a piece of wood. A fan was provided but struggled with the humid conditions.
A well prepared breakfast was served in a bright room on snowy tableclothes.
My travelling companion had a late flight and was grateful for the opportunity to leave the aforementioned heavy cases in the office after checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    259
    80
    15
    4
See reviews for
130
145
72
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Good value centrally located hotel. Very clean room and lovely breakfast room. Cot in room as per our request. Not too much street noise. Check in and check out quick and efficient. Plus they looked after baby stroller in reception office so we did not have to take it to and from the room. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This lovely hotel is just 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras and is set in a quiet, leafy crescent just off the main road. It is also 5 minutes walk from Russell Street underground (on the Piccadilly Line). It is a lovely looking building, well kept, very clean and comfortable. The room and en-suite were compact but had everything we needed. We only stayed one night but would have been fine staying for a few days as there was a small wardrobe and plenty of drawer space.The road to Russell Square is full of local shops, restaurants and pubs with outdoor seating. It felt alive and is a nice area. The staff are friendly and helpful and we were made very welcome. The inclusive cooked breakfast was an absolute treat and it's the first time I have experienced this in a budget hotel. I'm really pleased I found this hotel and it will certainly be my first choice on my next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Nice, reasonably priced facility within a 10-minute walk to St.Pancras International Station and Kings Cross Station and Tube Station. Clean, adequate rooms. Friendly service and excellent breakfast. Adequate supply of nearby restaurants. From Heathrow, take the Heathrow "Connect" (not "Express") Train to Paddington Station (10L, buy tickets right on the train; 30 minute trip to Paddington); from Paddington, take taxi to hotel (15L; 10 minute trip); no problem, even for seniors with luggage.
TIP: if planning to use the Chunnel Train, spend a few minutes checking out the large Pancras International Station layout, and the Chunnel Train security gates in advance; they can get fairly busy, so show up for your train 45 minutes early, and you can get checked through and find a seat in the nice lounge. There a a couple of good bakery-sandwich shops in the main station to buy your lunch for the train prior to checking through security.

Room Tip: Most rooms face Cartwright Gardens, but no problem with street or park noise after sundown. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in 3 different rooms in this hotel and all were comfortable, clean, and had great amenities. When my husband was with us we had a large room for 3, on the ground floor looking out onto the park. This room was a bit noisy (pub around the corner and FIFA games on), but we would not have heard anyone had we shut the windows. We were very comfortable and slept well. Then my son and I stayed a few days on our own and had to move to a double room (which was fine because it was cheaper). This time we were on the 2nd floor looking out the back. Again, lovely room, very quiet, had a shower instead of a bath. We came back to the hotel for our last night in London and had a room on the first floor, looking out the back, again with a shower stall. The breakfast was very good (toast, eggs, sausage/bacon, beans, cereal, fruit, yogurt). The staff was very caring and friendly. And the location was superb - being a few blocks from Kings Cross station and Euston station we could get absolutely anywhere we wanted to go! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in triple room in basement for 1 night, room ok. Hotel and Breakfast great.with being in basement you could hear everyone walking above, which was often.Plus must have had main water and toilet out let running through our room,as every toilet flush and shower throughout hotel came through our room.Was kept awake right up till 2:30 am with guests coming in (foot steps above our room). would stay again but not in basement.

Room Tip: Doo not stay in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Friendly staff, great breakfast, easy to walk to from st pancras or euston. Good size clean rooms. No lift though so ask for ground floor if you do not do stairs.Near to local transport but possible to walk into centre.good value for money.Have stayed many times and always look here first for London stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Address: 53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#244 Business Hotel in London
#321 Family Hotel in London
#345 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London
The Euro Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Euro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.