We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, rooms too warm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Euro Hotel to your Saves list
The Euro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, rooms too warm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed overnight here whilst traveling to London to surprise my uncle and family for my Uncle's 50th.

The had a single room which was small, but had everything I needed for an overnight, except a toilet and shower which is shared with the floor.
The room however was far too hot, it felt like a sauna, and I couldn't adjust the heater. So I had the window open most of the time.

Also the remote for the TV in my room never worked.

The bed was ok, however trying to sleep was a nightmare due to the heated rooms!

Breakfast was nice and was made to order and all staff were very kind and helpful!

It's in a great location not far from London Euston station and was ideal for my kind of visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    265
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
131
146
73
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location, easy walking distance from Euston station and Russell Square Underground (piccadilly line)
Breakfast, room, facilities all excellent - nothing too fancy or fussy - we only wanted somewhere to sleep and have good breakfast and this hotel was ideal. Breakfast cooked to order, plenty of cereals, coffee etc
Thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to London, found our way around easily on tube.
Would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.
Family room was suitable size for us with 21 year old and 7 year old, plenty of room and comfortable.

Room Tip: stayed in family room (basement) at front of building. No disturbances, generally quiet and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It was lovely to stay in a very friendly, cosy hotel which was situated in a nice quiet street who's building had traditional character. We stayed here in the superior family room which was very clean, warm, comfortable beds, plenty of space and fresh clean towels and en suite facilities. Lovely dining room which served breakfast to order. It is within walking distance of Euston, St Pancreas and Kings Cross stations. Round the corner from the hotel are lovely restaurants and bars, close to Russell Square. Can't complain about anything at this hotel. It had everything we needed for our stay and would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en suite, so check beforehand. There are no lifts in this hotel so if you have a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

A friendly hotel with great location. easy access via tube (Euston Station).
Clean and comfortable, just what you need for a short trip in London. no need for big name and expensive hotels!
Good full English breakfast cooked to order.
thoroughly enjoyed the stay with my daughters and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

When I arrived in the hotel I felt dissapointed. After reading reviews on tripadvisor I knew that there was no lift and the room must be rather modest (though on the hotel's site it looked more decent). Some of the drawbacks were unexpected. It was very cold in the room and the water in the shower was cold too. We asked the stuff and the battery was repaired on the second day. After that it became terribly hot, while the water in the shower remained rather cold and the water pressure was not good.
Anyhow every time we asked the stuff they were ready to do all they could. After staying three days we got used to small inconveniences and I should say I liked this small hotel. I enjoyed staying in an old building though sometimes the staircase seemed too creaky. The breakfast room is very nice with the view on the Cartwright Gardens. The location is unbeatable - two underground stations in 5 minutes walk and plenty of good places to eat (my favourite was the fish restaurant in the Leigh street).
Compared to other budget hotels I previously stayed in London this one is maybe one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years, and as my second last visit was very dissapointing, but this visit was fantastic again!
The staff is so friendly and helpfull, breakfast is extensive and freshly prepared.
Rooms are cozy, clean and well equipped. Location is convinient to all the tourist attractions and (tube) stations King's X and Russell Square.

I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed for 5 nights.

3 good things:
-Responsive and nice staff
-Breakfast for b&b (not the same quality everyday though)
-Location

-The heating works only after minght until 5 am.
-poor internet connection in the room
-no Elevator
-one day when i came to my room i found three repair men trying working on somthing in the wall. The table with my staff on it was removed and the door room was wide open. At least i could have been informed about the construction work in my room beforehand. so that i pack my staff in my luggage. I think this is a highly unacceptable and irresponsible attitude towards customers.



Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EuroHotelManager, Manager at The Euro Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your generally positive comments.

You are unhappy that our maintenance team came to the room while you were out to replace its hairdryer which the cleaning staff had identified as being faulty. The replacement necessitated making good the wall behind the dryer. We sent in three maintenance staff so that the replacement and making good could be done very speedily in the hope that you would not be inconvenienced in any way. We sought to do the work while you were out but unfortunately you returned before the work was totally completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Address: 53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#244 Business Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
#351 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London
The Euro Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Euro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.