We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Euro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Euro Hotel to your Saves list
The Euro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed in this hotel in March 2008. Wonderful quiet position in a crescent off a quiet road. Excellent as a stopover hotel as it is near Euston, Kings Cross and St. Pancras stations. I used it to go to the theatre and an exhibition at the British Museum.

Staffed totally it seemed by young, extremely pleasant women who couldn't do enough for you. Very willing to keep luggage on day of departure for late travelling.

Cooked English breakfast and the room information folder even stipulates 'don't be afraid to ask for seconds'.

Rooms neat and tidy, bathroom of my room was clean but admittedly it was a one person/one direction bathroom but then this is a London hotel and for the price I had no complaints whatsover and would stay there again without question.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    265
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
131
146
73
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

I've stayed here a couple of times in single rooms. The first time I got a small room. The second time was a big room downstairs. Both were fine. And this is considering the price of the rooms for the wonderful location in London that you are in. I'd stay here again if I have to stay over in London again.

  • Liked — the value for money
  • Disliked — one single room I stayed in was a bit pokey
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

This really is a terrific little hotel. Walking distance from both Kings Cross/St Pancras and Euston Station, it is clean, comfortable and amazingly cheap (especially if you take the option of the shared bathroom). A number of little extras that add to the experience for the budget traveller - there is free and reliable wi-fi, you can ask for seconds of breakfast, and the supplies of tea and coffee are generous. I am over my days of youth hostels, but can't afford luxury hotels - this is exactly the sort of place I am looking for. It's now my hotel of choice for London.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

The hotel is an easy walk, even with luggage, from St Pancras, Kings Cross and Euston stations making it perfect if arriving by train from the Continent or the North. The location is relatively quiet and in a pleasant crescent overlooking a park. Reception, unusually for London hotels, was friendly, helpful and extremely efficient. Despite arriving at just after mid-day, we were shown straight to our room and although there was no porter (and not to be expected at this price) a member of staff broke off from vaccuming to help us with our luggage.
The room was large compared to other London rooms we have used, and was modern, clean and pleasant, whilst remaining symathetic to the Georgian building. We chose an En-Suite room and the facilities were more than adequate with plenty of soap, shampoo, towels etc. The toilet was one of those electric masher jobs which are slightly annoying, but I guess the only way it can be done sometimes.
A full English breakfast is served between 7:30 and 9:00. We had to wait 5 minutes for a table one morning, but mostly it was straight to the table and immediate service. The choice for breakfast isn't huge, consisting of cereals, fruit juice, bacon, sausages, eggs and toast. We found it all entirely adequate if unexciting. Fresh coffee was available all day.
What rates this hotel as excellent then? Quite simply the service. Every staff member we dealt with was helpful, friendly and efficient, but then this really is a 'Euro' hotel. Fellow Brits, please take note!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Too warm (arn't they always)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

This is a great value little hotel that is absolutely spotless which is a big plus in my book. It faces out onto some tennis courts in Cartwright Gardens. We stayed there just for one Saturday night in order to go to see Les Miserables. It is about a 25 minute walk from the West End and a stone's throw from the British Library. The nearest tube is Euston (7 mins). I chose it because all of the more central and expensive hotels got such negative reviews. This place on the other hand offers well priced accomodation with a good breakfast cooked to order (which is sadly becoming unusual). We stayed in a "double ensuite" which was by no means big but then again this is London. Tea/Coffee making facilites were at the ready as was free internet downstairs. Basically this has the feel of a very good guest house with hotel privacy. A few negatives however: due to the very large georgian windows outside noise was an issue during the night due to a group of revellers who clearly didn't want to go home! Much thicker blackout curtains may dampen some of this with the added bonus of keeping the room dark in the morning. Also i don't like having to pay on arrival but on this occasion didn't argue and cooperated. Thankfully i have no regrets. Definitely would stay here again but a taxi is required for the West End.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to pay on arrival
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

This hotel is an a decent spot, close to several tube stations, as well as St. Pancras (10 mins) and the British Library. Lots of options for food and drinking real close, without being in the touristy area of Picadilly Circus and the like. The hotel itself was clean and fairly modern, however the shared baths were very small, even a bit claustraphobic if you are not a petite person. The walls, and particularly the floors are thin, but it didn't bother us so much as our downstairs neighbor as she came up and said we were keeping her awake (we were up at 3am because of time difference, etc.). Overall I had a great experience, other than the small size of the shower and Water Cooler rooms and the stairs (chock that up to being tired from all the walking and being out of shape). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any budget traveler who can tolerate the smallness of the shower rooms.

  • Liked — Value for the money!
  • Disliked — Size and quality of shower rooms.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

What a great little hotel. Spotlessly clean throughout. The breakfast was made to order and hot with a good choice of cereals/juices, and the staff were very very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. It's quiet and there's no busy traffic to keep you awake. Kings Cross is approx 10 to 15 mins walk. The British Museum, We Will Rock You and Oxford Street are approx 15 to 20 mins walk. All are pleasant walks. There are tube stations within easy reach. I noticed two restaurants within two mins of the hotel and a few pubs, so if like me you are on your own and don't want to venture far this hotel is ideal location.
I was dreading coming to London on my own (had to come for a conference) but I'm so pleased I found this Jewel of a hotel. I intend to go back with my family.

  • Liked — Clean hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast and great location.
  • Disliked — There was nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Euro Hotel

Address: 53 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#244 Business Hotel in London
#330 Family Hotel in London
#350 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Euro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hotel London
The Euro Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Euro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.