We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Tavistock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great hotel.................stayed here lots and they are doing works on the hotel. Beds and rooms good with ensuite and bath. Lovely staff and good breakfast. Only down side is you can not be guaranteed a double room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    605
    536
    217
    132
See reviews for
225
502
199
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nothing fancy but in a good location for getting around London, room a bit small but adequate, needed the heating on as it was cold, the pillows are dreadful: so thin. The room was clean and kept tidy, but the bathroom was freezing as no heating in there, and the floor got soaked every time the shower was used.
Breakfast adequate you could eat as much as you wanted, shame there was no yoghurt to go with the continental breakfast. Don't know if we would stay there again, prefer the Imperial.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

enjoyed our stay good, service staff friendly, breakfast average, very easy for public transport to all attractions. Within walking distance from London Kings Cross and Euston railway stations. would use this hotel again.








  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Good location, clean and tidy, helpful staff 10/15 mins easy walk from Euston, 20/30 mins walk to theatre land. dropped of bags early, and left them after we had checked out so we did not have to drag them around all day. Breakfast ok, rubber eggs, not much choice of cooked breakfast for veggies.

Room Tip: Go for one overlooking Tavistock Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel in the internet, good priced London hotel close to three main line train stations. A little tired in bedroom decor, but query lobby in 1920's style. A fabulous included breakfast with lots to choose from including fish. If you are looking for a respectable, reasonable London hotel then this has to be a contender, will certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel is a very good choice for the solo budget-conscious traveller or visiting academic researcher as the location is nearby many of the major names in London University’s college network as well as key tourist sites of interest. In fact, the global subscription-only Eduroam wireless service actually worked fine from my room because of the nearby proximity of university buildings, despite there being no formal in-room wireless available via the hotel itself (which is par for London’s cheaper places, even now unfortunately). One of the things I like about this place is the 1930’s style art deco features that still form a part of the lobby and public rooms which add some atmosphere to what is otherwise a fairly ordinary budget class hotel in central London. Nevertheless, being in central London means its value for money is first rate. Breakfast can be included in the room rate - mine was – and offers solid but unexciting fuel for the day, although I would not pay extra for it but there is plenty of it on offer from the hot buffet. The main gripe I had was with the quality of the beds which was awful, offering no real back support at all. This didn’t bother me that much but would have done if I had stayed for longer than a couple of nights whilst working nearby, and nor would I rush back to this hotel for a romantic break with the other half. Nevertheless, for what it sets out to do at a price point that is attractive, it hits the spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a promising, charming art deco design in the lobby, the hotel got progressively worse as I approached my room. Dated, shabby interiors and fittings. I think the lift has transported me, TARDIS-like, to around 1982! The room was quite large, the bathroom had no room to swing a cat, and only provided a couple of bars of soap. Tea and coffee in the room which was fine and the beds were comfortable enough and clean.

Thin walls was the worst aspect. The Chinese people in the room next to me started having a party about 2245, and had I understood Mandarin, I'd have been able to hear every word and possibly joined in the conversation (!) - luckily it didn't go on for too long.

Although my room looked onto Russell Square, it was not as noisy as I was expecting, and it was a lovely view.

The cooked breakfast looked cheap and nasty. I didn't eat much.

This type of hotel is a relic of a bygone age. The national budget chains like Premier Inn, Travelodge etc have taken the baton of this type of place and left it behind.

This is the kind of hotel that only survives in places like London, where ordinary folk are still desperate to visit, but won't or cannot pay extortionate prices the capital commands for half decent accommodation. Anywhere else, competition would have seen it run out of business most likely.

Not terrible, but average at best - I think most people expect better these days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavistock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.