We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Tavistock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a superbreak with my hubby. Let us check in early, room was clean and bed ok. Breakfast was full English and buffet style. The hotel is dated but has some lovely art decor features. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great tube and rail close by. It's a basic hotel and obviously well used but for somewhere to lay your head after a busy day in London it's great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    605
    536
    217
    132
See reviews for
225
502
199
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A convenient location, 5 minute walk from russell sq tube, lots of convenience stores and eateries near by. The Hotel is easy to check in and out with no hassles , hotel decor a bit out dated but to be expected from large old hotels , quiet at night if you get a back room busy road to right of the hotel. Not bad value for money considering London is a top value capital city for tourism and business ,overall enjoyed my time here.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of tavistock square park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's a busy time of year for tourists in Central London and hotel prices at a premium but when it costs over £100 night B&B you expect a reasonable quality.
There were plenty of staff around and public entrance foyer and bars have a certain moder "Art Deco " style but there was an air of sad and dated.
Bedroom was so small you stub your toe squeezing round bed and furnishings dated to last refit about 1970 and fluorescent strip lighting. The ensuite bathroom was clean but very basic with small towels and small bars cheap soap . We were. It expecting luxury but felt this was well below the standard we expected. Best thing was the firm mattress.
Two tea bags and 2 coffee sachets don't go far ! No mini-bar so that saves money !
After returning from a meal out, we found the Tiffany bar to be sad too - bored staff and no atmosphere despite quite a few customers sitting at the formally arranged sofas chairs and low tables.
Breakfast was quite a reasonable buffet.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms overlooking garden square have best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here on my own on a business trip. I arrived very late and check in was swift. The room was very noisy being at the front of the building. The bathroom was not good: mouldy, dirty. I wasn't brave enough to actually get in the shower it was so gross. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was dire. Tables not turned around promptly, not wiped over, food limp, poor quality, staff disinterested. Give a miss is my advice. So glad I didn't have my family with me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed as part of superbreak. 10 mins walk from Russell Square underground. Felt very safe, even walking back from underground late at night. Rooms spotless, all staff very helpful. Lovely view to garden at front of hotel, but rooms with no view quieter to rear of hotel .You get what you pay for . would stay here again. Can leave luggage in locked room for 50p/day.Food basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was booked in for two nights. On the evening of the second day I could not get into the room. I was told I should have checked out that morning. The receptionist could not tell me where my things in the room were (confidential papers, clothes, medication etc.) I asked to see the manager but was refused - I repeatedly asked where my things were...it was clear they had no idea. After 10 minutes I was given a key to the original room. The staff were very rude and unhelpful. They obviously had no concern for the customer...it is a very busy hotel with hoards of tourists and don't care about customer relations because they can always get bookings.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a group visiting London for the Rugby Challenge cup final, the Tavistock was ideal! The location is great close to tube and rail links, also plenty of bars and pubs in the area. The rooms are compact but clean, ours had a view over the gardens. The breakfast was good and all the staff are really friendly and help full. There are a couple of things that could be better ie the rooms are very hot and the coffee in the room was cheap not very nice, but for the reasonable price you pay you can't complain? Would definitely use the hotel again for a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavistock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.