We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Tavistock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great value fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed from April 5-12 with my 2 adult daughters (2 twin beds and a rollaway cot). I asked for and got a room facing the park higher up (5th floor). Our room had a bay window which added more floor space (needed for 3rd bed). There is some traffic noise with the windows open but the view is worth it. It is not fancy (some peeling paint from water damage) but it was clean. Only soap is provided but I knew that beforehand and brought toiletries. Lots of hot water and very strong water pressure in shower. Hair dryer is available from housekeeping with a GBP20 deposit. Kettle, tea, coffee, cups and glasses in room. Continental breakfast is very basic but no different from what I eat most days (bran flakes) anyway. I could have had English breakfast for a few pounds. The staff were accommodating and friendly (especially the lady serving coffee and tea at breakfast). Location is FANTASTIC. 3-10 minute walk to 3 tube stations (Russell Sq. station is on the line from Heathrow, if you buy an Oyster card at Heathrow, it costs GBP3 after 9:30 a.m. to get into London - it takes about an hour), 3 train stations, Oxford St. buses, the British Museum. There is a small grocery store around the corner where I got apples for 49P and little jugs of milk for 59P (I prefer real milk in my tea). The store has a wide assortment of food and beer and wine if you don't want to pay restaurant prices for every meal and they were giving a 10% student discount on most things. We were out most days for 10-12 hours so we just needed a place to sleep and it fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    605
    536
    217
    132
See reviews for
225
502
199
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A comfortable room at a reasonable price. No luxury toiletries but essentials such as soap. Tea and coffee in the room I liked the fact there was a wardrobe, not just an open hanging space that is usual in business hotels these days. Lots of very hot water. Towels thin but effective and always changed. Good lighting in the bedroom.

Downstairs, free wi-fi in the lobby and bar, none elseswhere. Concierges excellent, rushing out in the rain to find taxes etc. Breakfast room hot, tables small, buffet breakfast with the usuals, but tasted better than it looked. Toast already made which is good for time and turnover so fast that it was still crisp.

This hotel is part of the large Imperial group and other than breakfast, food and coffee was only available in a small bar. You were directed to the other hotels for a variety of resteraunts.

It was very adequate for a stay where you were out all day, and for London, very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

stayed at this hotel from the 8th april to 11th april on a superbreak through the coop travel. Arrived mid afternoon and was dealt with by reception in a professional manor , firstly we were allocated room 309 which is on the front of the hotel third floor unfortunately when we opened the door to the room someone was already staying in the room. Upon discovering this we informed reception who resolved our dilema very promptly and we were reissued with room 305 once again front of hotel on third floor.
GOOD POINTS
Room: - double room with bay window and ajoining door to room 304, room itself was clean and adequit ,onsuite bathroom with shower,soap provided , towels changed daily , bed comfy , extra bedding if needed can be provided , tea and coffee facilities, small flat screen tv with many channels national and international .
Food :- breakfast was good plenty of choice both english and continental , dining room spacious tea and coffee brought to table , tables cleaned , no having to wait for a table ,waiter waiting to greet you on arrival in the dinning room,no queuing for food everything replenished promptly.
The tavistock is in a central location surrounded by many eating places so cannot comment on any aspect of evening dinner or snacks .
Wifi is available by obtaining a piece of paper from the porters desk.
Luggage can be left for a small fee prior to departure as locked away for safe keeping we never asked how much but i believe that it was approximately 50p per item no matter how large or small.
NEGATIVE POINT
Due to the location of this hotel which is surrounded by both main roads and utilised by both cars,buses,lorries the outside noises can be quite annoying at times.During our stay we were constantly awakend in the early hours due to sirens of emergency vehicles transiting past our hotel to the surrounding hospitals.

Room Tip: Would advise to request a quiet room and not on the front of the hotel away from the main road and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

wonderfull location.very clean staff very helpfull and friendly.breakfast was excellent for the life of me dont know what people complain about as i had read on reviews that it wasnt up to much well that was a load o rubbish.i was there with my son and grandaughter and we all loved it.would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Room basic but clean (on a par with travelodge), staff helpful, breakfast pretty good if you avoid the sausages ! Would stay again for the money in that location. You get what you pay for . Only 'toiletries' provided is soap ( again , like travelodge).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Tavistock for two or three days almost every year for the last two decades. Well located for British Museum, British Library, and London theatre, the hotel is clean, well run, with rooms small and simply furnished, but comfortable. Porters are always helpful, front desk staff - well, most of the time. Full English breakfast is not elegant, but satisfying. Rates are a good value at London hotel prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking Tavistock Square/
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

In a pretty decent location, not far from a tube station.

There was only bars of soap in the bathroom, but we were given essentials when we asked for them.

We had to print off our booking confirmation which meant we had to go around the corner to an internet cafe to print it off as we just had it on our iphones.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavistock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.