We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Tavistock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #629 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time at the Tavistock. For the price it is excellent value in central London. The location is perfect.
This time was better than last,the room had been refurbished and had a trouser press and a hair dryer,and the ridiculous keys on long pieces of metal changed to card keys. The only thing the rooms lack is a safe. Breakfast is not the highest quality but perfectly ok. Apart from a rather miserable unfriendly blond girl at check in the rest of the staff were very friendly and nice. I have stayed at the Imperial and Bedford and think that the Tavistock is now the best value. As others have said it is very hot in the rooms and you have to open the windows so if you are facing the street it could be very noisy,so I would recommend asking for a quiet room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    649
    577
    230
    135
See reviews for
237
554
207
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the Tavistock again as its excellent value at only £75 a night. With meetings in Oxford street, the Tavistock offers a great central location being only a short walk from Euston station.

The hotel is clean, quiet and with a good shower, all you need on a business trip.

You don't get any niceties, no shampoo or shower gel but at this price its not too much to ask to take your own. Oh ladies be warned there isn't a hair drier but I believe you can request one !

I personally breakfast elsewhere as at the budget end of the market the ingredients aren't the best however my colleagues didn't have any issues with it.

Room Tip: The rooms on floors one to three have been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If you like to walk in London, need connections -Euston station is close nearby. Good restaurant, nice breakfast, Lobby is good, nice to sit in follow travellers or BBC, Weekend television english humor. There is a nice park outside of the hotel, famous of it's equal attitudes, seen lovers' affairs. If you are not in need of ***** choose this hotel. Personnel is friendly and english spirited, you will truly need an umbrella. While in restaurant, remember to salut you're neighbour. I remember how it was to speak with an young boy in french during breakfast. There was no baquette, toast and marmelade, egg and bacon. You may however order some additional dishes, you get a refreshing cup-of-tea, even russian tea in samovar,

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent,England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Enjoyed my brief stay in what is a fine example of an Art Deco style hotel. Ok this is faded elegance, and some may find the bedrooms rather dated, though i found my room adequate; and it worked out cheaper than a Premier hotel. Service was excellent, particularly at breakfast, and the bar was cheaper than most of the nearby pubs My only issue was with the heating in the room which was too hot for me. This is a hotel of character, and one i would stop at again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst, doing some work for the University of London (sadly recommended by them). Rooms are tiny, constantly hot (all day and night), no toiletries save for a tiny bar of soap, towels that could be used to lacerate your skin if you want to self-flagelate, breakfast served on filthy tablecloths, no fresh fruit only tinned grotty stuff. We even had to pay to leave our bags after leaving our room on the day of check out. Oh yes, the person on check-in had clearly been trained at a Stalinesque school of hospitality - no hello, no welcome, no enjoy your stay - no nothing. However desperate you are for a place to stay, find somewhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on trent
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stopped here for one night, just a few minutes walk from Euston station. Rooms small but clean and everything you need for a short stay.
Quite a nice feel about the place, has character although some of it is fading a little but this is being seen to.
Good choice at breakfast, but have had better presented buffet breakfasts, (didnt like the piles of toast).
Staff very good alround, and very quick to top up teas and coffee at breakfast.
Best thing I think is the price, if all you are looking for is a central base for a day or two I dont think you will go wrong here, easy walking into main parts of town or tube and buses close by.

Room Tip: Outside rooms seemed better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just a short walk from Russell Square Underground and not that far from Euston and others. Buses just outside the door. Our room was not big (it is a three star hotel in London) but we had plenty of room for a couple. It was ensuite, clean, warm and well serviced by the staff. Very good value and situated in a nice part of London for the tourist. Whilst we only use our room for showering and sleeping, it overlooked Tavistock Square which was nice to look out at in the morning. We opted for the continental breakfast that was more than reasonable. All the staff very very helpful and cheerful. Plenty of places to eat at around the area if you want to return to the hotel to shower first after a day of sight seeing. We would certainly stay there again on our next visit to London. It is in a great position for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavistock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.