We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Tavistock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #635 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Co Durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with superbreak including rail travel, absolute bargain. Great room with lovely bay window & view of the square, friendly staff & good breakfast. Sat in the bar after a long day sight seeing couldn't ask for more for the price. Will def be back

Room Tip: Room number 223 bay window overlooking Tavistock Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I chose this hotel due to its reasonable price, great location and the fact it was en-suite (all others for a similar price were shared facilities - not ideal for a weekend). We stopped for two nights at £63 a night - a bargain really.
When arriving we were impressed by the original art deco features which it kept, but the entrance wasn't the best. This is explained by the fact they are having some refurbishment work done, it will look so much better when done. The staff on check in were very polite and one was a trainee so a little on the slow side. The only problem was the language barrier - quite apparent with all staff.
We were given our key cards and made our way to the room. We were pleased with the room, clean, tidy and good enough facilities, although a little on the small side compared to what we are used to. The view from the window wasn't very nice, but this wasn't a problem as we only used the room to sleep! Everything worked fine and the bed was rather firm, but allowed us a good sleep - other than it being very noisy when you got into bed.
A major problem, as with all hotels, is the lack of power points. There was two available and one for the TV - none near the bed at all for charging phones that are needed for alarms, but this is a minor problem. The shower was great, maybe a little too powerful, but great to wake you up!
Breakfast wasn't too bad. We booked expecting a continental breakfast, but because we were British we were upgraded to a full English for no extra cost - a nice surprise. Thank goodness we were, the continental breakfast was a shambles - not a good enough spread at all. But how it is set out none of the staff would know which breakfast you paid for and so could easily eat a full English with no one knowing. The food was reasonable considering the price (not worth the £6 or so extra!) with nice bacon, sausages and a good selection of eggs. Shame there was no hash browns or black pudding! The staff on breakfast were extremely polite and served tea and coffee to the table, always making sure you were topped up.
On check out we asked to store our bags so we could still go out. This was a very reasonable 50p per item. Well worth it.
I would really recommend this hotel for good value for money and in the ideal location - close to Euston Station, Boris Bike hire and tube stations. The staff are pleasant and make your stay great, albeit the language barrier is a slight problem.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking Tavistock Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robj_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthmadog wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed one night B+B on 25 jan 2013 and enjoyed it. Its not modern and glam but its comfy , clean and warm,ideal on a cold Jan visit. Although the bedroom was small it was fine, you only sleep there while in London anyway.The hotels location is only 5 mins walk from Euston Train station and you can leave your luggage there for only £1.00.which is really great. There,s a big bar ,which is open till late if you are a resident , and its quite pleasant. Breakfast is pretty basic especially continental. The area has plenty of bars and restaurants, There is the London Pub nearby which serves cheap enough drinks and bar meals. ie Lager £2.90 and food at £6.50.
ps Found a good deal through Travel Republic rather than direct with hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioanemlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here while doing a tour through Europe.
Clean, comfortable, room was on the smallish side but I didn't mind, decor was a bit dated, no air conditioning, but otherwise nice place. Staff was friendly and helpful, great breakfast, short walk to the tube, lots so see around the hotel and good value.
Would stay here again if on a tight budget or traveling solo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bextravelingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel at least 3 times a year and find the service and the comfort always consistent. the breakfast planning suits also no bun fights for toast, tea and cofee like a lot of the 3 and 4 star London hotels, we will be there again in 6 weeks time and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

stay here when we are in london working,bit dated art nevou type buffet breakfast from 7 am.clean and helpfull can be noisy above bowling ally at 2am but good value for central london euston station 10min walk underground 5 mins walk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thfis hotel is not in the luxury category but is clean and comfortable and has some individuality when compared with others in the same price range. The breakfast was good and the staff efficient. Will certainly stay there again. The location is very handy for Euston Station and central for shopping and theatres.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#339 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,208 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Russell
Hotel Russell
#479 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#261 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#313 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,059 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing