We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavistock Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tavistock Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tavistock Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #612 of 1,074 hotels in London
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel at least 3 times a year and find the service and the comfort always consistent. the breakfast planning suits also no bun fights for toast, tea and cofee like a lot of the 3 and 4 star London hotels, we will be there again in 6 weeks time and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    557
    484
    199
    125
See reviews for
207
457
183
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

stay here when we are in london working,bit dated art nevou type buffet breakfast from 7 am.clean and helpfull can be noisy above bowling ally at 2am but good value for central london euston station 10min walk underground 5 mins walk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Thfis hotel is not in the luxury category but is clean and comfortable and has some individuality when compared with others in the same price range. The breakfast was good and the staff efficient. Will certainly stay there again. The location is very handy for Euston Station and central for shopping and theatres.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay here regularly when in London. Great value and whilst not a luxurious hotel, certainly good for 2-3 nights in business. The staff are consistent (amazing in a London hotel) and there are some great stalwarts at breakfast. Been staying here for years and whilst the offer has not changed much, it draws me back. The company also runs the President (better, more expensive) and the Imperial (better again and even more expensive). Definitely consider this for a reasonably priced break hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Rooms on the first floor are new, the other really old. Concierge employees are not kind at all and every question disturb them deeply; if you have to ask something to the room service, they GIVE you the phone, they prefer not working and stay impolite. Some rooms are not heated when you arrive, need two days to open heating; there is no middle or heating strongly and you feel bad or really cold; you can choose your season. Restaurant is ok even though most of employees or doorman not friendly.

Room Tip: If you have no choice go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here on business last March for 4 nights. The hotel is very basic with small rooms but the location is very good for getting around the city. I had a room at the front of the hotel which meant I got a very poor night's sleep for my full visit due to the constant traffic and sirens,etc. the tariff is very fare for central London - paid £70 per night on a bed and breakfast rate. As I was staying there for more than 3 nights, I was also entitled to a free evening meal on my first night in their hotel restaurant or you can use the voucher in one of their other hotels/restaurants which are down the road. The food is type you may cook at home such as curries or salads. Breakfast is a buffet style with some choice such as a cooked English breakfast or a continental selection - it was all fine.

The benefit of the this hotel is the location - only a short walk to Euston Road and just up from Russell Square. The hotel is secure which is always nice when you're a female travelling alone.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms at the front if you are a light sleeper; however, with the location of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancee stayed here at the beginning of december and from the minute. we walked in we loved it although we arrived early the staff were still. very helpful the porters gave us options on travel we decided to do the london tour and thoroughly enjoyed it when we got back to the hotel our room was available we got there and the room was very nice and comfy before we knew it it was time to go out the porter even flagged a cab for us the next day we had breakfast which was all you can eat buffet very nice soon it was time to leave and right up to leaving the staff were ace .... I'm definitely booking to come back soon good staff good food good room. 5 stars

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tavistock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Hotel

Address: Tavistock Square | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 1,074 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tavistock Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tavistock overlooks one of Bloomsbury's prettiest garden squares.The Tavistock has a stylish Art Deco entrance, welcoming you to this popular, friendly hotel. Guests may enjoy dining on the sun terrace of Jacques Wine Bar, with its extensive wine list. Or indeed, relaxing with a pint of guest ale in the Tav Bar within the 1930s style ground floor. The Tavistock is perfectly located for the health club and American style bowling alley as well as the exciting sites of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Tavistock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Hotel London, England
Tavistock London
Hotel London Tavistock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavistock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.